So long, engineering. Its been real.

7 Jun

Well, today is the day! This is my last day as an electrical engineer and it is still feeling pretty bittersweet. My current company has been so good to me and was incredibly supportive when I had Baby Key and all the issues we have had with him. As much as I am thankful for every opportunity I have been offered, it is time to bid them adieu and pursue my dreams!

After today, I will be heading out into the world of all things running and racing and making an attempt to become Mistress of the Racing Universe. Sounds like a monumental plan, right? That’s because it pretty much is! I am still overwhelmed with all of the things that have to be pulled off in the next few weeks, but I am determined to take things one step at a time and not get (too) overwhelmed. Oh, and I suppose this calls for an update to my LinkedIn, right?

I Can Do This

YES.

Please allow me one quick moment to insert a shameless plug…I promise not to make a habit of this…

If you are in the South Carolina, North Carolina, Tennessee, or Georgia area and you need help with any type of race, please feel free to contact me at katie@go-greenevents.com. We offer full service race management, direction, and timing services. Want a more detailed list of what we can handle? Just shoot me an e-mail! And if you are outside that geographic area, and need help, e-mail me anyway! We might be able to work something out! You can rely on us for the following types of races (all distances!)…

  • Road Races
  • Trail Runs
  • Cycling Events
  • Mountain Bike Races
  • Swim Meets
  • Duathlons
  • Triathlons
  • Mud/Obstacle Runs
  • Adventure Races

Today I leave you with this little video that my friend shared on facebook. I nearly died laughing and I think some of you will find the humor in it too! Enjoy!

(Oh, and don’t forget, if you have have any questions, comments, etc. about non-race stuff or about my blog, you can always e-mail me here! I love hearing from you!)

What’s on the horizon for YOU? Any big plans or life changes coming up?

16 Responses to “So long, engineering. Its been real.”

  1. Tasha @ Healthy Diva June 7, 2012 at 10:02 AM #

    I am so excited for you Katie! I can’t wait to hear about all of your new adventures.

  2. MK June 7, 2012 at 10:04 AM #

    I am so excited for you!!!! You are such an inspiration!! CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!

  3. Hydie June 7, 2012 at 10:05 AM #

    Good luck Katie with all to come! Your passion and determination will guide you. All the best 🙂

  4. Kristin June 7, 2012 at 1:05 PM #

    Congratulations! What a great opportunity to do GREAT things!

  5. Vanessa (@IsleStyleLiving) June 7, 2012 at 1:21 PM #

    So exciting!

    We’re planning a move soon. Nothing too intense, just a different apartment in the same complex. We’re in a 1 bedroom and would like to be in a 2 bedroom so that our son can have his own space (and mommy & daddy can, too!).

    • Junaid June 8, 2012 at 6:25 AM #

      Yeah Mom and Dad does not get much time for themselves when they have kids 😛

  6. ricoleruns June 8, 2012 at 12:31 AM #

    This is so awesome! And so incredibly exciting. Congratulations!!!!

  7. XLMIC June 8, 2012 at 12:55 AM #

    So cool! Sounds pretty incredible 🙂 Nothing major going on here except perhaps that school ends next week and I’ll have 4 kids to contend with EVERY.SINGLE.DAY. lol

  8. Hutch June 9, 2012 at 2:46 PM #

    bahaha. great video. Good luck on your exciting new journey. (Super jealous) .

  9. Carrie June 9, 2012 at 5:39 PM #

    I need to find another race. Just ran my 3rd 5k, but not ready for a 10k yet. However, I’m slow and want to find another more casual race, not those so competitive. (I fear coming in last!) Any good way to scout out those types of races?! 🙂

  10. triing2survive June 26, 2012 at 12:40 AM #

    I’m so incredibly happy for you! You’re gonna be awesome at your new job.

    I’m hoping to move out of my parents house soon, and I just keep training for upcoming races.

  11. David H. July 2, 2012 at 8:26 PM #

    Best of luck in your new career. Having gone through some major changes in the past month, I know that it’s an amazing feeling to be doing things that just feel right.

  12. Jolene July 8, 2012 at 8:01 AM #

    I live in Burlington, North Carolina. I had thought about talking to Off’n’Running in Greensboro, NC about perhaps putting together a Awesome 80’s run like they have in California. Would your group be able to help put something like that together? That would be awesome!! I would love to see a 5k like that come to NC!! I am an 80’s fanatic!!!

  13. bellatjadensmom July 8, 2012 at 8:03 AM #

    I live in Burlington, North Carolina and found this post exciting!! I had been wanting to talk to Off’n’Running in Greensboro, NC about perhaps putting together an Awesome 80’s 5k like they are having in California. I would love to see a race like that come to NC. Would your group be able to help put something like that together?

  14. Davey and Jess July 12, 2012 at 11:32 PM #

    You’re an inspiration! I find no joy in my current job either and now I’m challenged to find my passion. I’m really excited for you to pursue your dreams! You Can Do It!

  15. Stacey July 14, 2012 at 8:53 AM #

    Congratulations & good luck on all the changes that are going on in your life! I was attracted to your blog through a pinterest post on tying shoelaces because my 12 year old daughter ties her running shoes interesting & I thought I’d show her your suggestion. Anyways, 20 minutes later and I feel all “caught up” on your running life……which is why I am sending this message. I am in charge of a running club at my kids school for 6 weeks in the fall for grades k-6 and so I am always looking for fun & new things, activities, prizes to give to them to make running fun. If you have any ideas at all I would greatly appreciate anything you have to offer. I can be reached at csfish@roadrunner.com………let me know & best of luck!

Leave a Reply

