Perks of Not Working for THE MAN

4 Jun

As my time as an engineer draws to a close, I find myself getting even more nervous, excited, and anxious about our big move and my massive career change. I will spend today cleaning out my office and clearing off my work laptop. Reality is setting in big time. To keep myself from focusing on the anxiety associated with such big changes, I need to highlight some of the perks that will come along with my new position!

BLUE HAIR
I am 100% serious about this. Throughout my college years, I experimented with many different colors of hair…some natural…some notsomuch. My favorite hair experiment was with the color blue. I absolutely LOVED it. As soon as I find a stylist in Greenville that I feel is capable of giving me such a dramatic color, I will be dying some (possibly all?) of my hair navy blue. Imagine comic book hair…looks almost black when inside, but is obviously a deep shade of blue when the sunlight hits it! Or maybe I’ll go with a lighter blue? Either way, I cannot wait!

This could be cool, right? Even though I’m almost 30?


FLEXIBLE SCHEDULE
Run at 6AM? Run at 9AM? Run at 11AM? Run at 1PM? Run at 3PM? Sure…why not! The perks of having a flexible schedule is that, barring important meetings and/or conference calls, I will be able to schedule running and workout time when my body is ready for it. No more awkward crack of dawn runs or runs in the dark of night…unless I feel like it. As I have said before, my body most enjoys running around 8AM but, like most people, I have always had to be at work at this time. In addition, if I want to take group exercise classes that fall during the daytime, my schedule will now allow it. Since I will be directing/managing/timing races, many of my work hours will fall on the weekends anyway, so I will not allow myself to feel guilty for taking a mid-morning run. I will have to get used to this, since I can tend to be a workaholic, but I am sure that it won’t be *too* hard of a routine to break into.

!! TREADMILL DESK !!
Oh yes, you read that right, friends! Mama is gettin’ herself a freaking treadmill desk! I need one of these…I mean NEED. And I don’t mean “need” like “want”…I mean “need” like I NEED food and water. Okay, so maybe the situation isn’t *that* dire, but I have wanted to have a job where I could utilize a treadmill desk for YEARS and I am determined to make this happen. With the expenses of a new house and moving so far, I don’t know how we are going to afford this yet, but trust me, I will make this a reality. Can’t you just picture me…planning races, making big stuff happen, all while burning calories and getting fit? That’s the ultimate in multi-tasking! I’d be able to keep the longest run streak EVER with a treadmill desk!

Photo courtesy of TrekDesk


Being an engineer, I had originally planned on crafting one myself, until I saw the TrekDesk. I still think I could design and make a pretty awesome treadmill desk, but I do not have time for those shenanigans right now, so TrekDesk it is! Now I just need to figure out how to pay for it…and pay for a treadmill. To that end…

ANNOUNCEMENT! I am now taking financial backers for katieRUNSthis! Ha! I kid, I kid. But seriously, if you have a wad of cash lying around and you want to help me invest in my health, I would be more than happy to let you buy me a treadmill and treadmill desk. After all, I just want to be like Bart Yasso when I grow up.

Photo courtesy of my friends @runhers!


As far as treadmills go, I think this one from Cybex is pretty fancy. Plus, it helps raise funds for the Breast Cancer Research Foundation (BCRF).

I’m normally not a huge fan of pink…but it does support a great cause!


I also like this one from ProForm. I mean, with the Boston Marathon logo smack dab on the side, how could you NOT be inspired daily? Get me to Copley Square!

In all honesty, I will probably end up with a used one from a garage sale or Craigslist. There has got to be someone who is tired of just hanging clothes on theirs, right?

Do you have a job that allows you to not work for THE MAN? If so, what are your favorite perks? If you do still work for the man, what would you change if you could?

22 Responses to “Perks of Not Working for THE MAN”

  1. Corey June 4, 2012 at 10:41 AM #

    I have to say, it isn’t so much that working for “the man” that I have a problem with…I actually appreciate the security and structure that I get from a company. I just want to be doing something I am passionate about. I want to do something that makes me excited to get up everyday. AND (thanks in part to your inspiration) I am working on it 🙂

    • katieRUNSthis June 4, 2012 at 11:02 AM #

      YES! That’s what I like to hear! I totally understand what you mean though…it is kind of scary not having the stability of a “real job” but at this point in my life, I just have to GO FOR IT! I would regret not trying for the rest of my life.

  2. Tasha @ Healthy Diva June 4, 2012 at 10:58 AM #

    I am so beyond jealous of you right now. I would never dye my hair blue, but I totally want the flexible schedule to run whenever I want AND have a treadmill desk. I really want a treadmill desk now. Maybe I should tell Mr. Healthy Diva to add that my birthday wish list. Too bad my birthday isn’t until November. 🙂

    • katieRUNSthis June 4, 2012 at 11:03 AM #

      Hmmmm…what about half-birthday presents? Technically, that makes him about a month late on your half-birthday present…which he should have given to you in May. Tell him he owes you. You’re welcome. 🙂

  3. RunMommyRun3 June 4, 2012 at 11:05 AM #

    I’ve been a self-employed massage therapist for nine years now, and love it! I used to be contracted with a physio therapy clinic but after my first child was born 4 1/2 years ago I went 100% solo. I love that I can work when I want to, rent my office only on the days I want it, and have complete control over my income. I can’t run mid-day (no one wants a massage from a sweaty person!), but if a client cancels I can go for a walk or plan my training schedule. Enjoy, it’ll be great!

  4. Melanie June 4, 2012 at 11:15 AM #

    Congratulations!!! It sounds like a great opportunity! I live in NC and I need to see more of SC besides Charleston! I still work for the “man”. I like my job but there are parts that I would love to change. I am in call for the hospital and I would love to not be. It screws up my sleep and regular schedule. It takes away one weekend a month. It takes a lot sometimes to workout after working and then being called in and then working and so on.

  5. flowersofmoss June 4, 2012 at 11:45 AM #

    I’ve only been working for the man for a few years, but I’ve been so lucky to have a great boss who is willing to work with me and my crazy working out obsession. He lets me come in early so I can bail out at 3 or 3:30 so I’ll have a good long afternoon to go run or whatever. And my job isn’t excessively demanding outside of work hours, so that’s nice.

    The only bad thing is that I work in a manufacturing environment, so we have all our morning meetings every day starting at 7, so running in the morning is never an option. And I hate that my work is out in the middle of nowhere (near Clemson), so I can’t take off for a lunchtime workout.

    • katieRUNSthis June 4, 2012 at 1:16 PM #

      I worked in a manufacturing environment in Spartanburg, SC for a long time and I currently work in a manufacturing environment in Baton Rouge…so I totally understand what you mean. I am also currently working in the middle of nowhere and I look forward to getting back to civilization!

  6. Nettye June 4, 2012 at 12:18 PM #

    Katie! Girl – I luv your blog. You crack me up and I always learn something interesting. Never heard of a treadmill desk but it is on my Christmas wish list now!
    I’m also a former engineer who has not worked for “The Man” for a few years. You hit my favorite perk – the flexibility. Not having to explain or get approval to do what you need or want to do to with your time is huge. Especially when you have children. I also am grateful to be able to devote my energy to things I am truly passionate about instead of having to generate excitement around the company’s focus and my portion of that plan.
    Loving what you do is a blessing. Enjoy the blessing and keep writing about it.

    • katieRUNSthis June 4, 2012 at 1:17 PM #

      Isn’t the treadmill desk the coolest!? I have been wanting one for forever! You hit the nail on the head…I’m excited to put my energy toward MY goals…not someone else’s!

  7. Ann @ Twelve In Twelve June 4, 2012 at 12:35 PM #

    LOVE that blue-hair pic. DO IT!!!! We got a treadmill from Nordictrack – a REALLY nice one for a pretty good deal. I recommend them 100%!!!

  8. Maggie June 4, 2012 at 12:49 PM #

    My sis-in-law is a stay at home mom and works a bit at our other sis-in-law’s dance studio as a teacher / general helper. She decided why not? and now has blue streaks in her hair. Actually they are more turquoise to match the costumes her dance students will be wearing at their recital on Saturday 🙂

    • katieRUNSthis June 4, 2012 at 1:22 PM #

      That’s awesome! Blue hair…or teal…is the coolest!

  9. Boise Runner (@RunInBoise) June 4, 2012 at 3:42 PM #

    I am stuck working for the man. I work for the state. Luckily, I can wear my hair pretty much however I want. Although the line is drawn at shorts and tank tops. I like my job because of the benefits, but I miss the free time that I had when I was self-employed.

  10. Barb June 4, 2012 at 3:50 PM #

    I started working for myself when my oldest was about 18 months old. I wanted to be with my children more while still having my own career. Add two more kids and over 10 years and it’s worked out great. Greatest perk? Being at my desk when my kids walk in the door each day. Next best perk? Running/working out whenever I want. Oh and the wardrobe… I’m typing this in running shorts, a race t-shirt and hat 🙂 Good luck – it’s an exciting leap!!

  11. Brooke June 4, 2012 at 4:15 PM #

    Will you be able to work at home with baby Key? I used to work for the man, but now I work for myself from home. It’s a blessing and a curse some days with a 3yo and 1yo, but I would never trade it. I usually get in a workout or work super early and then get to take the kids to the gym mid morning. Then I work again at naptime and at night (when hubs travels). We’re moving this month too (Orlando to Fayetteville, AR), I feel your excitement. I have to admit though, my hair has gone down the drain the last few years, At least the grown out highlight look is in :). Blue sounds very daring, go find yourself some new running shoes to match!

  12. Jennifer June 4, 2012 at 4:17 PM #

    I really want to get some fun color in my hair. And a new piercing. But I’m in the process of searching for a new job, so probably not a good time to change my appearance if I want to impress “the man.” 🙂

  13. Heather Montgomery (@runningwithsass) June 4, 2012 at 4:57 PM #

    I love working from home and being able to run when I want…BUT…the one thing I don’t like is my “work brain” is never shut off. Since I work at home, I am ALWAYS “working” checking email, on the phone with clients, I can’t seem to get away from it and “leave it at work” because work is at my house!

  14. triing2survive June 5, 2012 at 1:01 AM #

    Yup, I still work for “the man”. Not a fan either. I just don’t like the lack of flexibility when working for “the man”. I would love to be able to go for a run at 10:00 a.m., but that just won’t happen.

    I think you’d look fantastic with blue hair!!! I love the picture of the gal in the blue hair on this post. I say if you can pull it off, go for it!!!

  15. lifeisarun June 5, 2012 at 10:09 AM #

    Love, love, love this…it totally screams FREEDOM! Can’t wait to see pics of the blue hair!! We want flexible schedules for running – maybe ONE day that will happen for each of us! #ifonly And ever since Tricia was tweeting about a treadmill desk – want! That or the very least a stand up desk! Want to not feel so sedentary at work anymore!

  16. Carrie June 5, 2012 at 10:31 PM #

    Blue hair and a treadmill desk. Totally get it. 😉

  17. Lynn~Learning Curves June 5, 2012 at 10:38 PM #

    I started working for myself from home about 4 months ago and I LOVE LOVE LOVE it. I go into the brick and mortar business once or twice a week to pick up and drop off paperwork usually incorporating errands and/or the gym or a trail run before or after. The best perk is being able to spend time with my husband who is a police officer and works shift work. Before, when I worked for the Man, I would leave for work while he was sleeping and get home about 15 minutes after he left for work…not fun. Now, we stay up together until midnight or 1am but it’s no big deal because I can sleep in until 8 or 9am and no one cares! Conversely, if it’s a busy day I may wait to do my “work” until 9pm, freeing up my entire day to do other things. It’s been great for my running!

Leave a Reply

