Sky rockets in flight…afterNUUN delight!

25 Apr

I have good news and bad new for you today. Which one to you want first? The bad news? Okay.

Bad News: I am NOT becoming the fifth member of The Starland Vocal Band. (Super sad face)

GOOD NEWS: I was selected for Nuun’s 2012 Hood to Coast Team!!! HEYO!!

The big announcement came at 2PM PST yesterday and as soon as I clicked on their site and saw my name…I freaked!! I am SO amped, y’all! I made it!

So much good stuff is going to come out of this experience, I just know it! I have so many thoughts and questions and ideas…I don’t even know where to start! So many of the other running bloggers that I follow and talk it up with on Twitter will be there. I simply cannot wait to put faces with names…and, as always, I love the opportunity to turn online friends into in-real-life friends! Plus, I have never traveled to the Pacific Northwest, so I am super jazzed to see (and run in!) a different part of the country!

In the meantime, if you want to check out my teammates and see what they are up to, you can check out their blogs at the link above or you can subscribe to the list on Twitter that Dorothy made!

START: Friday, August 24, 2012 (Mt. Hood, Oregon)
FINISH: Saturday, August 25, 2012 (Seaside, Oregon)

These dates work out perfectly for me.  By then, I will have “graduated” my TurboFire program and I will be feeling strong!  YES!  Over the next couple of weeks, I will be getting more details about the event and I will be sure to share them all with you!

Have you ever run an ultramarathon relay before? Have you ever run Hood to Coast before? Got any advice for me about the race or about the Pacific Northwest, in general?

19 Responses to “Sky rockets in flight…afterNUUN delight!”

  1. Carrie April 25, 2012 at 3:59 PM #

    Congrats!! So cool!! I know you’ll have a blast!

    • katieRUNSthis April 26, 2012 at 2:19 PM #

      Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! I’m excited!

  2. lifeisarun April 25, 2012 at 4:57 PM #

    So excited for you!! We can’t wait to live vicariously through you come August!! =)

    • katieRUNSthis April 26, 2012 at 2:19 PM #

      Girls, you know I will be blogging like a crazy lady! I’ll keep you posted! 😀

  3. David H. April 25, 2012 at 7:08 PM #

    That’s awesome! Congrats!

  4. katiemoves April 25, 2012 at 10:13 PM #

    Congrats! This sounds awesome!

  5. triing2survive April 25, 2012 at 11:41 PM #

    I’ve never run Hood to Coast before, but I’m doing the Wasatch Back Ragnar Relay (200 miles across Utah) in June with some friends and I’ve done a couple of other Ragnar Relays. They are SO much fun. They are hard, but they’re one of the races that I look forward to the most throughout the year. There is SO much commraderie during these races. It’s awesome. I’m so happy for you! Good luck and have fun.

  6. Mile Posts by Dorothy Beal April 26, 2012 at 4:55 AM #

    Congrats! I’m excited to meet you in real life 🙂

  7. Courtney April 26, 2012 at 6:48 AM #

    Congratulations Katie! I’ve never participated in Hood to Coast, but I have been to Seaside, Oregon. It’s beautiful out there! The elevation was pretty high in the surrounding areas and there are lots of mountains (which freaked me out because of my fear of heights). Lol! If you have time after the run, drive the coast! My boyfriend and I went there for his 30th last year and drove from Seattle to Seaside and then up to Vancouver. Omg…amazing. Have fun and congrats again!

    • katieRUNSthis April 26, 2012 at 3:33 PM #

      Thanks, Courtney! I’m so excited! I watched the team race (online) last year and they looked like they had so much fun! I wanted to be out there with them, and this year, I will be! WOOT! I am hoping to have an extra day out there to site see!

  8. jessica (pace of me) April 26, 2012 at 9:37 AM #

    soooo exciting!! cannot wait to meet you. yay!!!

  9. Blonde Ponytail (@blondeponytail) April 26, 2012 at 1:50 PM #

    Congratulations! I’m excited to meet you in August!!!

  10. Jocelyn April 26, 2012 at 8:25 PM #

    Congratulations on making the Nuun HTC Team!! I can’t wait to meet you in August!! Also – can I just say I love how you categorized this post under “Beachbody”. GET READY COAST OF OREGON! 30

  11. thespeckledpalate April 29, 2012 at 5:51 PM #

    Super excited for you, Katie! You’re going to have the BEST time, and I cannot wait to hear about it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. No, I’m Not Pregnant Again. « katieRUNSthis - May 23, 2012

    […] and Rock ‘n’ Roll Savannah (half marathon) in early November. Conveniently, one of my Nuun Hood To Coast Relay Team teammates, Corey, also lives in Greenville, so we will be able to train together in July and August […]

  2. Runner Swag Swap! « katieRUNSthis - July 22, 2012

    […] out of “long run clothes.” Also, the reflective bands come with PERFECT TIMING! With Hood to Coast coming up in only a few weeks, these will be ideal for wearing during night runs. I have a lot of […]

Leave a Reply

