Lagniappe

5 Apr

In Louisiana, we use the word “lagniappe” (pronounced LAN-YAP) a lot. It means “a little something extra.” Today’s post is just that…here are bits and pieces of what has been going on this week…

I am working the expo for the Crescent City Classic in New Orleans today, but I wanted to leave you with a few blog goodies…

FAST FACTS
The Crescent City Classic is the 6th largest 10k in the United States. This year, they are expecting over 18,000 runners! Wow! This year is the 34th running of the Crescent City Classic. For runners in Louisiana, this is a “must-do” race!

BLOGS I’M LOVING THIS DAYS
I’ve been house-bound since Baby Key has been sick this week, so I have been catching up on the following blogs…
The Wannabe Athlete
Running With Sass
Black Girls RUN!
Garden Variety TRI
Pavement Runner
No Meat Athlete
Stories of a Slow Triathlete
Twelve in Twelve
Vanessa Runs

In light of all the news of pink slime (GROOOOOOOOOODIE!), I am really considering becoming a vegetarian/vegan. I know this will be a drastic lifestyle change and will be difficult for me, but I am so tired of being continuously grossed out by what is going on with the meat packing industry.

I have to get back to work, but here is a little motivation to boost your running mojo…

And lastly, don’t forget that it is not too late to get in on the sweet Couch to 10k running plan! We are only in Week 2! Come run with me!

What has been keeping YOU busy this week?

7 Responses to “Lagniappe”

  1. Carrie April 5, 2012 at 4:09 PM #

    I’m vegan but my husband is not. Although now a days he is getting so grossed out by a lot of the food industry that he is eating more meatless meals, or he buys local and organic when possible.

    Love the picture/quote! It’s so true! And also thank you for pointing me toward some great blogs.

  2. 4gfarms April 5, 2012 at 6:56 PM #

    great post katie! i’m addicted too… in fact, i’m gonna steal that nike image! 😉 happy running!

  3. running on faith April 5, 2012 at 7:52 PM #

    Have fun at the CCC this year! Hope to make it there next year. And yes, the pink slime is really grossing me out. I seriously have considered going vegetarian too. Anyway, hope the C210k plan is going well!

  4. Carrie @ Season It Already! April 6, 2012 at 1:19 PM #

    Wow! Thanks for the training tools. I know you call this a c210k, but can a beginnger *truly* do this? I’ll be running my first 5k in a couple of weeks.I am very slow and am *hoping* to finish in about 40 min, but after I’ve started running outside, it looks like I’ll be closer to 45 minutes.

    Thanks for all your advice!

  5. Ann @ Twelve In Twelve April 7, 2012 at 9:09 AM #

    Thanks for the link! 🙂 I think you are SUCH an awesome runner and I LOVE all of your “new runner info” – I ALWAYS refer people onto your blog because you post such awesome stuff. Keep it up, lady! You = rock.

  6. Ann @ Twelve In Twelve April 7, 2012 at 9:10 AM #

    Awww, thanks for linking me! I LOVE your blog – seriously. And I ALWAYS point new runners in your direction because you provide SUCH good info!!! You are amazing!! 🙂

  7. runningwithsass April 9, 2012 at 2:49 PM #

    thanks for the shout out! Hope baby key is feeling better!

Leave a Reply

