Kourage Running: The Kourage of a Kenyan

22 Mar

Last fall, I heard about this company called Kourage Athletics and I was so impressed by their mission and work that I wanted to share them with you!

Kourage Athletics is a non-profit company that creates running apparel that is designed, manufactured, and managed in Kenya by Kenyans. Kourage garments are exported and sold in the developed countries with revenues reinvested into the Kenyan economy.

“Production for the Kourage gear is source to a Kenyan owned and operated factory. Small moves like this help decrease the level of poverty in Kenya via job creation. Through these well-paying jobs, workers and their families are able to afford private school for their children, adequate medical care, and nutritious meals which leads to an increased quality of life. Furthermore, workers are provided with valuable training that improve their lifetime earning potential. The result is that Kenyans are able to pursue exactly what Americans, or people of any nation want — a job that allows them to improve their own lives, as well as those of their families.” – Kourage Athletics

We all know that Kenya is known for some of the most incredible runners in the world, but Kourage hopes to also spread light on a greater story…that of those who are persevering despite hardships or being frightened.

So how can you help them in their mission?

You can buy a cool Kourage running shirt. Don’t worry, shipping to the US is FREE!

This one is my favorite!

You can dust off your bicycle and go on the Kourage Ride.

Seattle to Los Angeles
1,400 miles
July 7 – 28, 2012
Be a hero. Cycle for Kenya.

…or you can do this one…MY FAVORITE

You can travel to Kenya and go on the Kourage Safari!

A 10-day running safari in Kenya?? Yes, please! The itinerary boasts fun activities like trail running excursion, training with local Kenya running groups, and lectures from the coaches of some of the Kenyan runner elites! Talk about the experience of a lifetime!

To help spread the word about Kourage, I’m giving away one of their awesome running shirts! You can get one entry for each task you complete below. Be sure and leave me a comment letting me know what you did! The giveaway ends 5PM CST on Monday, March 26, 2012. The winner will be selected by random.org.

  1. Follow @kouragerunning on Twitter.
  2. Like the Kourage Athletics facebook page.
  3. Tweet about the giveaway! “I entered to win a @kouragerunning shirt from @katieRUNSthis! http://bit.ly/GOcTRi #running #giveaway”
  4. Follow me on Twitter @katieRUNSthis!
  5. Leave a comment about how Kenyan runners inspire you!

And as I have said before…it would be cool if you decided to subscribe to katieRUNSthis, but you don’t have to. But, if you do, I’ll add you to my list of super awesome people that I like…which, I might add, is a pretty prestigious list to be on.

38 Responses to “Kourage Running: The Kourage of a Kenyan”

  1. Melanie Watt March 22, 2012 at 11:19 AM #

    I follow you on Twitter!

  2. Melanie Watt March 22, 2012 at 11:20 AM #

    I followed @kouragerunning on twitter!

  3. Melanie Watt March 22, 2012 at 11:20 AM #

    I liked the Kourage Running FB page!

  4. kscincotta March 22, 2012 at 11:44 AM #

    I tweeted about the giveaway and I follow you on Twitter!

  5. Heidi Henry (@BananaBuzzbomb) March 22, 2012 at 12:02 PM #

    What a great concept! I followed them on twitter

  6. Heidi Henry (@BananaBuzzbomb) March 22, 2012 at 12:03 PM #

    I liked them on FB

  7. Heidi Henry (@BananaBuzzbomb) March 22, 2012 at 12:04 PM #

    I tweeted

  8. Heidi Henry (@BananaBuzzbomb) March 22, 2012 at 12:05 PM #

    I already follow you

  9. Heidi Henry (@BananaBuzzbomb) March 22, 2012 at 12:05 PM #

    Kenyans inspire me because they overcome adversity in so many ways and keep on going.

  10. Heidi Henry (@BananaBuzzbomb) March 22, 2012 at 12:06 PM #

    BTW, you’ve been in my reader for months but I just realized I had never subscribed to you on YouTube or followed you on Pinterest. Now I am!

  11. erickaandersen March 22, 2012 at 1:31 PM #

    Oh wow, Katie, I LOVE this. I’m immediately hooked to anything related to Africa and I have never heard of this before. Kenyan runners inspire me becasue they stop at nothing. They seem to never give up and work hard despite having to train sometimes in very hot conditions!

    PS–I completed all the steps for the give away but had to schedule my tweet for later today so I wouldn’t get in trouble for participating in contest at work. Details…ha. Thanks for sharing this, really cool.

  12. Melanie Watt March 22, 2012 at 3:28 PM #

    I tweeted about the giveaway!

  13. melahaze (@melahaze) March 22, 2012 at 3:41 PM #

    I did/do 1 through 4! This is a great cause!

  14. Abby March 22, 2012 at 9:29 PM #

    Um, yes please! This is amazing. I already follow you on twitter 🙂

  15. Abby March 22, 2012 at 9:32 PM #

    Now I follow them! Can’t wait to hear more about them.

  16. Abby March 22, 2012 at 9:32 PM #

    And I liked them on fb

  17. Jo Anna Leuck March 22, 2012 at 9:34 PM #

    I liked them on FB.

  18. Jo Anna Leuck March 22, 2012 at 9:34 PM #

    Their true joy in running inspires me. Thanks for this great giveaway.

  19. Monique March 23, 2012 at 5:46 AM #

    Hi Katie!

    I tweeted the giveaway, I follow @kouragerunning on twitter, liked them on facebook 🙂
    I read about kourage last October, so cool!
    The inspiration for me when I see Kenyan runners… trying to run as beautiful en joyfull as they do. I will never ever run that fast, it’s amazing, but I enjoy running!

    Greetings,
    Monique
    @motormus

  20. elizabeth March 23, 2012 at 3:03 PM #

    i follow them on twitter now 🙂

  21. elizabeth March 23, 2012 at 3:03 PM #

    i follow you on twitter too

  22. elizabeth March 23, 2012 at 3:05 PM #

    i’m inspired by their perseverance and determination to do more for their families and for themselves and obviously admire how fast they all are 🙂 everyone knows that quote!

  23. Long Legs on the Loose March 23, 2012 at 7:41 PM #

    I have one of their shirts! I met these guys in November at the Richmond Marathon expo. Totally loved their mission!

  24. Abby March 23, 2012 at 8:25 PM #

    Finally got around to an actual computer to copy the link. (so frustrating you can’t do that from your phone. . unless you can and I’m slow) so now I can say I tweeted the giveaway!

  25. Critics in my Kitchen March 25, 2012 at 6:18 AM #

    I follow you on twitter 🙂

  26. Critics in my Kitchen March 25, 2012 at 6:19 AM #

    I follow you on twitter

  27. Critics in my Kitchen March 25, 2012 at 6:22 AM #

    I follow @kouragerunning on twitter

  28. Critics in my Kitchen March 25, 2012 at 6:24 AM #

    Kenyan runners inspire me because of their perseverance 🙂

  29. Jayme @ Still A Mile March 25, 2012 at 12:30 PM #

    Followed @kouragerunning on twitter

  30. Jayme @ Still A Mile March 25, 2012 at 12:31 PM #

    Like Kourage Athletics on Facebook

  31. Jayme @ Still A Mile March 25, 2012 at 12:33 PM #

    Following you on twitter

  32. Holly March 25, 2012 at 1:46 PM #

    I’m following @kouragerunning on twitter!

  33. Holly March 25, 2012 at 1:49 PM #

    Tweeted the giveaway!

  34. Holly March 25, 2012 at 1:51 PM #

    I subscribed to your blog! Excited to follow you!

  35. Holly March 25, 2012 at 1:51 PM #

    I already follow you on twitter!

  36. Holly March 25, 2012 at 1:56 PM #

    Kenyan’s make running look so beautiful…and their perseverance and speed are very inspiring. I am adding “Kenya running safari” to my bucket list…A Safari has always been on it, but now to add running…Yes Please!!!

Leave a Reply

