11 Things About Me

15 Mar

About a million years ago, I was tagged by Jamie-Leah over at My Run Is Not Done to do an 11 Things About Me post. While I try to keep things strictly running here at katieRUNSthis, sometimes it is fun to do posts like this that let you get to know more about me on a personal level. So, without further ado, here we go.

RULES

  1. Post these rules.
  2. You must post 11 random things about yourself.
  3. Answer the questions set for you in their post.
  4. Create 11 new questions for the people you tag to answer.
  5. Go to their blog and tell them you’ve tagged them.
  6. No stuff in the tagging section about you are tagged if you are reading this. You legitimately have to tag 11 people.

11 Random Things About Me

  1. My birthday is December 19. My due date was actually Christmas Day, but, as usual, I was early. My mother should have taken this as an early warning of my Type A personality.
  2. My two favorite bands of ALL TIME are Guns N Roses and Journey. Go ahead and giggle, it’s cool.
  3. Though I am right-handed, I am stronger with all other things with my left hand. I bat left-handed, I golf left-handed, and my cartwheels on my left hand are much prettier.
  4. My favorite movie is Grease. I swear I have watched it over 100 times. I can practically quote it line by line.
  5. I can hear the music now!

  6. My favorite actor is Edward Norton.
  7. I am sort of a movie snob. I choose movies I watch based on directors. Frank Darabont, Martin Scorsese, Wes Anderson, and Guillermo del Toro are my favorites.
  8. My favorite food EVER is mashed potatoes. They were a Sunday dinner staple in my house growing up.
  9. The farthest away from home I have ever been is Kakegawa, Japan. I traveled 9,640 miles to get there.
  10. I feel completely naked without my iPhone. I have no idea how people functioned before smart phones.
  11. I like eating Honey Nut Cheerios for dinner.
  12. While I do not have cable television, I do have Netflix. Lost, Gossip Girl, and The Vampire Diaries can completely and totally suck me in.
  13. I should be embarrassed that I watch this.

1. What is your favorite kitchen utensil/appliance?
I absolutely *LOVE* my George Foreman grill. I think I use it almost everyday. My favorite thing to cook in it is chicken for my chicken Caesar salads.

2. What fitness activity have you always wanted to try?
I have always wanted to try YOLO boarding (stand-up paddling). It looks like so much fun and it seems to be a really awesome core workout.

I need to try this!


3. Where did you take your best or worst vacation?
My best vacation spot and one of my most favorite places on the planet is Seaside, FL. The movie The Truman Show was filmed there. It is so quaint and quiet. You can’t NOT relax there!

4. What’s your favorite season?
My favorite season is summer. Even though it gets scorching hot here in South Louisiana, I would take a hot and humid day over a cold and rainy one ANY DAY. I like getting outside and getting sweaty.

5. Tap water or filtered water?
I always choose tap water. Where I live, we get our tap water from underground reserves called aquifers and the water is exceptionally clean and has a great taste. When I travel, I usually choose filtered water, but at home, its tap water all the way!

6. You have no distractions or obligations, how would you like to spend your day?
On a no-obligations day, you can most likely find me outside running somewhere. If I am under no time constraint whatsoever (which is not often), I will usually find some neighborhood or trail that I do not frequent much to give myself a change of scenery. I love exploring!

7. How many bones in your body have you broken?
I have broken the pointer finger and middle finger on my left hand three times.

8. Who is your fitness inspiration?
I am inspired by so many people around me.  Most recently, I am drawing a lot of inspiration from other running mamas like Kara Goucher, Rachel Booth, and Serena Burla.

Rachel rocks!


9. Do you have a sweet tooth or a salty tooth?
Both. My “guilty pleasure” snack is a small order of French fries with a Wendy’s Chocolate Frosty. YUM!

10. What’s your favorite shoe style?
My favorite shoes style is probably running shoes. Once upon a time, before I was a runner, my closet was filled with patent leather peep-toe stiletto pumps. Now I only have one or two pairs of those. They have since been replaced with about 15 different pairs of running shoes.

11. What are you most looking forward to doing when the weather warms up?
When the weather warms up, I am most looking forward to spending more time outside with my 4-month old son. During the winter months, I was afraid it was too cold and he was too small to spend much time outside. I am ready to get him in the jogging stroller and get out on the road!

NEW QUESTIONS

  1. What is your long run “must have” item?
  2. What race is at the very top of your bucket list?
  3. If you were not into running, what other sport might you be interested in?
  4. What is the highest mileage week you have ever had?
  5. What is one thing about you that if you told someone they would look at you like you were nuts?
  6. What is one thing that scares the living daylights out of you?
  7. What is your favorite article of clothing?
  8. Do you have any tattoos?
  9. What is the grossest thing you have ever eaten?
  10. As a runner, do you have any rituals? Like a pre-race meal or race-day system?
  11. What is your lucky number?

TAG! YOU’RE IT!
Cajun Runner
Stories of a Slow Trier
Life in Running Shoes
JenZenator
Running With Sass
The Speckled Palate
Junk Miles
On The Road Again!
The Ale Runner
Katherine Swims
Running BJ

12 Responses to “11 Things About Me”

  1. Jamie March 15, 2012 at 9:35 AM #

    Ah! So fun getting to know more about you! 🙂 I loved watching Grease when I was younger and I know about cereal for dinner although I eat Kashi (makes me think I’m healthier over lazy). Thanks for playing along! Go ahead out there with baby and jog together! 🙂

  2. katieRUNSthis March 15, 2012 at 9:42 AM #

    Ha! I’m trying! Mr. Key got the jogging stroller all shined up for me last night! Now I just need to call some bike shops in town to see who can give the ol’ girl a tune up! Woot!

  3. ldeblieux March 15, 2012 at 11:11 AM #

    Ooh! Thanks for the tag! I’ll get to this ASAP!

  4. lovelylici1986 March 15, 2012 at 3:22 PM #

    – I’m left-handed too!
    – I LOVE Grease. I had the video, CD, and SCRIPT when I was in high school. Major win at Costco.
    – I sooooo wanna go to Japan.
    – GF always eats sweet and salty together. I thought she was the only one. Now I kinda like it too. Popcorn and chocolate ice cream ALL THE TIME. Lol.

  5. thespeckledpalate March 15, 2012 at 5:26 PM #

    Love this and learning these random facts about you, especially the mashed potatoes one. Those are some of my faves, too, and it always worries me when W suggests we have rice instead of potatoes with dishes because, like you, they were a staple in our house.

    Excited to answer these questions!

  6. triing2survive March 16, 2012 at 12:17 AM #

    Loved getting to know you more!

  7. Heather Montgomery (@runningwithsass) March 16, 2012 at 8:25 AM #

    thanks for the tag lady! But I have completed this already, you can check it out here:
    http://www.runningwithsass.com/11-things/

    by the way, love Rachel booth, got to meet her in WDW for princess and get a photo together!
    I also love Grease!

    • katieRUNSthis March 16, 2012 at 9:26 AM #

      Ooooh, you! I figured you would have already done it! You are too quick for me! Thanks for the link! I’ll be checking it out!! When am I gonna see you again?? Soon I hope!

  8. Jenny @ simply be me March 16, 2012 at 12:18 PM #

    The first cassette tape I ever bought was GnR’s Appetite for Destruction. I was in grade three. My friends and I used to sing Paradise City at the top of our lungs on the playground 🙂

    I still can’t believe my parents a) let me buy it and b) let me keep it after buying it.

  9. ldeblieux March 19, 2012 at 1:44 PM #

    I did mine! http://slowtrier.wordpress.com/2012/03/17/11-things-about-me/

    Thanks for the tag!

  10. Jayme @ Still A Mile March 25, 2012 at 12:43 PM #

    I’ve never heard of YOLO boarding but I really want to try that now!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 33 Things Y’all Didn’t Know - March 16, 2012

    […] was tagged – twice! – in the 11 Things About Me survey going around the Internet, and I thought it might be fun […]

Leave a Reply

