Baby Key’s First Race!

12 Mar

I had absolutely no intention of racing this weekend. I really didn’t, but…I did. And it was fun…really, REALLY fun.

Friday night I went out to dinner with my family (and some new friends!) and since I had no plans of racing, I enjoyed some empanadas and a margarita. It had been a tremendously long week and I was looking forward to sleeping in a little bit on Saturday morning. But then, the Race Monster bit me.

Ole!


After dinner, I got a text from a friend reminding me that the Ozone Run 10k was happening the next morning in Covington, LA. The Ozone Run 10k happens to be the Louisiana State 10k Championship race, so knowing that there would be some good runners to watch, I started considering it. All of a sudden, I was trying to figure out how I could get over there the next morning to run as well. I knew my BabyJogger running stroller was out of commission, as it is in desperate need of a tune-up and a new front tire, so if I was able to make it out to the race, I would have to push Baby Key in the monstrous (read = HEAVY) Chicco stroller.

I knew there was no way the “touring stroller” would make it the full 10k, but my friend, who was the race director, texted me and told me that there was a 2-mile option for the race. I had not run “just a 2-miler” in ages and it seemed like the perfect distance for me and Baby Key. I asked my husband sweetly if he minded us going (under the guise that this would give him the chance to sleep in and have some time to himself, of course), he agreed, and we were set! Little Nugget must have known we had a big Saturday morning, because for the first time since he was born, he slept. My child actually slept…for 8 hours straight!

I woke up Saturday morning feeling like a champ! I quickly got kiddo dressed and we headed over to the Northshore. We got to the race early and had the chance to visit with lots of my friends. This was their first chance meeting Baby Key, so he was definitely Mr. Popularity.

At 8:00AM, I headed over to the start of the race to line up. You should have SEEN the looks I got lining up with that big freaking stroller. The glances said, “Ooooh no! She must not run much. Anyone who really runs would know you can’t run with a stroller like that!”

Yes, people, I know I looked like a moron lining up to race with the same stroller that I would take if we were going for a day-long excursion to the zoo, but I did not have a choice. It was the only stroller I had, so it would have to do.

The race started at 8:15AM and 2 miles and 22 minutes and 58 seconds later, Baby Key and I were crossing the finish line! The last quarter mile of the race was on a track, which was GREAT for us! I pushed it a little bit harder and we ended up being able to pass three people right at the end! 22:58 for 2 miles is by no means “speedy” but for pushing what felt like a load of bricks, I was pretty pleased with it!

So here it is…Me and Baby Key’s first race together….

Our first race together!


Even better? We placed 1st in my age group. Granted, it was not a huge race, but beggars can’t be choosers, so I will take it!

[SIDE NOTE: I do not, under any circumstances, recommend running with a big, fat comfy stroller. It was so hard and so heavy and SO hard to steer. Lesson learned…need to get my BabyJogger fixed STAT!]

After the race, we hung around to visit it with more friends that I do not get to see often enough. I did spend a long time chatting with my friends, Jodi and Betsy (who happens to be the Louisiana State RRCA Representative) and we made plans for a way to redeem ourselves for all having pulled a DNS at the Rock and Roll New Orleans Marathon. I will tell you about that later, but it is going to be fun!

Right before I left, I went over to introduce myself to Rachel Booth. If you do not know who Rachel is, just take a second to Google her. Her running resume is impressive, to say the least, and she was the first female finisher at the Ozone Run 10k. Her finish time qualified her for an elite corral at the Crescent City Classic 10k in a few weeks! She is such a joy to watch. She is such a strong runner and she makes it look completely effortless. I am really impressed with the way she balances having an outstanding running career, being a wife, and being a mom to two little ones. On top of all of that, she’s just nice…like sincerely sweet. It is always fun to meet someone who you look up to and find out that they are as genuine as you hoped they would be.

After the race, we headed home and spent the afternoon playing around the house and watching Dinosaur Train. Yes, folks, it is an exciting life I lead!

Did YOU race this weekend? How did you do? Did you run solo or with your kiddo(s)?

16 Responses to “Baby Key’s First Race!”

  1. Tia Tilghman March 12, 2012 at 10:23 AM #

    I.want.him. That is all! 🙂

    • katieRUNSthis March 12, 2012 at 10:24 AM #

      HAHA! You say that, but are you sure? Some nights I’m ready to hand him over! 🙂 Last night, he slept for a total of about 3 hours. Still want him?

  2. lifeisarun March 12, 2012 at 10:27 AM #

    Was SO confused when we started seeing race pictures and #BabyKey2011 with a big on instagram since you had said you weren’t racing! Sounds like a fabulous race day after all and a great weekend! Hope he loved every minute of it! We are so impressed with your time…couldn’t even imagine pushing a stroller let alone one not truly meant for running with!

    • katieRUNSthis March 12, 2012 at 10:30 AM #

      It is a VERY last minute decision to race and I’m so glad we did! He did SO well after the race too! No fussing, no projectile vomiting on people, no nothing! For my kid, that is an accomplishment in itself! Ha! Most people say how their babies fall right to sleep in the stroller while they run…um, not my kid! He was wide awake and loving every minute of it. Every time I looked down and saw him staring up at the trees or sky, I just smiled. It was so cute!

      • lifeisarun March 12, 2012 at 10:59 AM #

        Awww, LOVE that!! Way to go, O!! Glad that it was such a good day! Feel like you deserved a day just like that after RnR NOLA! Can’t wait to hear what y’all have planned for redemption for that!

  3. KristynKG March 12, 2012 at 10:41 AM #

    Yay for sneaking in a race! And Baby Key is ridiculously precious! I still haven’t raced with either of the kiddos yet-my jogger is just way to heavy–and now that we’ve got 2, it’s about 90 pounds to push. I’m slow enough by myself, I don’t need any help. I hope you have a great week!

  4. Heidi @BananaBuzzbomb March 12, 2012 at 11:09 AM #

    So cute! Way to go Baby Key! Congrats!!

  5. Karlee Rose Martinez March 12, 2012 at 11:21 AM #

    Been there done that. We used to have to use the umbrella stroller when the jogger was out of commission. It was maybe a little TOO light weight! I would think some great jogging stroller company would have you try out their stroller. Great job and great race. Running with Baby K will only get better. Lots of memories to make.

  6. Stacy H March 12, 2012 at 4:26 PM #

    Ha! At 2am Friday night I decided that I was going to run the SGK Race for the Cure Saturday morning. I will say I learned a valuable lesson: don’t do race day registration! it was so crowded, I was so frustrated. It was too big of an event to do race-day registration!

  7. Joyce March 12, 2012 at 7:08 PM #

    I ran a 5k to fight children’s cancer. The money went to children’s miracle network. I came in first in my age group(50-54). My sister-in-law walked her second 5k. She did better than the week before. I am so proud of her.

  8. Laura March 12, 2012 at 9:44 PM #

    Found you through Steph’s blog, congrats on the first race with baby in tow! And maybe even more so, on a good night’s sleep! It took my daughter months to figure out how to go for a long stretch like that. 🙂

  9. Craig Sweeney March 13, 2012 at 11:01 AM #

    Awesome on the 8 hours of sleep for Baby Key! We have a Ironman BOB stroller that rocks and Nate is pretty close to being too big. You may borrow for next race. I cant out run this thing and you coulda picked it up on the way. Next time!!

  10. mrsraushel March 16, 2012 at 2:52 PM #

    cute! Congrats on your first race together! 🙂

  11. brooke paulin March 25, 2012 at 12:31 AM #

    Aww. My first race with my first son was in covington and it was the Ozone. I am from covington but live in Colorado. I am pregnant now for our third and flying home to run the CCC in new orleans! I love your blog. So motivating! Just signed up for a half marathon I will be 15 weeks race day! Thanks for inspiring us all

Leave a Reply

