The Ebb and Flow of Running

8 Mar

Me and Running. Two steps forward. One step back. That is the little dance we are doing these days.

Back in the day, when I had “free time”…you know, before being a mom happened, my whole world was running and racing. I was able to keep pretty rigid training plans, knowing exactly what combination of miles/minutes running, cross-training, and strength training it would take for me to hit my targets. I was able to religiously count and catalog every calorie that graced my lips. Yes, once upon a time I was very, VERY dedicated to My Fitness Pal. And one of the greatest luxuries I had back then that I completely took for granted was sleep.

Oh, beautiful restful sound sleep, I miss you. We will be besties again…in a few years….maybe.

Until my life returns to some normal schedule (I say this like that is really going to happen. Is this naïve of me?), I will be content to be caught up in the ebb and flow of running.

Some weeks all the planets will align, my kiddo will get restful sleep (which means, I, in turn, will do the same), he will not spit up on EVERYTHING in sight (requiring me to spend my time doing endless loads of laundry), and I will get the “free time” to get in several regular runs and possibly some time on the bike (Yes, Running, I do occasionally cheat on you with Cycling). It will be these weeks where I think, “Hey, look at me, getting back in the swing of things!” I will get all giddy and whip out my race calendar faster than you can say “fartlek.”

Then the next week will come along, Murphy’s Law will slap me right across the face and say, “You didn’t really think I was going to let you get away with all that fun, did you??” It will be on those weeks that everything that could go wrong, will go wrong. Little Nugget will not sleep, he will spit up on everything in the house…daily, the dog will throw up on the carpet, there will be a massive wreck on the interstate (turning my commute home from one hour into two hours), and I will quite literally find myself with zero minutes left in the day for regular running. It will be on these weeks that I will consider my morning shower as the day’s crowning achievement. These weeks, I will feel like all the progress I had made before was all for naught. Perhaps I will even feel like I am backsliding.

And I am just going to have to be okay with it. I will have not let myself walk around my house all pissy-pantsing because I do not get to do what I want to do. Next week will be better.

Running and I started out having a love/hate relationship. Then it turned into a love/love relationship. We don’t get to spend as much time together as we used to. We still have this awesome lifetime bond thing going on, but right now, we just have to have realistic notions about what we can expect from each other. Right now, things are rocky, but I am confident we will work it out. We always do.

How do YOU feel about the ebb and flow of running? Have there been periods in your life where you can truly focus on training and then other periods where you feel like you just cannot get it together?

5 Responses to “The Ebb and Flow of Running”

  1. Courtney @ Adventures in Normanland March 8, 2012 at 12:08 PM #

    It does get better! I have a 2 year old and I’ve been running since she was little. She gets to the point now where she brings me my running shoes and says “GO RUNNIN MAMA” because she loves it so much. Take heart, there is hope!

  2. Yasumi Designs March 8, 2012 at 2:22 PM #

    I can only run during lunch at work. I can’t ever go before work or after work, or even on the weekends unless I go at 5am. I’m not training for anything right now, though. My hubs does not like me to race because it is so time consuming to train and race, so I’m currently only doing the disneyland ones. If I could find a happy balance between training and taking care of my family, then I would jump on it! I was very impressed that you did the relay with such a lil’ one. My little guy is almost 2.5 years, and I still don’t think I could get away for a couple days to do a relay. 😦 I take what I can get, though, and embrace my lunch runs!

  3. hauterunningmama March 8, 2012 at 4:52 PM #

    Mommyhood! You’re right, there are weeks when things are so easy that I almost wait for the other shoe to drop. Then there are weeks (like this one for me) when the kids are on a wacky schedule, the dog is needier than ever, the house, the car, etc etc etc. It always works out so we keep chugging along. Running is an escape. It does get easier!

  4. Kristin March 8, 2012 at 5:03 PM #

    Absolutely! I don’t have kids so I can’t speak to that aspect of things but a few years ago, before I was diagnosed with hypothyroidism, my running came to a screeching halt. I was so tired and just couldn’t get it together. I was upset that all of that work spiraled downward. While I have that all squared away now and I feel peppier than ever on most days sometimes life just gets in the way – busy/long days at work, laundry, cooking dinner, family in town, traveling to see other family, etc, etc – sometimes you just can’t fit EVERYTHING in. On a normal weekday night if I get home at 6:30-7:00 the last thing I want to do is change into running clothes to head out because by the time I get back and cook dinner I’m eating at 9pm. No thank you!

  5. running on faith March 9, 2012 at 7:51 AM #

    absolutely! I think this is part of life. Some weeks are great and some weeks everything falls apart (my daughter gets sick, hubby has to work long hours, etc.). I just try to run when I can and appreciate the times when I can get in good mileage/training. Are you still having trouble with GERD? A friend’s baby was battling really bad reflux and she tried probiotics (found at whole foods maybe?) and it has really helped her. E-mail me if you want some more info. But I promise, your baby will sleep more soon, you will be more rested, and you will have more of a defined scheduled to run! And then…something changes again (teething, toddler bed transition:). Ha, that’s life:)

Leave a Reply

