A Gut-Wrenching DNS

6 Mar

This past weekend I experienced my first-ever DNS. I really do not want to talk about it. While I did miss the race for a very good reason, I would be lying if I said I was not still pissy about it. I wanted this race. This was going to be MY race. All of the other races I had been a part of this year had been relays or shorter distances. This was to be my return to solo effort distance racing. But alas, it was not meant to be…

Here is how all of the events from the weekend went down…

FRIDAY
Friday I arrived to the Ernest R. Morial Convention Center around 10:30AM. I went over and checked out the booth space for the Gulf Coast Half Marathon Series (where I would be working), finished getting it set up, and then headed over to the press conference at 11:30AM. I ran into some of my girls, Rivers and Heather!

@RivsHughey and me!


@runningwithsass and me!


After the press conference, I headed over to the booth to get ready for the circus. The doors opened at noon and there was a really, really long line of people waiting to get in!

There was a lull in the crowd for about 3.27 seconds, so I seized my opportunity to go and pick up my goods. EXCITED?? You bet I was!

After the expo, I hauled my tired body back to my car and drove back to Baton Rouge for the night. The drive is only about an hour, but it felt like DAYS. When I got home, I spent some time with my husband and kiddo, packed up all my stuff for the race on Sunday and shuffled my way to bed.

SATURDAY
On Saturday, I was up and on the road at 6:30AM. The expo opened at 9:00AM, but I had a few things I needed to do before the doors opened. I still got there a little early, so I visited with Heather, whose Running Skirts booth had now been moved right around the corner from me! Woot! I couldn’t resist purchasing this little number…

Photo courtesy of runningskirts.com


I spent the morning chatting with excited marathoners and half-marathoners, dancing to the old school tunes coming from the Sweaty Bands booth which was right behind us, and getting amped about race day!

At 1:00PM, I made my way over to the black and red balloon arches for the Rock and Roll New Orleans Marathon Social Media Mash-Up! It was a blast! I got to meet so many Twitter friends from all over the country! I love turning online friends into in-real-life friends! We all go super cute t-shirts and some Gu gels!

After the meet-up, I went back to the booth I was working. It got CRAZY on Saturday afternoon, y’all. CRAZY. I could not even begin to put an exact number on how many thousands of people I probably talked to. Every now and then, while I was talking with someone they would suddenly look at me as if a light bulb had just gone off in their head and they would say, “Hey! I read your blog!” and that made me feel all warm and fuzzy on the inside. Those people automatically got a high five and a big hug!

@RunRockNRoll, @Bama26point2, and me!


As the clock struck 7:00PM, the expo drew to a close and I was beat. Standing on your feet for two days in a row on a hard surface can really make your legs sore! I had no idea! Needing some grub and an adult beverage (or two), a couple of buddies and I headed off to Mulate’s for some fried catfish and other South Louisiana fare.

And this is where it all went south….

First, I exchanged text messages with my husband…

Then I texted my friend, Ann, who I was supposed to be spending the night with…

Then, I texted Brent back.

My husband gets migraines. Really, really bad (read = debilitating) migraines…headache, light chasers, nausea, etc. Pair that with a screaming, fussy, sick GERD baby and you have a recipe for disaster. And that, my friends, is exactly what we had on our hands. It was NO BUENO.

I know with all my heart that I made the right decision to not race on Sunday. But I just cannot seem to shake the “bummed” feeling about it.

This race was “my thing”…my one thing that I wanted to be really selfish about. I know this sounds ridiculous, but this was my thing that I did not have to share with my husband (as his wife) and I did not have to share it with my kiddo (as his mama). This race was going to be 100% my thing and I wanted to do it for myself.

And I suppose I would not be so antsy if I had another fun race planned and on the books. But I don’t. RnR NOLA was supposed to be my “big race” before I took a step back, refocused, got a new plan, and started training differently. However, now that I did not run it, I sort of feel like I am just hanging out there…not really sure what my next move should be.

Do I find another race to make “mine”? If so, how do I justify the cost and just WHERE can I fit in my schedule?

Do I scrap the idea of an immediate “redemption race” altogether and start a new training plan with a different goal race later this year?

I think I will sit down with a calendar today and look at what the rest of the year holds. There are some pretty big plans later this year (which I will divulge as soon as I can!) and I want to see what kind of wiggle room I can find in my schedule.

UPDATE ON BABY KEY
Sunday was spent mostly in the house, making Little One as comfortable as possible. Every time he took a breath it sounded like liquid was gurgling in his chest. While I was very concerned, he was not running a fever, so we decided not to take him to Urgent Care. Yesterday, however, we spent just about our entire day in the doctor’s office. After our first appointment with the doctor, x-rays were schedule to rule out pneumonia. Luckily, the x-rays showed no pneumonia and he was diagnosed with a serious (recurring) case of bronchiolosis. We were sent home with a breathing machine, which is now ours to keep. Lucky us! Nexium has now been bumped up to twice a day and albuterol breathing treatments three times a day. I know the breathing treatments are not the end of the world, but I am just so ready to have a healthy little nugget!

So, how was YOUR race weekend? What did I miss!?

28 Responses to “A Gut-Wrenching DNS”

  1. lifeisarun March 6, 2012 at 1:06 PM #

    Aww, so sorry the weekend didn’t turn out the way you wanted it to, but you are an amazing mama for making that sacrifice! Neither one of us has kids, but I am sure that becoming a mother there’s gotta be a DNS in the cards at least once! You are awesome – look forward to hearing what you’ve got planned for the rest of the year!

    • katieRUNSthis March 8, 2012 at 10:43 AM #

      Thank you so much for the kind words. I am VERY confident that this will not be the last DNS for me, but it is always the first one that really gets you. 🙂

  2. jennifer goodale March 6, 2012 at 1:07 PM #

    Katie, I hate that you missed your race! But you’re right, there are other races and you’ll be out there again soon. You made the right decision (I would like to think I would have done the same if I was in your shoes). Thanks for sharing even though you didn’t feel like it:)

    • katieRUNSthis March 8, 2012 at 10:43 AM #

      Jennifer, thank you so much for the comment. I know there is always another race…now I just have to find one!! 😀

  3. running on faith March 6, 2012 at 1:09 PM #

    so sorry for your DNS, but it was for a good reason and for what it is worth, I think you made the right decision for your family.

    I can totally relate to being upset though. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve had to miss races/events due to a sick baby/family obligations. It is a fine balance between seeing out your goals/dreams and taking care of your family.

    The good news is you will always have more races. And Baby Owen won’t remember it when he is older but you will know that you were there for your family when you needed them. I hope he gets better soon!

    • katieRUNSthis March 8, 2012 at 10:45 AM #

      There really is such a delicate balance in being a good wife/mom and remembering that you are your own person too. Sometimes it makes me feel selfish, but I can’t just give up everything that makes me…me.

      Thanks for the support, mama!

  4. Katie A. March 6, 2012 at 1:37 PM #

    I’m so sorry you had a DNS. Sadly, I also had a DNS for RnR NOLA. I had so been looking forward to this race as it was right at my Runniversary, but sadly my IT Band has been REALLY messed up since my Half in January. I can’t run more than a mile and a half without it hurting or walk more than three miles. I planned to still come down to the expo on Saturday and check everything out, but when I got up I realized how sad I really was that I wasn’t going to be able to run, so I chose to not even go to the expo. It was killing me seeing all my friends post about their races. So sorry for you, and hope you get to do another race just for you this year!

    • katieRUNSthis March 8, 2012 at 10:47 AM #

      Oh no! An IT band…a DNS…AND your Runnerversary. 😦 I am so sorry for you! My better half has bad IT band problems. I totally know what it feels like to not even want to go to an expo if you can’t participate. It seems so childish to feel that way, but you can’t help it. I, too, had a hard time dealing with all the post-race hub-bub. While I was so happy for my friends, I wished for everything that I could have been there too.

  5. Tisha March 6, 2012 at 1:50 PM #

    So sorry you had a DNS but it was definitely for a good reason. I’m glad everyone seems to be doing better, keeping the Keys in my prayers!

  6. Becky March 6, 2012 at 2:22 PM #

    Sorry to hear about your hubby and the little one. There are plenty of big races coming up including the CCC next month. Good luck with everything! You made the right choice!

    • katieRUNSthis March 8, 2012 at 10:49 AM #

      Thank you, Becky! I have quickly learned how hard it is to work an expo for two days and then try to run. Standing on your feet for that long is murder on the legs! My hips hurt from standing so long. I am working the CCC expo as well, so I am still debating whether or not I will run CCC. It *is* only a 10k, so I might still do it. 😀

  7. Tink March 6, 2012 at 2:35 PM #

    Aww, I’m so sorry that that happened! You are an incredibly caring wife and mother to have been strong enough to give that up. I don’t know if I would have been able to do the same…at least, not without a lot of sulking! Everything happens for a reason. I know its not much to help heal the wound, but its true. Best of luck in finding the TRUE race to be yours 🙂

    • katieRUNSthis March 12, 2012 at 10:36 AM #

      Oh, don’t let this post fool you. There was a ton of sulking going on. 🙂 But, I just had to let it go…this may be the first DNS, but it certainly won’t be the last. And there is always a next time!

  8. The Ale Runner March 6, 2012 at 2:45 PM #

    Sorry that you had a DNS, but it was absolutely the right call. At least you didn’t leave your spouse at home 3 1/2 hours away with a broken foot then have a DNF in a 50 mile race like I did. 🙂

    http://thealerunner.com/2012/03/04/live-to-fight-another-day/

  9. runcourtneyrun March 6, 2012 at 3:13 PM #

    It really sucks that you had to miss your race but you made the right decision for you and your family. Plus look at it this way, if you had stayed for the race you would have been worrying about your family the whole time. You’ll have YOUR race sometime soon, I’m sure!

  10. Andrea March 6, 2012 at 3:15 PM #

    So sorry to hear that you had to bale on the race that you had your heart set on and baby Owen is so sick. Hope something comes up that is just as good! The mommy-hood sacrifices are difficult. My running was severely hampered the first 18 months with twins as they had many bouts of RSV etc. That coupled with working full time and making sure one of them got up to speed on development didn’t leave me with much training time. But I’m glad I made the sacrifices for sure now-family is #1. But it WILL get better and easier. Promise!

  11. Carol March 6, 2012 at 4:20 PM #

    Hi Katie, this is my first reply on your blog but I do read it regularly. I also feel you did the right thing (I would have done the same). It’s always good to focus on the big picture. I am a new runner and live in Lafayette. I plan to run my first 10K in New Orleans on April 7th (cresent city classic). Thanks for being an inspiration to me! I had a GERD baby too and it’s tough…hang in there. This too shall pass!

  12. Daria March 6, 2012 at 8:26 PM #

    I think it’s pretty awesome that you don’t feel guilty about being so bummed out about missing the race. I remember as a new mom, if I even had one thought that wasn’t all sunshine and rainbows about my new life with my new child, I thought I was selfish (the bad kind) and was doing something wrong. Kudos to you for figuring out early on that you still deserve to be selfish (the relaxing, good kid) at times and that, yeah, those little buggers and sick husband’s can really screw up your “me” time. 🙂
    I hope that didn’t come across wrong. I hope you find the most awesome come-back race to run and just smash it.

  13. ernise March 7, 2012 at 9:01 AM #

    Oh Katie! Sorry to read about the DNS. I do believe, however, you made the right decision. Your family is important and there will be other races. Glad to hear Owen is doing better.

  14. Anna March 7, 2012 at 2:43 PM #

    I am so so sorry to hear that you weren’t able to run! But I’m glad that you had a great time at the expo and met so many people (like me!) who had lightbulb moments. 🙂 It was SO awesome to meet you and you definitely have your priorities straight by taking care of your boys. Hopefully we will cross paths again soon!

  15. elizabeth March 7, 2012 at 6:13 PM #

    i’m so sorry you didn’t get to run. i know you did the right thing and there will be many, many RNR nola’s in your future :):) and bummed i missed meeting you (ended up with my family at the expo and they didn’t want to hang around)!!

  16. Beth @ RUNNINGaroundmykitchen.com March 7, 2012 at 6:55 PM #

    Oh, Katie – I’m so sorry! I know you must have been crushed, but you definitely made the right decision and, like you said, there are always more races! Sometimes the right decision isn’t the easiest 🙂

  17. artistrybyadele March 8, 2012 at 2:15 PM #

    I may have my first DNS this Sunday for the Shamrock’n half marathon that I have been training for (with a large training group) and have been excited about for months. I hurt my foot a while back in the training, rested as much as I thought I needed, and started over again just to re-injure it. I have been telling myself I am going to do the race, but still being unable to walk without a limp this week is making me realize I really shouldn’t do it. I haven’t felt this down about something in a long time and it’s good to read that other people go through this too. I just stumbled on your blog and I think I’ll be stopping by more often 🙂

  18. jnkmiles.org March 8, 2012 at 8:18 PM #

    1st glad baby and hubby are both fine and now mamma can have her moment to be pissy.
    2nd…I say find another race. My husband gets those debilitating migraines as well and last Oct when we were in Pensacola for our last tri of the season (Santa Rosa) he awoke in the middle of the night with one. There we were, at Portifino, with 2 other couples (also racing), all our kids and he had to DNS.
    THEN, he had to spend the rest of the weekend listening to all of us TALK about the race he had to miss!!!
    Kinnda like what you’re having to go through now…
    Ohhhh, I felt soooo bad for him, and he was one pissed off man!!
    So, we came home and despite the odds found 1 more race up in Hattiesburg 2 weeks later. This one he did all by himself and we all cheered him on….
    The day was his and it did a lot to heal the open wound of Pensacola.
    Find another, go out there, and shine!!

    Carpe Diem!!

    • katieRUNSthis March 12, 2012 at 10:28 AM #

      Oh, I *so* know how your husband felt. So many of my friends ran this race as their first half or full marathon and, while I was thrilled for them to have their shining moments, I really wished I could have been there too. It made looking at all the post-race photos and recaps almost painful. I feel like that sounds so selfish to say, but I am just being honest. That is really awesome though that your husband got to do another race where y’all just went and cheered him on. It is nice that y’all have him “his” moment back.

      By the way, Santa Rosa is just about one of my favorite places on Earth! I hear that triathlon is super fantastic too!

  19. Heather March 10, 2012 at 6:19 PM #

    I was so devastated you didn’t run! I kept looking for you. So sad. I would be bummed to. Are you going to be at GCH Pensacola? I will be running! You SO need a redemption race girl!

    • katieRUNSthis March 12, 2012 at 10:25 AM #

      Yes, I am almost positive that I will be at GCHM Pensacola! But I am not sure if I will be running or working. I will check today and let you know!! 😀

Leave a Reply

