All The Things I Am Not

27 Feb

A few weeks ago, my sweet friend, Heather, told me about this really stupid website that said hateful things about her and her blog. (And, no, I will not link to it as I do not want to give this site any credit or additional hits.) The things she told me that were written about her were insanely high-school and attacked her on a pretty personal level. The claims were nothing short of ignorant and elementary.

Out of sheer curiosity, however, I made my way over to this site today…you know, just to see what’s up. I really shouldn’t have done this.

In there forums, I saw lists of Mommy Blogs, Healthy Living Blogs, and yes, even Running Blogs…all hog-tied up and ready for the bashing. People sit around and say what they really think about many of the “big bloggers”. At first I got a little frustrated, as there was a thread dedicated to almost every single one of my favorite reads. Upon reading some of the threads about some of my favorite blogs, I started getting this whole “cool older Senior” picking on the “nerdy new Freshman” vibe…you know, when people pick on someone else just to make themselves feel better. But then I realized, as with most negative situations, there is always at least one kernel of information to learn.

I am sure you are thinking that my “kernel of information” is something noble like how we should all rise above, be kind to each other, and not put hateful statements like that out in the universe. While I do wholeheartedly believe we should all just be kind to each other and rise above, that, my friends, is not the real world. Forgive me for not sounding like my usual Suzy Sunshine self, but what I actually learned was…

…the importance of the pre-emptive strike.

So, for the negativity I have heard here and there about katieRUNSthis (because, c’mon, everyone has some haters), this is for you…

Things I Am Not and What You Won’t See on katieRUNSthis.

I am not a dietician. When I give advice on healthy foods or foods that might be good for runners, it is all about my personal experience and how it fueled me as someone who exercises.

I do not actually run 24/7. And you know what else? There are even some weeks where I only run ONCE. You hear that?? ONCE! Does it make me less of a runner? Heck no. And if you say it does, you can bite me.

I am not the fastest runner. In fact, among my friends, I am actually one of the slowest. Was it always that way? No. But right now, I am finding running after a C-section to be one of the most difficult things my body has ever experienced. For the life of me, I am having the hardest time ever figuring out how to get my core-strength back while dealing with the seriously wacky numbness that still surrounds my incision and all the guts below it. I will keep at it because I will always be chasing my pre-baby PR’s, but for now, I am slow. Whatev.

I am not this raging hard-body who is back to a Size 2 only two weeks post-partum. In fact, I have never been a Size 2. I was once a Size 4, but only for about a month before I found out I was pregnant…and then every calorie consumed seemed to find my backside. Oh, and that Size 4? It took an INSANE amount of training and calorie-counting to maintain. You know why you don’t see any super flat post-partum belly pics on katieRUNSthis? Because there aren’t any. I am still fighting the flub and wiggly belly that most women experience after giving birth. Genetics are certainly not on my side and I have to work at my pre-baby body every single day.

You won’t see me posting stats about every workout, every training session, or every race I run. This is not me trying to hide anything. I just feel like blogs where all you see are numbers for weekly mileage and mile splits are boring…and a dime a dozen. And sometimes I run a race and don’t actually “race” it. And if I do that, I don’t need someone reminding me that I ran slower than they think I should have. In fact, there are even some races that I start never intending to beat my PR. (GASP!) Yes, sometimes I do, in fact, just run for fun.

Sometimes, I eat fast food. Look, I know it is really important to get the right amount of calories, eat 5-6 small meals a day, drink lots of water, yadda, yadda, yadda. I know all about how terrible high fructose corn syrup and how it will probably give me cancer. But sometimes, life gets in the way and I get busy. And when I am driving to and fro and I am hungry, sometimes I stop and eat Chick-Fil-A. There I said it. And just sometimes I get a McFlurry from McDonald’s just because I want one.

Look, I try to keep things here at authentic and organic as possible. That is why when I am feeling extremely inspired, you will see a post here every single day for weeks on end. When I need a break or when life…you know, becomes LIFE, and I get busy, I might post only once or twice a week. I try my best to start everyday with a good attitude and an infectious smile…

…but some days…

I look in the mirror and drop the F bomb. For real. In fact, I wish someone would video me doing that. In hindsight, it has got to be pretty funny.

In brief, here is what I am and here is what you will always find at katieRUNSthis:
I am extremely passionate about running and everything that goes along with it. Running has “fixed” so much of what I thought was wrong about me. I find special joy in talking with and getting to know new runners and helping them find encouragement along the way. I am really good at being a race director and I enjoy putting on running events. I have directed several races over the last several years, have served on several race committees, and I love providing an exceptional race experience to everyone running one of my races. I get ridiculously inspired by runners who are faster than me, and I made secret promises to myself that one day I will run just as fast as them. I will always try my best to relate my experiences with running and training in the most real and honest way.

So, that’s what you get. The good and the bad. Take it or leave it. And if you don’t like my blog, you just don’t have to read it. It is pretty much that simple.

How do you address negative ju-ju?

13 Responses to “All The Things I Am Not”

  1. Karen February 27, 2012 at 4:54 PM #

    I’m kind of shocked that anyone has time to read negative websites about blogs. I have a hard enough time just reading the upbeat stuff. Seems weird to spend so much time tearing down other people.

  2. elizabeth February 27, 2012 at 5:04 PM #

    i remember seeing a link to that site a few months ago from another blogger. i took a peek and then stopped. agree with you-all insanely childish, in my opinion, shows a ton of jealousy. if you hate the blog so much, don’t read it. or write one yourself. my blog is my blog. i will do with it what i like. boo to the haters.

    i am proud of your determination post baby. i am not near being at the point in my life (hopefully one day) and can’t imagine how hard it must be. i love your honesty. i have too many friends who act like motherhood is candy canes and gum drops.

    and love your perspective on running-that is my focus for the entire spring. to have fun. i actually have a goal to NOT PR. ha!

    look forward to meeting you this weekend!

  3. Erica@CajunRunner February 27, 2012 at 7:29 PM #

    I too was redirected to a terrible sight like this a few months back. It was basically bashing runner bloggers for having their own PERSONAL SPACE on the www. I understand that everyone is entitled to their own opinion…BUT SO ARE THOSE THAT BLOG! 🙂 I find so many blogs very helpful, insightful, and inspiring. I love the fact that those whom blog, do so about REAL life and obstacles throughout their days. If all bloggers wrote about “how awesome” they are, or “how well” they did during every post..in my opinion, that would be lame and it would get old. Yes, knowing the races that they run and times for many are really great, but it’s the little odds and ends discussed that hook me! For instance, Sarah @ Sarahoual (Once Upon a Lime) recently showed a step by step (with pics) of how to set your Garmin 405 to do speedwork intervals with warm ups and cool downs and the watch beeps and makes funny sounds letting you know when and what to do next after you have set everything. That’s cool for me because I’m terrible at reading directions and manuals on How To’s. We are all REAL people..and if you’re like me definitely NOT ELITE, so seeing real people’s running recaps, reviews, advice and life experiences is THE BEST BLOGGING …In My Opinion…and Heather is GREAT too! I love reading her blog and could not fathom how anyone could be so (no-lifed) and bored to take the time to down such great peeps…like y’all! Good Day! (this topic hits a soft spot..thanks for letting me rant!)

  4. Lani Yearicks (@armytbonegirl) February 27, 2012 at 8:06 PM #

    You are awesome Katie!! Keep on being you. I love reading your blog – you are a great writer!!

  5. Heather February 27, 2012 at 10:07 PM #

    haters gonna hate. i forgot we had that convo in rapunzel at RO. Isn’t it insane? I seriously cannot go over there anymore. It makes me so sad that people have so much free time to make fun of others. I love your blog (of course!) and think you are awesome!

  6. Kristie Odom February 28, 2012 at 10:23 AM #

    I LOVE your blog. You are inspirational to me! Thanks for all the info!!

  7. JimDog February 28, 2012 at 11:35 AM #

    Like Heather said. Haters are going to hate. Usually just jealous.

    p.s. “Thinks I am not” should be “Things I am not” 🙂

    • katieRUNSthis February 28, 2012 at 2:14 PM #

      Fixed! I’m such a Grammar Nazi! I don’t know how I missed that one. Just in a hurry, I suppose… 😀

  8. Kristin February 28, 2012 at 1:15 PM #

    There are going to be jerks in every stage of life, unfortunately. And the ones who started that awful website were probably jerks in high school. I find the running community (in “real” life and on Twitter and in the blogosphere) to be incredibly supportive and informative. People who hate on this community are most likely lacking in numerous areas in their own lives. I haven’t encountered any negativity and if there comes a day that I do, I will just shake it off. Maybe a few years ago I would’ve taken it personally but now I just tell myself that who knows what’s going on in that person’s life to make them miserable. They’re not bringing me down with them!

  9. lifeisarun February 28, 2012 at 4:34 PM #

    Wow!! 😦 Not sure I have much else to say than wow….Katie, you are awesome! That’s why we read your blog – you keep it real! Thanks for sharing your passion about running, living a healthy lifestyle, etc!

  10. matthewsbucketlist February 28, 2012 at 6:11 PM #

    You tell ’em! haha, sorry a girl has started saying that at my school and it has rubbed off on everyone. But yes, I’m running the 10K and because I am and I’m also on the track team, I still consider myself a runner even though people still beat me! This was really inspirational, and you should comment on my bucket list blog, matthewsbucketlist.wordpress.com

  11. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks March 1, 2012 at 2:46 PM #

    I am a pseudo-lurker (called as such, because I don’t know if I’ve yet commented on your blog, though I’ve been reading for a month or two). Anyway, thank you for writing this blog post. Even though you meant to focus on overcoming the haters (I don’t even have words for that), I can very much relate to trying to get your post c-section run on. Everything seems to be toppled upside down and it’s been very frustrating, to say the least. My son is now 16 months old and I still haven’t found my groove. I actually just started the couch to 5k running program … because, even though I used to run marathons (yes, more than one!), I’ve completely lost my running mojo and no running ego is going to get in the way of getting myself back in stride. So, I start from somewhere and hope to get somewhere else, knowing it’ll never be the same as it once was.

  12. Erin Miller March 1, 2012 at 10:12 PM #

    Katie, I love reading your blog. I like that you are “real” and tell it like it is! You are inspiring to many of us.

Leave a Reply

