T-2 days to ultramarathon relay!

9 Feb

Oh heavens! Where, oh where, do I begin!?

I am ready for this...right???

Tonight is the pre-race meeting for this weekend’s Rouge-Orleans 126.2 and it would be a vast understatement to say that I am freaking AMPED beyond belief! I seriously have not been this excited about a race in such a long time. There are so many things about this event that have fallen into place to make it one of the most special and memorable races I have ever run…and I have not actually even run yet! Ha!

For starters, I have been blessed with an amazing team. When I first had the notion to do this race I signed on with another team. After that quickly fell through, I got nervous that I would not be able to participate. However, within a day, five other ladies and I threw caution into the wind and formed our own team. Team Girls On The Geaux was born! You can meet the other members of my team here.

I knew most of the ladies on my team pretty well when we first decided to run together, but throughout the last couple of months, we’ve shared funny stories, advice on gear, fears about being chased by all forms of Louisiana wildlife (including cows/bulls, dogs, and alligators) and tips on training. We have supported each other through solo runs and group training runs, in-person as well as “virtual” long-distance training runs across two states via the internet. As I have gotten to know my teammates better, it is easy for me to see that there underlying goal here is to HAVE FUN. As long as we keep that in mind, we can’t lose!

After we got to talking, we decided that we wanted to run for a cause. Since our team name was Girls On The Geaux and we are all ladies, it only made sense to run for Girls On The Run. GOTR is an organization that I hold personally close to my heart. The programs provided by Girls On The Run instill so many good values into the young ladies in our communities, and to be able to support them and help spread the word about their programs is the least we can do. If you are unfamiliar with Girls On The Run, please visit their website (or my previous blog) to learn more about them!

Once the word got out that we were running for such an awesome group, we started getting sponsors! Yes, for real! We are so honored and thankful to the following companies for supporting Team Girls On The Geaux with donations of gear, supplies, and funds for us and for Girls On The Run!

We are excited to have these gigantic signs to plaster on our van (along with some other interesting van decorations, of course!)

Please visit our generous sponsors and show them some love too! They have been so good to us!

Facebook          Twitter

Facebook          Twitter


Facebook          Twitter


Facebook          Twitter


Facebook          Twitter


Facebook          Twitter


Facebook          Twitter


Facebook          Twitter


Twitter



Facebook          Twitter

Please, please, please don’t forget that we will be documenting our experience in real-time via Twitter, facebook, and our blogs. If you are on Twitter, be sure and check out the hashtag #RO12 for updates on the event. If you want to keep up with my team, follow the hashtag #GirlsOnTheGeaux!

I have made my packing list and my things are all ready to go! I swear it seems like I am going camping for a week. I packed lots of stuff and I am sure I still forgot something. Oh well…

Less than 48 hours to go! GEAUX! GEAUX! GEAUX!

Are you racing this weekend? Have you ever done an ultramarathon…either solo or as a relay team? What did you like/dislike about it?

7 Responses to “T-2 days to ultramarathon relay!”

  1. Tink February 9, 2012 at 6:33 PM #

    Good luck! It sounds so exciting, I can’t wait to hear all about it!

  2. runningwithsass February 9, 2012 at 8:08 PM #

    yay! my post is going up tomorrow. Can’t wait to see you TOMORROW. We are going to have a blast!

  3. Beth @ RUNNINGaroundmykitchen.com February 9, 2012 at 9:05 PM #

    Oh good luck, can’t wait to hear about it! I’m a GOTR coach and I love that you are doing it for them!!!

  4. Melanie Watt February 9, 2012 at 9:19 PM #

    Sounds so exciting! Good luck! I would love to do this race next year!

  5. Jamie February 9, 2012 at 9:57 PM #

    Happy running and be safe! I hope you have an awesome time with your team and I too can’t wait to hear all about it.

  6. Karen February 10, 2012 at 8:33 AM #

    Good luck to you and all your teammates! Not ’em dead.

  7. Ann February 11, 2012 at 10:47 PM #

    have SO MUCH FUN! Last year was my 1st time doing a relay (Ragnar Great River) and I can’t wait to hear how YOUR race goes!! 🙂 Good luck!!!

Leave a Reply

