Stop Being A Tourist

26 Jan

I know you.

You are the person who looks at all your running friends with amazement. You listen to their Monday morning recaps of races and secretly wish you had a story of your own.

You are the spouse or significant other of a runner. Always present at the finish line, holding the camera and ready with a hug. The whole time you are waiting, you wish you were on the course too.

You are the person who jogs once or twice a week but never signs up for a race, fearing that it might make you “too serious.” Heaven forbid you get on a training plan and push yourself!

You are the person who looks at super star runners like Dean Karnazes or Deena Kastor and thinks that because you cannot run like that that you should not even try.

You are the person who looks at people with their race medals, secretly wishing you could feel the weight of that hardware hanging on your neck.


It is time to stop being a tourist and to start being a runner. Today is the day.

You are not too fat/skinny to run.
You are not too tall/short to run.
You are not too black/white/purple/polka-dotted to run.
You are not too busy to run.
I have no sympathy for you if you do not even TRY.

Running is not as intimidating as it seems and this former Chunky Monkey is living proof that anyone can do it. In fact, I am currently in the oh-so-humbling process of getting my runner mojo back. Hell, we all have to start (or re-start) somewhere. Living on the sidelines is not nearly as fun as being in the game.

Lace up your shoes.
Find a running group.
Hang out at the local running stores like a big ol’ nerd. (We all do it.)
Sign up for a race.
Get in the game.
BE THE RUNNER THAT YOU DESPERATELY WANT TO BE.

We all need a swift kick to the rear sometimes.
You are welcome.
Now go…get running!

15 Responses to “Stop Being A Tourist”

  1. keath January 26, 2012 at 12:05 PM #

    I’ve got nothing to add – just want to give this post a big ol’ thumbs up! Welcome back to your mojo!

  2. CajunRunner January 26, 2012 at 12:27 PM #

    Love it! Thanks for the boost…I mean kick in the rear!

  3. mickiruns January 26, 2012 at 12:35 PM #

    Love it! I hate hearing all of the excuses people have to justify not running!

  4. oliverclan88 January 26, 2012 at 12:42 PM #

    Well said!!!!

  5. Amanda January 26, 2012 at 1:32 PM #

    With that kind of motivation/excuse buster, there is no reason not to run!

  6. Vanessa January 26, 2012 at 4:51 PM #

    I’d like to add people who make self-deprecating comments and use that as a reason why they won’t workout or workout harder.
    One, that is pure foolishness! Two, the self pity party never helps anything.

  7. jessica January 26, 2012 at 8:31 PM #

    This is perfect, and so true!!! Thank you for sharing!

  8. Emz January 26, 2012 at 8:43 PM #

    Yes this post…freaking rocks.
    Love it.
    So true.

  9. KristynKG January 27, 2012 at 9:27 AM #

    When I go to our local running store, I really want to just hang out for a while! glad to know I’m not the only one!!

  10. Long Legs on the Loose January 28, 2012 at 6:30 PM #

    love this!

    PS: tagged ya in a post!

  11. Ash January 29, 2012 at 12:43 AM #

    I found your blog from a comment you left on Runner’s World (the whole skirt debate) and I’m so pleased. I started running a few months ago and finished Couch to 5k, then I went to India for a few weeks so I was off running for a month and couldn’t wait to get back into it! I’m running my first race in two weeks and your blog has been a great motivator for me! Can’t wait to read more from you. 🙂

    • katieRUNSthis February 1, 2012 at 12:42 PM #

      Hi there! Thank you for coming by! I’m so glad you found me! Way to go on completely Couch to 5k! Racing is fun and I hope you get as addicted to it as I am! After all, there could be worse vices, right? 🙂

  12. Ann January 29, 2012 at 12:03 PM #

    Love this!!!! 🙂

  13. Mary February 9, 2012 at 8:46 PM #

    Hi everyone. Im moving to New Orleans, at the end of this month currently living in Japan and i will like to find a group of running women who i could beging running and training to do a marathon.. I’m a newbie and need the motivation and encuragement and support from a group.. thanks

    • katieRUNSthis February 10, 2012 at 8:39 AM #

      Hi there! Yay for making your big move to New Orleans! Coincidentally enough, I lived/worked in Japan for 9 months a few years back. It was really fun and Japan was beautiful! I was in Kakegawa but got to sneak off to Tokyo once. 🙂 Anyway, about New Orleans…you will find LOTS of running groups in the Big Easy. Your best bet for finding a marathon training group is at Varsity Sports on Magazine Street. The store is great and the people are super friendly. If they don’t have a training group starting up, they can probably direct you to one! And if they don’t help you, shoot me an email and I’ll find out some more info for you! I hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

