Easy, Quick Strength Training

9 Jan

Resolve to lose weight, get stronger, or get fitter in the new year?  Guess what?  Me too!  Here is the good news…we can do it together!

 
When I found out that I was pregnant, I had *just* gotten my body into what I considered my peak racing shape and had FINALLY attained a weight I was really proud of.  Learning of my pregnancy changed everything.  I could not do the same kind of strength training as I did before and I had to scale back on everything.  Over the course of my pregnancy, I gained a total of 60 pounds.  (On a side note, can you just imagine how much weight I would have gained if I had not stayed active and eaten right?  YOWZA!)  Breastfeeding/pumping and birthing my little bowling ball has taken off 30 pounds, but I still have 30 pounds that has been sitting idly on this frame for the last two weeks.  Not a change on the scale…AT ALL.  
 
You know what that means!  It is time to kick the excuses to the curb and get down to business!  It is time to add strength training to my cardio.  Doing all of this cardio is great for my heart and level of endurance, but it is the strength training that is going to really tone, reshape my body, and take off the inches.  
 
Alright, so let’s get to work! 
 
(…in my nest used car salesman voice…)
No access to a gym?  NO PROBLEM!
No free weights at home? NO PROBLEM!
Limited on time?  NO PROBLEM!
 
Here are some exercises you can do at home…either all at one time…or as you can throughout the day.  Add this workout a couple of times a week and you will see some results!  Enjoy!
 
50 Crunches
50 Side Leg Lifts     (25 on each side; done lying on the floor)
50 Bicycles
25 Slow Squats
15 Sumo Squats     (Toes and knees pointed out; slower is better!)
50 Calf Raises
100 Arm Cirlces     (50 on each arm)
15 Push-Ups     (Stay off your knees if you can!)
50 Jumping Jacks
1 Minute Plank     (Keep your butt down for good form!)
 
These are quick, easy, “no excuse” exercises.  On a side note, this is a GREAT series of exercises to do in a hotel room or if you travel a lot.  It is important to stay fit, even when you are on the go!
 
What did YOU resolve to do in the new year?  Are you making an effort to get stronger or get fitter?  If so, what are you doing to make this goal happen?
 
9 Responses to “Easy, Quick Strength Training”

  1. lifeisarun January 9, 2012 at 3:02 PM #

    Sometimes it’s easy to forget all the different things you can simply do at home for strength training! Thanks for the reminder!

  2. RunToTheFinish January 9, 2012 at 4:38 PM #

    i love your attitude!! learning that body weight exercises really work made a huge difference for me lately…but still i have a ways to go, so please kick my butt on Twitter any time

  3. Michelle Kreifels January 9, 2012 at 6:17 PM #

    That is a great set. I’ve been trying to come up with one myself. My goal is a 4 hour marathon in Portland this year. My 2012 goal is to get into peak racing shape. Thanks and great post!

  4. Ann January 9, 2012 at 9:15 PM #

    I did an “at home” workout tonight and it included some of those moves! Awesome tips!! 🙂

  5. mrsraushel January 10, 2012 at 12:33 PM #

    I will definitely try to work this in 1-2x/week. Thanks for the tip! 🙂

  6. Heather January 10, 2012 at 2:51 PM #

    I have been strength training a LOT since I have been injured and I have totally been seeing a difference!

  7. Megan January 10, 2012 at 6:24 PM #

    Thanks for posting this! I SO need to add this type of thing to my workouts! I make excuses all the time for not doing them! I hate doing weights and crunches, etc., but I love the way I feel after!!

  8. Free Weights Shop February 8, 2012 at 2:47 PM #

    That’s right! You can do it with little or no equipment. Make sure you are getting at least 2 days a week strength/resistance training in. You’ll be amazed at your results down the road. Look into crossfit exercises to, they have some great sets that can be done at a park, in your backyard or in home!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Easy, Quick Strength Training « | Increase Your Vertical Jump and Athletics - January 9, 2012

    […] Reading: Easy, Quick Strength Training « Posts Related to Easy, Quick Strength Training «Rippetoe’s Starting Strength – Beginner […]

Leave a Reply

