Out with the old, in with the new!

1 Jan

2012 is here and I could not be more excited!  There are big, exciting things coming and I cannot wait to share them all with you!  I cannot complain about this year, as 2011 has brought me many wonderful things…we moved to a new city, katieRUNSthis.com was launched, I competed in lots of awesome and fun new trail and road races (and even a triathlon), and we welcomed a beautiful new baby boy to our home!  What an adventure it has been!

2012 will be really exciting and I hope to venture into some new territory.  I have some big plans for this site and I plan to try and take things to a new level.  Fingers crossed!  Now that I am feeling my body feeling more whole and complete again, I have some big racing goals too!

This year, I plan to:
*  Run the Rouge-Orleans ultramarathon relay
*  Run the BRASF Mardi Gras Mambo 10k
*  Run the Rock N Roll New Orleans half marathon
*  Compete in (2) Rocketchix Triathlons

I am also planning a late summer/early fall marathon, but I have not picked one for sure yet.  I have a couple of friends that want to do a destination race, and I just need to check with my finances to see what is feasible.

And last, but not least, I have decided to get my RRCA certification!  I am shooting to complete this in March of this year.  The March training will be held in Atlanta and I have been itching for an excuse to go run with some of my friends who run with the Black Girls Run! group anyway!  Fun!

I am very optimistic that there will be many more adventures that I find my want into and I cannot wait to share them all with you.

Thank you all so much for hanging with me through 2011!  I hope you continue to stick around for the ride!

Hugs and high fives,
Katie

8 Responses to “Out with the old, in with the new!”

  1. Sheila (@this_sids_life) January 1, 2012 at 10:40 PM #

    Best wishes to you this year, Katie! Blessings and health along the way!

  2. Kari January 1, 2012 at 10:45 PM #

    Would love to see you when you come to ATL! I used to run with Black Girls Run! last summer but I moved a bit outside of the city and can’t manage to make the runs. I hope I get to meet you when you come! Very inspired by your blog.

  3. Michelle @ Michelle Does Germany January 2, 2012 at 12:35 AM #

    The RRCA certificate is something I would love to do as well. Happy New Year!

  4. running on faith January 2, 2012 at 7:52 AM #

    Sounds like a great year planned! Did you see that the MGM 10k was the featured race in Runners World? Love seeing Baton Rouge on the map for some races! Wish I could join you in Atlanta for the RRCA certification but hope we can catch up at some races this year!

  5. keyalus January 2, 2012 at 8:36 AM #

    I have a hard time making it out to a lot of the BGR Atlanta runs due to childcare and travel issues (I live way outside of central Atlanta). However, if you come down for a run I’ll try to be there.

    I think you’d be great with the RRCA thing. It is clear from your RunLA thing that you are destined to do something more than just selfishly enjoy running (like I do LOL).

  6. Ann January 2, 2012 at 9:25 AM #

    Destination marathon??? My vote is the TC Marathon in October!!!!!! 🙂 Here’s to an awesome 2012!!!

  7. David H. January 2, 2012 at 8:59 PM #

    Happy new year to you! I’m looking forward to what transpires in 2012 for you as you knock out those goals.

  8. KristynKG January 4, 2012 at 10:28 AM #

    We are going to rock RougeOrleans!! Can’t Wait!

Leave a Reply

