Making Sacrifices

9 Dec

Today my kiddo is one month old! The last month have brought me some of the best and close to some of the worst days of my life. I know that sounds awful to say with a newborn, but it is honest. I love my son, but like all newborns, he has his moments (you know, like when he howls in the middle of the night while getting his diaper changed). The first two weeks were hard…REALLY hard. In all the classes we took, the one thing that instructors and veteran moms stressed to us about being difficult was breastfeeding. We were prepared for that. I had read about the “baby blues,” but no one had warned me about how miserable they could be…especially when compounded with exhaustion and a sore body. The first two weeks are quite literally “sacrificial.” I had to give up all of me and everything I needed to take care of this awesome little person…who I knew could do nothing for himself.

Daddy and Owen


After the two week mark, things really started to perk up. I thought everyone was lying to me when they said that this would be the turning point, but it really was. I mean, it is not like he had done anything dramatic like start sleeping through the night or anything, but we are now familiar with his different cries, we have some slight routine, and, as parents, we are starting to feel more confident. This is a good thing! PROGRESS!

Back in September I was contacted about attending this awesome trade show in Austin, TX called The Running Event. I. WAS. AMPED. Hundreds of running retailers…all under one roof…showcasing all their products and new technology for 2012! Yes, please! I thanked my contact and quickly started planning my trip! The Key Family was ready to Keep It Weird in the ATX!

The Running Event started this Wednesday. You know where I am NOT this week? Obviously, I am not at The Running Event. I had my heart set on going and it is just not going to happen. Having a newborn requires SO much more time, energy, attention, etc. (not that I ever thought it was going to be easy, but I certainly did not think it would be like this) and I just can not do it all. No, Blogosphere, I am not Super Mom. (Gasp! Alas, it is true!) With all the cold, rainy weather and with flu season well on it’s way, I just could not take the risk of getting Baby Key out like that. I am sure this is just the first of many sacrifices I will make for my kiddo. While I am disappointed that I cannot go, there is always next year, I suppose. There is always another trade show, another race, another expo. It was just really fun to have been invited, but I will have to take them up on the invitation in 2012!

Making sacrifices is a funny thing. Once upon a time, I gave up important things for running, training, or for making it to a particular race. There were late night parties I did not go to, new clothes I passed on because I wanted new running shoes more, and dinners we did not eat out at restaurants so we could save money for race fees. Now running is taking a back seat to all things involved with Baby Key. That’s right, there’s a new sheriff in town. While it is a “sacrifice” I am happy to make, it is a sacrifice nonetheless.

For the longest time, I was Katie, the runner. Now I’m Katie, the mama…who also runs.

And you know what? It is kind of nice for a change. At first it was a little hard to adjust to my new identity, but its definitely growing on me.

17 Responses to “Making Sacrifices”

  1. Jen December 9, 2011 at 9:21 PM #

    I am going through the same thing right now. Wyatt is 2wks and it is SO much harder than I ever imagined. I have no idea when I’ll be able to run again, and I’m shockingly OK w/that. You’re doing great mama πŸ™‚

  2. Adonicap December 9, 2011 at 9:28 PM #

    As a mom of 4 under 6 who is slowly becoming a runner I want you to know it will be this way for a while, but the sacrifices get easier and so does the balance. It is so worth it though. Hang in there and know that none of us are perfect and anyone who tries to pretend otherwise is full of it.

  3. Jenny December 9, 2011 at 9:35 PM #

    You ARE super woman! It gets easier and easier, I promise! Jude is 16 months and I finally started feeling like myself again when he was about 10 months old. Everyone’s different but I know you, you’re like me πŸ™‚ keep it up Katie! I’m so proud of you!!!

  4. Erika December 9, 2011 at 9:53 PM #

    As they say, the first 40 years of parenting are the toughest.. πŸ™‚ in all seriousness, treasure these moments, as they are fleeting. As your baby grows, you will get your life back (or something close to it). My oldest just turned 11 and has started running a little bit with me. When she crossed the finish line at her first 5k, I could still see her as that little baby girl and I got a little teary. Kids will certainly challenge you, but you are doing a great job. (so are you, Jen, above comment)

  5. Corrina December 9, 2011 at 10:10 PM #

    You have a great take on it all. I ran so little the first 4 or 5 months after my 3rd daughter. I missed it so much but it was a necessary and proper sacrifice. I love your last lines “I am a mother, who runs.” welcome to the tribe πŸ™‚

  6. Andrea December 9, 2011 at 11:43 PM #

    Looking back and the further you get into parenthood, the sacrifices for Baby Key will not seem like sacrifices in the long run. I promise you! Wait until you hear the first real laugh. Each moment gets better, more rewarding and easier! Enjoy, he is SO cute-love the red hair!

  7. runneese December 10, 2011 at 11:40 AM #

    what a gorgeous photo of your boys. you will work your running back in, it’s just not going to be today… love ya Katie you are doing the best you can under the circumstances and I hope each day is better and brighter for you and the family.

    • katieRUNSthis December 13, 2011 at 11:29 AM #

      Thank you, Denise! We miss you so much! I hope we can see you when we are in town for the holidays!!

  8. Ara M (@aratris) December 10, 2011 at 9:39 PM #

    Ok, so I’m not a mom, and I have nothing profound to say about this post, except that OMG Owen is SO darn cute!!!! Congrats & keep up the good work.

  9. jeanniegilbert December 11, 2011 at 3:54 AM #

    Love this Katie! Glad things are starting to look up. It is an adjustment and priorities change but you learn to juggle and still get time for you eventually. And he is so darn cute!

  10. Kristen @ The Concrete Runner December 11, 2011 at 8:06 AM #

    Seriously, no one can tell you how hard being a parent is! It is a lot of work and yes, definitely many sacrifices have to be made! I’m glad you are adjusting to life as a mom, and I hope your recovery is going well!

  11. Ann December 11, 2011 at 9:02 PM #

    Love this. So happy you’re getting back into the groove of running + mommy-hood. Sounds like you are doing GREAT!!! πŸ™‚

  12. anna0582 December 11, 2011 at 9:03 PM #

    It’s really interesting to read this. I’m being induced on Wednesday and I keep thinking of all these things that I can’t wait to do again… like really push myself while running. And then I have to stop and remind myself that it might be weeks or (sadly) a month or two or three before I can get back to running. I do ask myself if I will be ok with the sacrifice a newborn requires. Guess we’ll see. πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing.

  13. Terzah December 12, 2011 at 1:10 PM #

    I so understand where you are. I was there five years ago (almost exactly–my twins just turned five). It’s such a ride, but I promise you and your husband will have so much to laugh about as you go through it.

  14. Laura December 12, 2011 at 8:40 PM #

    What a great, honest post! Those first weeks/months can be really tough, but it just keeps getting better. I went through a similar identity shift… parenthood is definitely about sacrifices, but it’s so rewarding, too. πŸ™‚

  15. hillphotos2009 December 13, 2011 at 8:54 AM #

    You’re doing great, Katie! Breast feeding IS the hardest thing ever. I stopped bf’ing my first born at 5 months because it was too hard to juggle bf’ing and work and school and that made me feel like I really cheated him out of something vital.

    With my second son, however, I breastfed him until he was 15months! I found during this time that 1.) nipple shields are awesome but can screw things up; 2.) it actually IS important to make sure you feed or pump every two hours; 3.) babies don’t appreciate tuna for lunch and salmon for dinner in one day; 4.) Fenugreek works; and 5.) I went solo with the breastfeeding with my first son and had a lactation consultant for my second son – if I had 12 more children I would have a lactation consultant for each child. They have lots of great ideas and are so full of encouragement especially when you’re sitting on the edge of your bed with one nipple so sore that its bleeding but the breast engorged and expressing milk and the other side just doesn’t have ANY milk for baby and you didn’t save your last batch of pumped milk because you were too tired to walk to the kitchen to pour the stuff in freezer bags and label them!

    Breastfeeding is eventful and HARD but stick with it! You can do it! And pray, pray, pray!

    • katieRUNSthis December 13, 2011 at 11:00 AM #

      Thank you so much for this comment. I really, really appreciate the encouragement. All the classes I went to warned that breastfeeding is difficult, but WOW! I never EVER thought it would be this hard. And pumping every two hours is so difficult. Seriously, that is a hard schedule to manage. How does one even get out of the house to do ANYTHING when your boob is basically tethered to a breast pump 24/7? I have heard wonderful things about fenugreek and I’m excited to try it. My friend is actually mailing me some! I hear it makes you smell like maple syrup though. However, that is a small price to pay if it works!

      And I’m with you on the pray, pray, pray! I do a lot of that anyway, but I’ve been doing even more now that Baby Key is in our lives. I don’t know how single parents do it. I seriously think they are super heroes. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

