So Fresh and So Clean, Clean!

7 Nov

When I was in high school, I had it ALL going for me…funky hair, glasses, braces, bumpy skin, and, OH! Did I mention that I was in all the “smart kid” classes too? Let it just suffice that the sum of all of these things amounted to me not being in the “A” group. Don’t get me wrong, I had lots of friends but we just were not the “cool kids.” Anyway, by the time I got to college I had blossomed a bit and gone were the bad hair and braces and my skin finally decided to behave itself.

However, when I started running, that ALL changed. The skin on my cheeks, chin, and forehead decided to channel my inner 15-year-old boy and break out. BAD. Like WORSE than I ever had it in high school. While I was thrilled to getting into running and doing something physical that made my body feel good, I was mortified at how my skin looked. What person in their mid-twenties wants to have acne!? YIKES!

While I did not experience this, I hear a lot of other runners also experience breakouts on their arms, legs, and even back. It’s not pretty, folks. However, it also is not something that a lot of runners like to talk about. Even though adult acne (caused by sweating from running, cycling, or other physical activity) is not something we should be ashamed of, it is certainly something that a lot of people do not like to discuss.

I tried everything. I cannot even begin to tell you how much money I wasted on fancy department store face washes, creams, exfoliants, scrubs, masks, gadgets, and more. Literally, I have probably invested hundreds of dollars trying to find the right combination of products that keeps my skin blemish-free without drying it out. Honestly, some of the best products I have found come right from my local pharmacy.

To wash my face, I use Clean & Clear Morning Burst Facial Scrub (~ $5). I make sure that any face wash I use is oil-free because my face gets plenty oily when working out. I really like the smell of it and the beads in the scrub feel good on my face in the morning. I have also been known to use this as an all-over body scrub in the summer when I get breakouts on my shoulders and arms.

After I wash my face, I like to use Clearasil Ultra Rapid Action Pads (~ $7). I used to use an astringent but I find the Clearasil pads are a little stronger and really make me feel like I am getting my face CLEAN. When I do have breakouts, the pads sting just a little but they do help get any bumps or pimples cleared up really quickly.

After I get my face all cleaned and fresh feeling, I really like to put on some sort of moisturizer. I am really picky about these because, as I mentioned before, I do not like adding any more oil to my skin. Even though it is “nighttime” cream, I really like Aveeno Intense Relief Overnight Cream (~ $8). A small amount goes a long way, so this tube seems to last FOREVER. In the fall/winter, my skin gets drier and itchier and this really helps with that. Keep in mind that it does not have any SPF protection, so you might want to consider adding a skin protectant as well if you need that. For my favorite running sunscreen, you can click here.

When I am on-the-go and end up hitting the gym or if I do not have time to do my full routine, I LOVE these Neutrogena Deep Clean Sport Wipes (~ $7 for a box of 18). They are super convenient because they are individually packaged and you can easily throw them in your gym bag, backpack, or purse. You do not have to worry about them leaking or busting in your bag. I keep at least one in my purse and one in my console of my car. That way, if I go for a run around a different neighborhood or the lakes at a nearby college campus I can get my face clean and sweat-free right when I get back in my car. Super handy!

There is also a new line of skin care focused at athletes that I have seen at the store but have not tried yet. It is called Mission Athlete Care. I have seen it at both my local pharmacy and big box discount store. I have read good reviews of it but do not know anyone who has personally tried it. I might consider trying this when I run out of one of my above staples just to see how it works. I will let you know how it goes!

How do YOU care for your skin after getting all sweaty? What are YOUR favorite products and where do you get them? Have you tried Mission Athlete Care? If so, what do you think of it?

10 Responses to “So Fresh and So Clean, Clean!”

  1. Jaemie Gyurik (@jaemie) November 7, 2011 at 11:06 AM #

    Great post. For those that have issues with bumps on their arms, back, etc. from working out, they can try Neutrogena Body Clear Body Spray. It comes in a spray bottle that lets you spray at any angle. After I shower and dry off, I spray a little on my back and upper arms to keep things clear.

    http://www.neutrogena.com/product/body+clear-+body+spray.do

  2. Lindsey d. November 7, 2011 at 11:33 AM #

    OMG! I started breaking out like a teenager about a year ago, right when I really started running and working out, but I never put the two together! Easily covered by simply makeup (I do the mineral makeup thing), but my face looks so red without makeup or in flash photographs. Definitely time to do something about it.

    I’m pretty much just a Cetaphil and Clinque moisturizing gel girl, but it’s probably time to upgrade. Still need to go see my Dermatologist, I think.

    • Lindsey d. November 10, 2011 at 10:26 PM #

      Went to the doc today for a cold, wearing no makeup. She walked in and assumed I was there for my face. Definitely time to do something about it. She prescribed an antibiotic and a $50 gel to put on a bedtime. Crossing my fingers that it works. I have a family history (on both sides) of rosecea, so running has just made it all worse….

    • sasha November 30, 2011 at 3:57 AM #

      hey my face is dry i want to overcome plz plz tel me some home tips or remedies……thankful to u…

  3. PhroYo November 7, 2011 at 2:18 PM #

    Thank you so much for addressing this! I had GREAT skin as a teenager and in college. I never struggled with anything more than that one massive pimple that most women get during her lady time. But since I started seriously training for half marathons and marathons, I’m breaking out on my forehead, my cheeks, and my chin. I couldn’t figure out what I was doing wrong!

    One of my followers on twitter tweeted a complaint about this about a month ago and I FINALLY felt like I wasn’t the only one struggling with this. Recently, I’ve tried to do better with washing my face twice a day and I bought this little roll-on bottle of tea tree oil and witch hazel. It’s been working to dry out any breakouts but the tone of my skin is just haywire. I miss having an even tone and glowing skin. I’ll try some of the things you mentioned here. I’m already using the Morning Burst cleanser but I’ll try the Clearasil pads as well.

    Thanks!

  4. Christine @ Oatmeal in my Bowl November 7, 2011 at 3:11 PM #

    I love using Clean and Clear. My family uses the Morning Burst Shine Control Cleanser. Its perfecto.

    Then I use the Oil of Olay toner ( love the smell of it ) and I think right now… the Mary Kay moisturizer (but I don’t like the smell. need another).

    I remember back in the days, my mom had Jafra black head control – it worked wonder. Don’t even know if you can find Jafra anymore!

  5. RunToTheFinish November 7, 2011 at 8:23 PM #

    I never used to break out until we moved to miami. I swear the humidity does this crazy thing to my skin. As soon as I go back to KC for a week it clears up!! I haven’t found a great plan here just yet

  6. Jenn @ Running Jennie November 7, 2011 at 9:32 PM #

    Thanks for this post! Like PhroYo above, I never really had problems with my skin before running. Lately my chin has been break out city. It’s driving me crazy! I had no idea what it was until this post popped up in my reader this morning. Now that I know what it is, I guess I better do something about it. I’ll definitely use this post for some ideas!

  7. Ara M (@singlentri_ing) November 8, 2011 at 12:42 AM #

    Thank you SO much for posting this. I’m going to try these tips. I usually use the generic brand of the 1st cleanse you posted and then I just use baby wipes, which I’m sure aren’t the best.

  8. Mystery December 1, 2011 at 3:32 AM #

    Omg! This is brilliant iStumbled upon this’ iHave been using this method for two years now’ iLove it iDont use the last cleansings pads you posted’ but everything else iUse’ & my skin loves it!(:

Leave a Reply

