Losing Weight is Scary

3 Nov

Just a word of forewarning. Some of this post may totally fall under the category of TMI.

Throughout the last 9 months I have tried to be very conscious of what I am eating and exercising very regularly.  My goal for doing this was to stay as in-shape as possible, keep myself and my baby healthy, and to gain a “normal” amount of baby weight. My original plan was to gain no more than 35 pounds during my pregnancy. This was the “safe” amount recommended by my health care provider.

HAHAHAHAHAHA!  *wipingtearsfrommyeyes* 35 pounds? Good one, Doc!

Those 35 pounds are a distant memory.

39 weeks and 5 days


I now have 60 (YES, 60!) extra pounds sitting on my frame.  When I found out I was expecting, I was very happy at my racing/training weight of 130 pounds and had maintained that weight for at least 6 months. My natural body weight (before ever getting into running or doing regular physical activity) hovers closer to 150 pounds.  Depending on the perspective, I either need to lose 40 pounds to get to my “normal” weight or 60 pounds to get to my “ideal” weight.

Not only have I been blessed with a baby belly, but I have been “blessed” with gigantic boobs (which, I swear, that if they get any bigger I will completely lose my mind) and the junk in the trunk to match. They say that when you gain pregnancy weight, you gain it in places where you would experience normal weight gain. For me, this means that this curvy girl has become EXTRA curvy…in addition to the belly. AWESOME.

No matter how you slice it, the concept of losing this much weight is daunting. I have never had to or attempted to lose that much weight in my life. To say the least, it scares me. Fortunately, I have an awesome support system of family and friends…both in real life and across the Blogosphere and Twitterverse. I know there will be no shortage of help or motivation when I need it, but it still makes me nervous. In addition, I have read and continue to read so many of your fitness blogs. I have read about some incredible people who have lost WAY more than 60 pounds and if they can do it, I can do it too. I know can.

The hardest part for me will be patience. I have these grand visions of popping out this kiddo and then running a half marathon the next weekend. (No, seriously, I do.) There are women that have been able to accomplish this, and while I would love to be one of them, I know that these women are truly the exceptions to the rule and most people just do not bounce back that quickly. Maybe I will be one of the lucky ones, but I need to stop banking on it and start being more realistic.

I am still excited about about the Core Recovery Plan that I have devised. At this point, I am just ready for Baby Key to arrive, assess my physical level at that point, and move to the next step. The waiting game is TOUGH.

2 days and counting…

35 Responses to “Losing Weight is Scary”

  1. Amy @ The Nifty Foodie November 3, 2011 at 3:13 PM #

    I completely understand, except my extra weight (50 lbs) isn’t the result of pregnancy. It’s the result of falling off the wagon, no longer exercising and eating terribly for a year after getting married. 😦

    You can totally do it! 😀

  2. Vanessa (@IsleStyleLiving) November 3, 2011 at 3:20 PM #

    Let me just say you carry those 60 pounds beautifully!!

    I’m scared/nervous/excited to start my weight loss after baby is here… already planning my goals for 2012!

    Since I was overweight pre-pregnancy, doc wants me to gain no more than 25 pounds. As of now I’ve been hovering over 20lbs…. with about 7 more weeks to go!

    My ideal weight is 150… but being overweight pre-pregnancy has set me up for a long journey ahead of me… I’ll have about 60 pounds to lose to get back to my goal.

    It’s great that you have a plan! I’m going to check out your Core Recovery Plan and see if that’s something I can work out.

    Thanks for sharing your struggles… I always find inspiration from your posts!

  3. Mary-Katherine Brooks Fleming November 3, 2011 at 3:20 PM #

    I love you! Thank you for your honesty! I’ve gained 35 now at 31 weeks and it is terrifying, but also difficult since we can’t burn 10,000 calories per week like we could pre-pregnancy. You are not alone, thank God you didn’t get plantar fasciitis like i did, or have to go on bedrest. Muscles have memory, i haveno doubt you’ll be back on track in time or Boston!

  4. Leslie November 3, 2011 at 3:21 PM #

    You’ll be amazed how much comes off just when you leave the hospital, count on at least 10lbs there, and with how active you’ve been and I’m sure will be I would be you’d be down 30lbs by 8 weeks pp. My midwife actually had to warn me to be cautious of how fast I lost weight after our 2nd child because she knew how active I was.
    I’m sure it is daunting and scary, but be patient with yourself. You’ll come home from the hospital lighter and overjoyed with your baby and to not be pregnant, but you’ll feel squishy, and you could for the first couple weeks. It’s not a fun feeling, but it will go away, you’ll thin down again, and be up and moving before you know it (and before 6 week pp if that’s what you want). I have approached running post partum kind of like as if I was just starting again, C25k ish. Walking only first week. Very short spurts of slow jogging mixed in with mostly walking second week, and gradually adding in more jogging to walking. You do want that pelvic floor to heal well, so do pay attention to how you feel during and after and how the bleeding is.

    • hauterunningmama November 3, 2011 at 3:39 PM #

      Totally agree with this 🙂 Baby, water and placenta easily takes off 10 lbs if not more. Taking it easy, adjusting to life as a mommy and recoverying (giving birth is NOT easy and the bod needs time) is so important. After that everything else will fall into place.

      So normal to feel anxious. (((hugs))))

      Come on baby, time to make your appearance!! Your parents want to meet you!!!

  5. running on faith November 3, 2011 at 3:21 PM #

    I was the same way. So, ready to have my old body back. I read somewhere 9 months up and nine months down. So, I know it is tough but after the baby comes just be patient with yourself Everyone is different and I know it seems impossible but once you get back into exercising you will be amazed at how your body is able to return to its normal size! You are so motivated to take care of yourself that you will have no trouble getting back into shape!

    • Katherine November 3, 2011 at 4:06 PM #

      I agree, be patient! And don’t get down on yourself if your body isn’t ready for running immediately after birth. I highly encourage you to spend some time in the pool, if you can. It’s a VERY effective way to get back in shape. Don’t forget to incorporate strength training, too. Most of all, be thankful that you just accomplished one of the most incredible things a person possibly can! You are blessed to be a mom.

  6. Laura November 3, 2011 at 3:27 PM #

    Oh Katie! I know it’s tough, but try not to worry about it. I gained 36 with Tyler and lost it all by 12 weeks post partum by doing NOTHING. No regular exercise, no healthy eating, nothing. Besides breastfeeding 🙂 Granted, my body wasn’t the “same” (it never will be, but it was pretty close by around 6 months when I started running/walking regularly again). This time I’m only 20 weeks and have gained more at this point than I did in my last pregnancy and I’m not stressing. It will come off like it did before! And–from one busty girl to another, I promise you’ll find relief there too. I started wearing my pre-pregnancy bras around 9 months postpartum when Tyler was nursing less frequently.

    I know it’s hard to see your body change/grow–but I promise, it will change back. It will. So try to believe me, okay? 🙂

  7. Nicole November 3, 2011 at 3:29 PM #

    You look so great!! I would never have guessed you gained 60 pounds!

    I am currently at 24 weeks and while the weight gain hasn’t been too much so far, my body feels so squishy in many areas. I had a mini freak-out last night about how my body is changing. Like you, I have never had to lose much weight in my life so the thought of putting on the weight and then losing it has me scared.

    It’s all for a good cause though right? That’s what I keep telling myself.

  8. nellie November 3, 2011 at 3:29 PM #

    I felt like you took my story and wrote it for everyone else!

    I am 32w and on course for around 60 pounds myself. The more the scale creeps up the more I ask myself how on earth am I going to do this….again?! I have also become a curvy mama as well.

    You will get there. You are motivated and knowledgable! You know exactly what it takes and you will be amazing. I will be following your journey!

  9. Lauren November 3, 2011 at 3:31 PM #

    Well, some of that 60 lbs is the actual baby, so that’ll be super easy to loose 🙂 Think of it more as 30-50 lbs to loose at least.

    I’ve never had a baby, but my friend that had her son last year was disappointed she didn’t loose the weight as quickly as she wanted. She also had trouble running again as soon as she wanted. She started training for a half marathon a month or two after the baby was born and during her 7 mile run, I think the quote was “I thought my uterus was going to fall out”. It may not happen as soon as you’d like but you’ll get there. She’s back to her old size and fitness level less than a year later. Good luck!

  10. Brigid November 3, 2011 at 3:43 PM #

    I am agreeing with all the others — you carry those 60 lbs well! You are glowing 🙂 I’m sure you will bounce right back into your fit ways. I can’t wait to hear about BabyKey2011! Best wishes!

  11. crystal November 3, 2011 at 3:48 PM #

    You look awesome! I love your lulu top that accommodates the belly, too! 🙂

    I was up 40lbs from my marathon weight, but the charts only said 27 or something since I had gained almost 10 lbs by my first dr appointment! For me, breastfeeding, walking/carrying the kid, and not really being able to eat a whole lot (b/c baby is demanding! lol) helped me take the weight off. I was back in my regular pants (but they were tight!) in 4 weeks, i think. I didn’t start running until after 6 weeks, and it wasn’t really a whole lot of running. I did run a half 5 months PP and PR’d! That was totally amazing. Since you have been running throughout your pregnancy, you will probably be faster post baby, too!

  12. Jenee November 3, 2011 at 4:34 PM #

    For you, I think you will easily drop the weight. You are very conscious and that is the majority of getting it done. You know this! Are you planning on trying to nurse? That will help. But if it’s not for you, that’s ok too! I admire the point that you are at right now mentally. I think ur doing an awesome job and can’t wait to see that beautiful baby that you are growing!

  13. Terzah November 3, 2011 at 5:07 PM #

    I’m a new follower–congrats on your pregnancy–you’re almost there.

    I gained 50 pounds with my pregnancy and lost 25 of it the day my kids were born (I have twins; they were only about 9 pounds total of the 25 pounds lost)–so I second the other people who say you will lose a lot right up front.

    Do be easy on yourself with this after the baby comes. You’ll be tired and while I’m jealous of the women who go out and run many many miles after giving birth, I wasn’t one of them by a long shot and now I’m OK with that. It comes back–it really does! You’ll figure out how fast it comes back to be right for you.

  14. Becky Jackson November 3, 2011 at 5:55 PM #

    You know that every mom has been through this. I gained 5 lbs with my first one, 75 with my second one and 45 with my third. I did not begin losing weight until my third was 7. At that time I lost a total of 52 lbs and have maintained it for 3 years. It can be done. The wonderful thing is that no one will expect you to lose the weight as quickly as you will expect yourself to lose the weight. We will superimpose our own unrealistic expectations upon ourselves as runners and women. Hang in there, love your boobs (as I’m sure your husband does) and everything else will just work out.

  15. ~K~ November 3, 2011 at 6:01 PM #

    Like someone else said, 9 months up, 9 months down! I gained 42 & 48 lbs with my babies, and sure it takes awhile, but you can do it! Besides what you lose in the hospital, I know breast feeding helped a lot by burning all those extra calories for months. And even better, taking care of that new little one helps you realize your weight isn’t your focus anymore…the baby is totally worth the gain and those stretch marks! 😉

  16. Lisa @ Crazy Adventures in Parenting November 3, 2011 at 7:58 PM #

    You are going to be JUST fine. You lose 10lbs, if not more, at birth. HOWEVER, 2-3 days later your milk comes in, and HELLO BREASTS! I know you don’t want ’em bigger, but they’re going to be. But that’s GOOD! Breastfeeding burns extra calories, so as soon as you can, get up and walkin’ and do it after you eat. (Eating burns calories/raises metabolism, and so does walking. Couple the two one after the next? Boom.)

    Meanwhile, you’ve kept up running this entire pregnancy, and probably have built up muscles to carry the extra weight on your frame, hence more of the weight gain than you were expecting. Try doing cardio, walking, and pilates/yoga to stretch out those bulkier muscles, to prevent them from bulking even more-so up. Eat less red meat, too, which tends to add bulk. Lean chicken, turkey, fish. 🙂

  17. Kimi November 3, 2011 at 8:40 PM #

    Don’t focus on the weight, focus on living the healthy, active life you normally live and you will be just fine. A friend of mine who is a stick and doesn’t exercise at all that I know of gained 80 pounds with both of her pregnancies and it all came off. Enjoy that butt while you have it!

  18. Jen November 3, 2011 at 9:04 PM #

    You can do it, Katie! You look gorgeous! I’m going to go over 35 lbs too. We’ve both had active pregnancies so these guidelines don’t make sense to me.

  19. MomsLittleRunningBud (@momslrb) November 3, 2011 at 9:37 PM #

    You are going to drop it so fast. I promise. This time last year, I had a 2 week old and had the same concerns. When I was pregnant I saw numbers on the scale I had NEVER seen. I had to remind myself of what that weight meant. A healthy little boy was hanging out in there.

    Hang in there…Here’s a couple posts that will hope to give you a little confidence. http://www.momslittlerunningbuddy.com/2010/11/5lbs-and-5-weeks.html
    http://www.momslittlerunningbuddy.com/2011/05/assessment-of-unintended-effects.html

  20. jessica (pace of me) November 4, 2011 at 8:43 AM #

    Hi Katie, I am new to your blog but have been following you on Twitter for a little while. First of all – congratulations and oh my goodness you look BEAUTIFUL! I am so excited for you!
    I am a Pilates teacher and an RRCA running coach and a mom of three. I had my third baby 9 months ago. I gained close to 50 pounds when I was pregnant with him (and actually with all three of my pregnancies I gained about this much!). I am a runner and also teach Pilates. Throughout the duration of my pregnancy I continued to run, walk and do Pilates as much as I could (towards the latter half of my pregnancy my runs were more run/walk combos and then basically just walking and also I had to modify the Pilates exercises as my belly grew). I hoped that because of this I would just “bounce back” after he was born. But there was no bouncing! It was H A R D. But I didn’t give up. I went for my first run on the treadmill – one mile – when baby Gus was 4 weeks old. I know everyone is different, and you are right some people can just jump right into it but they are the exception! Relaxin does a doozy on us, our abs are stretched out our pelvic floor is traumatized and weakened. I had a goal to run a 10 mile race when my baby was 10 weeks old – on my 35th birthday. I did it. I eased back into my running very carefully and listened to my body. I did Pilates every single day – very basic exercises – things that before my pregnancy were extremely easy for me. My baby is now 9 months old and I have completed 2 marathons since he was born – I have PR’d in every race distance since he was born. Big PRs. I have shaved almost 55 minutes off of my marathon time! I do not think that I am some kind of superwoman or freak of nature. What it has taken is determination, patience, listening to my body, and belief in myself. Dedication. Support from my family and lpved ones. It has taken a lot but Katie – it is possible! I am living proof! Also I am still nursing my baby 100%- he has not ever had formula. YOU CAN DO THIS. I know I am babbling here – but when I read this post it brought back so many familiar feelings for me. I wanted to share my story with you to assure you that it can be done -and to let you know I am here if you ever want to talk or anything at all. I have a blog and try to write about my story there – I am working on making it as awesome as yours and many of the other blogs I love to read! – because I want to share my story and hope to inspire and encourage others to believe in themselves and work towards their dreams. I know exactly how you are feeling and cannot wait to follow your journey!!! You are about to experience more joy than you can imagine!!!! SO excited for you!!! xxxooo

  21. jessica (pace of me) November 4, 2011 at 8:47 AM #

    oh and also I meant to tell you — about the weight loss. It does take time and believe it or not, your boobs WILL get bigger. Yikes, I know. But then they will get smaller again :o) I feel like it took me about 6 months to really lose all the weight.
    It’s funny – I feel like we have to have SO MUCH PATIENCE with our pregnant and postpartum bodies, but then once our baby is born we want to slow time down because they just grow up so quickly. I cannot believe my baby is 9 months old already. 9 months was sooooo slow when I was pregnant, but the time has zipped by since he was born!

  22. Kristyn Gunter (@KristynKG) November 4, 2011 at 9:18 AM #

    YOU LOOK GREAT!! I love the baby bump! I carried very similar to you-all belly and boobs. I gained a little over 30 lbs with my first (9lb7oz) and about 25 with my second (8lb2oz). I started each pregnancy about 30 lbs overweight. I actually had lost all of the “baby weight” with the first before he was 3 weeks, and with the second it was all gone by 8 days postpartum. Crazy! But I can tell you, I came home from the hospital weighing the same as when I went in (IV’s and c-sections will do that to you apparently). And while all the baby weight was gone in no time, I am still no where near my pre-pregnancy body (15 months after the 2nd one). I think that is a direct result of having 2 c-sections though. As long as you continue to focus on making healthy choices for you and Baby Key and listen to your body, you will do great. Try not to concentrate on the number on the scale, because it will go down eventually 🙂 We can’t wait to “meet” the little guy!

  23. Sara November 4, 2011 at 10:46 AM #

    Katie, you look so beautiful! Make sure you take it easy on yourself, lady.

    I gained 60, 45, and am on target for 30-ish with this pregnancy (I’m 37 weeks now). I got back to the same starting weight after the first two (eventually — it took a full year/being done with nursing both times). And I expect I will have a similar experience this time.

    Since you’ve been running/jogging/wogging throughout your pregnancy, your knees/ankles/feet will be fine for running after the bebe — they’ve adjusted to carrying your extra weight.

    However, your nether regions are going to need a little bit to get themselves back together. I remember the first time I ran after having my oldest daughter, I thought my uterus was going to wind up somewhere around my knees. :/

    You’re so close! Best of luck for a healthy, happy delivery.

  24. Yanni Robel November 4, 2011 at 11:30 AM #

    Let me just say – you look absolutely awesome with for 39 weeks! I’m your new fans, stumbled into your blog last night and LOVED it! You have a way with words! I’m a new runner (just get into this running thing last summer) and still don’t know about a lot of things! Did my first half-marathon on Portland a few weeks ago, and am training for my first full on WDW this coming Jan.

    I gained 60lbs with my first pregnancy, lost 40lbs within the first 3 months (I’m a mountaineer and avid hiker) and I gained another 40lbs with my second pregnancy. Now, I’m “almost” back to my ideal weight! I didn’t do much after delivery, so that might have a lot of things to do with it! 🙂 I don’t think that will be an issue for you!

    All the best for you and healthy delivery!

  25. Jenny @ Simply Be...me November 4, 2011 at 4:41 PM #

    Attitude means a lot when it comes to losing weight after baby and I think you have the right one. I am still 25 lbs from my pre-pregnancy weight and my son is already two! The fact of the matter is I was lazy 🙂 Now I am working hard to get back there so I can, fingers crossed, do it all over again! Best of luck with the arrival of your little one – enjoy every minute of it!

  26. Katrina Pietromica (@kpietromica) November 4, 2011 at 8:09 PM #

    You look beautiful Katie and you carry an “extra” 60 lbs. very well! The weight will come off before you know it. I was in the hospital for 3 days when I had my son (8 lbs., 14 ozs) and I left 30 lbs lighter than before. So much comes off with breastfeeding that I was almost down to pre-pregnancy weight within a month or two. I gained it all back from bad habits in the following years, but I don’t think you’ll have that problem 🙂 Have faith that your body knows what’s best and you’re pretty good at listening to your body. Enjoy your last few days of precious intimacy with your baby in utero and those amazing first days as a mother. Your whole life will change in an instant and all these things will be different forever. Enjoy your experience with Baby Key and daddy!

  27. bostonrockgirl November 5, 2011 at 9:44 AM #

    Like others said, you will probably lose anywhere from 8-15lbs immediately after giving birth. And just think about all the extra resistance/strength training you will be doing if you plan to bring Baby Key along (in a jogging stroller) on some of your post-preg runs.

  28. Glynnis Thompson (@geebear003) November 5, 2011 at 2:28 PM #

    Don’t worry about it. Like you, I ran through out my pregnancy. I was in great shape before I got pregnant in pretty good shape throughout my pregnancy and hit the ground hard after my daughter was born. I was pre-baby weight by the time my daughter was 6 months old.

    It just takes hard work and determination. I think you have both of those. You will be fine!

  29. Tara November 5, 2011 at 7:23 PM #

    I’ve been reading your blog the past few months and one of the things I really enjoy about it is your honesty. I love is post because it is so real. By the way, you look fantastic! I hope to one day be as beautiful as you are at 39-plus weeks!

  30. tiffany November 5, 2011 at 9:20 PM #

    You look gorgeous and I would never be able to tell that you have gained 60 lbs! You’ll bounce back in no time 🙂 Good Luck!

  31. Ann November 6, 2011 at 7:35 PM #

    I #Love this post for numerous reasons:
    1. You are totally beautiful (in a non-creepy way).
    2. You are telling the truth about pregnancy and weight gain, which not a lot of women do.
    3. You are giving real #’s, including your weight (see #2).
    4. You are helping people like me, who one day will have a baby, have realistic expectations about the entire process.

    Thank you. Thanks for being you, and for being so open and honest. Now, get that baby out!!!

  32. Andrea November 7, 2011 at 6:11 PM #

    You look fantastic! And sometimes our bodies gain what they need regardless of ranges we “should” be in. I gained almost as much with my singleton than I did with mt twins and have accepted that’s just what my body does with pregnancy. (Didn’t help that I had to eat to have a lessening of the constant nausea for 15-20 min). Sometimes we have the best laid out plans and pregnancy throws us for a loop. Baby will do the same. Embrace the spontaneity.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. It’s time for a full-body overhaul. « - April 23, 2012

    […] back when I was pregnant, and I was expressing my fear of losing the weight post-baby, my family and friends did their best to keep me optimistic by telling me, “Oh, you are so […]

Leave a Reply

