Gifts for Runners, Part I

1 Nov

Do you hear that? No? Well, around this house, it is the sound of holiday music! Yes, yes…I know it is ONLY November 1st, but I just cannot help but getting excited about the holidays! Each year, I try to put a lot of thought into the gifts that I purchase for my family and friends. For runners, there are SO many cool and novel products on the market and I would like to share some of the things I have seen that I think would make awesome gifts! Each week I will try and feature 5 of my favorite or coolest products I have found. Some of them will be products that I personally have or have tried, while others may be things I have seen that I love and are also on my Wish List!

So, without further ado…let’s get started!

1.   Race Medal Display:   Allied Medal Display
Price: Varies
I have searched high and low for a quality medal display and I wholeheartedly think that the selection at Allied Medal Display is the best! I actually first saw them over at Endurance Isn’t Only Physical and I fell in love with them! Not only can you select one of their stock designs, but if you are so inclined, you can even order one custom-made with your text and/or design! Too cool! All of the displays are cut from brushed stainless steel so they are definitely sturdy enough to hold all of your race bling! I love my custom display, but of the stock displays, I think the “PR” one is pretty darn awesome!


2.   Race Jewelry:   Erica Sara Designs
Price: Varies
I originally found Erica Sara on Twitter and once I heard she made race jewelry, I knew I had to check it out. I was so impressed! Her designs are truly beautiful and she offers selections for women and men. For the ladies, the “Born To Do This” necklace is my favorite and for the gentlemen, the 26.2 Cufflinks are super swanky and would look fantastic for any holiday party! If you get some time, also check out her blog…its fun!


3.   Book:   The Accidental Athlete by John “The Penguin” Bingham
Price: $16.95 (from Amazon.com)
An Accidental Athlete is the story of Bingham’s unlikely transformation from couch potato to adult-onset athlete. Inspiring, poignant, hilarious, and heartbreaking, An Accidental Athlete celebrates the unexpected joys of running – the pride of the finisher’s medal a bureau-busting t-shirt collection, intense back-of-the-pack strategizing. And one man’s revelation that middle age wasn’t the finish line at all, but only the beginning.” ~ Competitor Magazine, October 2011

4.   Gear:   Yurbuds
Price: $29.99 – $59.99
Yurbuds are sport headphones that feature a unique twist-and-lock technology. Their shape allows the earbud to fit farther down in the ear, providing better sound quality and securing the fit inside the ear. Bouncing around from running will not dislodge these babies! I first saw these back in the spring at a Rock and Roll Marathon expo and I was so impressed by them! While in the booth, I had the chance to speak with several people who owned them and they all said they had really great experiences while wearing them. Since I am a sweaty girl, one of my favorite features of these earbuds is that they are sweat and water resistant. You can even run in the rain with them!

5.   Therapy:   Foot Log
Price: $19.95
The Foot Log is specifically designed relax muscles and joints of the foot and to help massage the fluids back to the heart. This is an especially helpful product for runners. After a long run, the bottom of the foot needs to be stimulated at its reflex points in order to reduce pain. All you have to do is place the Foot Log on the floor and roll your foot back and forth across it, concentrating on the heels, the arches, and the toes. The Foot Log is small and convenient to pack, so you can take it with you when you travel or even use it at work!

Are you already getting in the holiday spirit? Have you already started thinking about holiday gifts? What are your favorite gifts and gadgets for runners?

10 Responses to “Gifts for Runners, Part I”

  1. Tiffany November 1, 2011 at 5:27 PM #

    I got my first medal this past weekend! I can definitely see myself asking for something to hang that and future ones for Christmas.

  2. tavalava November 1, 2011 at 6:17 PM #

    I put the race medal display on my list back when you first tweeted about it! The Foot Log looks very intriguing.

  3. Vanessa (@IsleStyleLiving) November 1, 2011 at 6:47 PM #

    Ooooo I like those earbuds!

    I’ve been looking for new ones. And like you, I need something that is sweat resistant and of course doesn’t fall out =)

    I’m going to put that on my wishlist!

  4. Carrie Shaw November 1, 2011 at 9:42 PM #

    These are all super cool! I think I have to have that foot log and an allied medal display!

  5. Vanessa (@IsleStyleLiving) November 1, 2011 at 9:49 PM #

    PS. I awarded you the Liebster Award on my blog for being so inspirational to me.

    http://www.islestyleliving.blogspot.com

    Not sure if this is “your thing” but just wanted to let you know I love your blog!

  6. Toni Carey November 1, 2011 at 10:10 PM #

    Love, love, love the medal display!

    • katieRUNSthis November 2, 2011 at 12:26 PM #

      Isn’t it the coolest!? I think you definitely need BGR! ones!!

  7. Angela Lowry (@angela_lowry) November 2, 2011 at 12:05 PM #

    Thanks for the ideas. Love the cuff links! I’m going to check out her designs.

  8. Ann November 2, 2011 at 5:39 PM #

    Bookmarking this. LOVE IT!!!!

  9. Suzanne November 2, 2011 at 10:54 PM #

    I want one of the medal displays so bad and I think Santa may have to bring me that this year!

Leave a Reply

