Life Marathon Relay: Leg 1 (Moving)

23 Oct

My blogging mini-vacay is OVER! While it was needed in order to start getting settled, I did miss it. This week has been pretty eventful with the BIG MOVE and all and it seems like we are settling in pretty well.  We still have lots of organizing to do but that is such a massive undertaking that we are just doing the best we can.  Its just the two of us and with my limited mobility, we can only go so fast.  

When I got my new job here in Louisiana, part of my benefits package was relocation. My company sent a moving company to our place to pack everything up and move it 700 miles.  While the thought of not having to pack and haul our stuff sounded totally thrilling, I guess I didn’t really understand how movers/packers do what they do.

They pack and wrap…EVERYTHING.  And I mean EVERYTHING.  

In going through our things, we found boxes of canned goods (all expired, of course) where each can was individually wrapped. It was outrageous.  We have spent so much time just weeding out all of our “real stuff” from all of the fluff stuff. Oh, and did I mention that they didn’t mark ANYTHING appropriately? For example, we came across a box labeled “BEADS” (for a Mardi Gras-loving LA girl, this is not uncommon).  On a whim, we decided to open it just to check to see what was inside.  It was full of…books?? Not a pair of beads in sight.  This is when we realize that IF a box was actually labeled…that label could certainly NOT be trusted.  This means that EVERY box had to be reopened to see what was actually inside.  

The good thing about this long and tedious process is that we have (slowly, but surely) been going through The Great Purge (it really deserves its own geologic era).  We have been getting rid of things left and right, donating as much as possible to Goodwill or our church and tossing the rest.  I am really bad about hanging on to things (though not at all to the point of hoarding) but forcing myself to get rid of unneeded things and make more room for Baby Key is a great feeling. While I did manage to purge a ton of race t-shirts, I did manage to get all of my running clothes organized. It feels so good!

Race Tech Tees!


Running Singlets!


Normally, for big projects like this, I approach it with a whirlwind effort…you know, just working, working, working as fast as possible until everything is perfectly in place and as it should be.  However, I have finally had to listen to my body and let it dictate what I could and could not do. I know I have said this before, but it is incredibly humbling.  

The last time I felt completely at the mercy of my legs and feet like this was during training for my last marathon.  After three days of being on my feet, standing over a work table in our garage, unpacking boxes, my lower extremities were sore and starting to swell.  By the evening of the third day, every step felt squishy and sore. I had trouble even pulling my legs under my hips.  I remembered that feeling.  That was the feeling of doing too much and pushing too hard.

Understanding your limits is important.  In hindsight, I should have been taking more breaks; I should have been allowing myself some time to rest.  True to my “nothing done half-way” attitude, I pushed too hard.  I have been known to this in the past with my run workouts/training and not listened to my body when it said STOP.  Ignoring my body in previous situations led to injuries.  Unfortunately, being nearly 38 weeks pregnant, there is a lot more at stake than some sore muscles and achy joints.  I have two of us to take care of now.  I just have to take it easy.  

Okay, okay, Body…I hear you loud and clear. Lesson learned!

I'm ready for the Life Marathon.


What has YOUR body been teaching lately? Better yet, have you been listening?

5 Responses to “Life Marathon Relay: Leg 1 (Moving)”

  1. Concrete Runner October 23, 2011 at 7:35 PM #

    Ha, interesting question for me to answer right now. All I can do is listen to my body right now as I am recovering from my c-section. Being limited on pretty much any + all activity (not lifting anything that weighs more than my baby, no driving, no vacuuming, no laundry, no stairs) I am finding is not difficult as I get light headed standing for more than a few minutes. As much as I want to get things done around the house, I am definitely listening to my body more than ever and RESTING as much as possible. Oh, and caring for a newborn!

  2. Jenn @ Running Jennie October 23, 2011 at 7:58 PM #

    My body is saying REST so my knee can get 100% better. I keep running when it’s 85% better and setting myself back. I’m trying to listen more.

    When my partner moved with movers, they even packed parts of his oven which I think were supposed to stay in the oven in the rental apartment he was leaving behind!

  3. Suzanne October 24, 2011 at 2:29 PM #

    Glad to hear you guys are starting to get settled. I can’t even imagine moving while pregnant! I love the quote “The finish line is only the beginning”. I had that put on a BondiBand I wore for my first 15K. Hope you are feeling more rested today!

  4. Kelli the FumbyGirl (@fumby_girl) October 27, 2011 at 8:40 AM #

    This is something I’ve had to learn this week. I have hip problems. My trainer and I are working to build up my hip flexor muscles, but in the process, it’s becoming REALLY hard not to press for those 5 or 6 miles that I’ve been aiming for and instead stopping at 3 or 4. I was working out last night on the elliptical and I was supposed to stop at 3 since I’m supposed to be taking it easy, but I looked down and had gone 4.2 miles already. This morning, I can tell I went too far. As a result, I know I’m going to be restricted today in what I’m going to be able to do tonight. So, yeah. I needed to hear this. I have to start listening to my body more. I have plenty of energy. I just can’t push my hip much further than where it is now.

  5. Karen :0) October 28, 2011 at 8:29 PM #

    Wow…the even wrapped the can goods? That’s crazy!! I love that feeling of throwing lots of stuff away and de-cluttering!

Leave a Reply

