Big Changes Are Afoot!

18 Oct

By now, if you have been keeping up with katieRUNSthis (and I hope you have!) you know that I am now only weeks (yes, WEEKS) away from bringing Baby Key into the world. Luckily, a lot of the nerves I had about the whole process are subsiding and I really feel like we are ready. I have read all the books, perused the parenting magazines that inundate my mailbox daily, and made lists upon lists of questions for my doctors, consultants, etc. Plus, I have still been keeping up with my running jogging wogging on an almost daily basis and still been managing about 15 miles per week! WOOT! Dare I say…

We are ready.

Well, as ready as we are going to get. I mean, really, are you ever ready ready?

But, that is not the only BIG STUFF we have going on these days. We are moving! Are we crazy? Just a little bit…okay, a lot.

Ever since we moved from South Carolina to Louisiana we have been on the hunt for the perfect place. Our move here was quick, due to my new job wanting me to start right away and we always knew the place we moved into when we got here was only temporary. Our original goal, of course, was to purchase a home. Then Baby Key completely surprised us. The money we had been socking away for a house down payment went to buy new furniture, clothes, diapers, and all kinds of other baby things. Of course we didn’t mind, because we were finally blessed with the child we had wanted for so long.

However, with Baby Key coming, we had a decision to make. Do you we ride out our temporary but living situation until Baby Key is born, or do we move into a nicer, roomier apartment? Knowing that being pregnant/having a newborn would make things more complicated, we knew we really wanted a first floor place. Unfortunately, first floor apartments do not come open very often so we got on every waiting list we could.

Last week, we got the call! An apartment complex, which is really more like a home, had a first floor unit that was available. We knew we had to jump on it ASAP! Moving this close to when the baby is set to arrive is super crazy, but we know that things will be better for us in the long run. We are very excited to have a special, homier place for our little family.

Here are some photos of our new place:

Oooooooh!


Aaaaaaaaah!

Oh, and did I mention the other amenities and features of our new place?
• 10,000 square foot fitness center with an on-site personal trainer for residents to use!
• Beautiful playground
• Nature trail for walking/running
• Super gorgeous pool (which I will take FULL advantage of next spring and summer)
• An attached garage with LOTS of outdoor storage! Plenty of space for our bikes, outdoor gear, etc.!

Lastly, I have decided to start helping out with my husband’s business. He owns a print and promotional media company and I am going to help him out with some of his clients while I am on maternity leave. Lucky for us, many of his clients are race directors, marathons, half marathons, or other sports-related companies so working with them will be easy! Talk about clients that are right up my alley!

SHAMELESS PLUG ALERT: If you are a race director or have a business that needs ANY kind of custom logo or promotional products, drop me a line! We are always looking for new clients and if you are reading this, you already qualify as awesome. If you are even curious if we could help you out or source something for you, just drop me a line and at least ask!

So, that is where my life falls today.

What can I say…I guess I am not happy unless I have a million things happening. Being a mover and a shaker, I am an ALL OR NOTHING kind of girl! Let’s just keep our fingers crossed that we can pull all of this off.

Diving in head first! Let’s do this!

How are YOU doing today? Do YOU have any big plans or life changes coming up soon?

15 Responses to “Big Changes Are Afoot!”

  1. Katherine October 18, 2011 at 11:25 AM #

    So many exciting things coming up for you guys! Glad everything is working out, just in time for Baby Key!

    • katieRUNSthis October 18, 2011 at 11:37 AM #

      Thanks, Katherine! We have really been needing our own space and we are so thankful that after almost a year, things seem to finally be falling into place for us. We are blessed!

  2. workoutmommy October 18, 2011 at 11:32 AM #

    that place looks/sounds awesome! So exciting!!

  3. Heather October 18, 2011 at 11:38 AM #

    wow what a big change right before baby, but I am so happy for you girl!

  4. Katie Heddleston October 18, 2011 at 11:38 AM #

    SO excited for you!!

    We are actually going to be moving before Baby H. arrives as well — but our move is states away and will require me to switch doctors and everything. I’ll be about 6 months when we move. I’m a little nervous to find new doctors, etc — but it’s all very exciting times!

  5. Karlee Rose Martinez October 18, 2011 at 11:46 AM #

    You’ll do and be great! I moved during 2 of my pregnancies (I have 4 kids) and it wasn’t so bad. People make you take breaks and help as much as possible. I bet it’s difficult for you to make yourself stop for breaks but make sure you rest–before and after baby. What a fun and exciting time! I continue to be impressed by all you do.

  6. running on faith October 18, 2011 at 12:12 PM #

    Wow, a move and a baby on the way! You are one busy mama to be! I hope the move goes smoothly and you are able to get a little settled before Baby Key makes his arrival. Keep us posted, I will have to meet you and bring you some dinner once the baby comes!

  7. Suzanne October 18, 2011 at 12:33 PM #

    The new place looks gorgeous! You are going to looove that nice bathroom!

  8. Lani Yearicks (@armytbonegirl) October 18, 2011 at 1:00 PM #

    You can totally do it!! A friend of mine moved from New York to somewhere out west with 5 kids. Oh, and she was 39 weeks pregnant when they did it. And she had to drive the van with the kids while her hubby drove the moving truck. Just saying. . . 🙂 Glad you found a place that you’ll love. The fitness center sounds awesome!

  9. Corrina @ Mama Needs to Run October 18, 2011 at 2:14 PM #

    Wow, what an incredible complex and amenities! A few years ago, we ended up buying a house right before I had our 3rd child. We had to take about 3 weeks to get it liveable and I was 36.5 wks pregnant when we moved in. And then 4 days later, my baby decided she wanted to see the new house too! Talk about whirlwind!! I had a babysitter finding my baby clothes in boxes & washing them for me while I was at the hospital getting ready to have the baby. Good luck with everything, and sounds exciting!

  10. Katie @ The Mommy Miles October 18, 2011 at 9:05 PM #

    That is so exciting! A fitness center! Hello! I am so excited for you all. I, along with lots of other followers, are anxiously awaiting news on baby. I hope you’ll post your birth story! I LOVE birth stories! But hopefully he/she (do you know?) stays in there until he/she is ready to appear. No rush. And it’s your first baby so just expect it will be arriving around 41/42 weeks 🙂 (sorry, I am a doula and have to drop things like that in!)

  11. @Heather2run October 18, 2011 at 9:33 PM #

    Katie, I am so HAPPY for you! The new place looks great and the amenities sound Amazing! So many good things going on, and it will only get better. And a little crazier. ;-). Wishing you all the best. You inspire me.

  12. Jessica A (@cajunrunnerjess) October 19, 2011 at 6:40 AM #

    The new place looks great! Congrats on finding something with so many awesome features!

  13. Kristyn Gunter (@KristynKG) October 19, 2011 at 9:51 AM #

    New places are so fun! And the amenities sound FABULOUS!! I have been wondering, are you still working at the chemical plant or did you take an early maternity leave? maybe i missed an announcement and you quit to be a stay at home mom? Just being nosey 🙂 I hope yall get settled easily so everything is ready for Baby Key!

  14. Julie (A Case of the Runs) October 25, 2011 at 11:46 AM #

    Congrats on the changes, and I really do mean the “congrats.” It takes courage to make these sorts of decisions, and I think you will be better off for them!

Leave a Reply

