Gulf Coast Half Marathon Expo

8 Oct

I have had so much fun volunteering at the expo for the Gulf Coast Half Marathon the last two days!  The last several years, I have been so involved in racing that I have not done a lot of volunteering.  The Gulf Coast Half Marathon Series is a great series of races and since I could not run this year, I definitely wanted to find some way to stay involved.  Plus, so many of my #RunLA fam will be at this event, I knew that I could not pass up being involved in some capacity!

Here are some things you get to do when volunteer for a race expo…

You help race newbies figure out the process…

You help people find their race number and get their packet…

You tell awesome people about upcoming races…

You show off the cool race medal (BLING!) and get people super excited about the race…

You hang out with cool vendors…who may or may not also happen to be your friends… 🙂

You hand out t-shirts…

If you are in Louisiana and there is an LSU game, you listen to the game in the background (GEAUX TIGERS!)…
…and that just scratches the surface!  You are also a safety pin finder, question answerer, and all-around friendly, smiling face!

So far, it has been a great day!  Tomorrow will start early but I can’t wait!  Lots of the #RunLA fam will be racing tomorrow and I can’t wait to cheer them on!  My cowbell is ready!

Do you volunteer for races?  What is your favorite job as a race volunteer?

6 Responses to “Gulf Coast Half Marathon Expo”

  1. Karen :0) October 8, 2011 at 4:18 PM #

    Love it!!! It was great meeting you! See you tomorrow!

    We need more cowbell! lol

  2. Gemma October 8, 2011 at 6:42 PM #

    Nice. I agree that if you can’t run, just being there in some capacity is the next best thing, and if you get to help people and make friends along the way, even better. Have fun tomorrow!

  3. Beki - Wild Child Gone Good October 9, 2011 at 8:13 PM #

    I have volunteered a couple times for the Vineman triathlon. It was an amazing experience! It made me realize how important volunteers are!

  4. heather October 11, 2011 at 12:02 PM #

    Woo hoo! So nice to finally meet you! Had a blast!

  5. crystal October 13, 2011 at 11:51 AM #

    I saw your pic on runningwithsass, and had to check out your blog because I liked your lululemon shirt and you are a preggo runner! 🙂 I’ve just subbed to your blog because it has great info! Good luck with the rest of your pregnancy!

    • katieRUNSthis October 13, 2011 at 1:10 PM #

      Awww, thank you…for both coming by and subscribing! You are too kind! I hope that you enjoy reading katieRUNSthis as much as I enjoy writing it!! There are only a few more weeks of my pregnancy and I can’t wait to get to running WITHOUT the baby belly! 🙂

Leave a Reply

