Things October Brings

3 Oct

October is, by far, my favorite month! Even though Christmas is my favorite holiday, the month of October always seems to bring extra special things. This year, it brings extra EXTRA special things! Here are just a few reasons why October is a good month…

Breast Cancer Awareness Month
I am a huge supporter of Susan G. Komen for the Cure and have participated at many levels in several chapters of this organization. I have run in more Race for the Cure 5k races than I can even remember, have walked in five 3-Day for the Cure events, and have crewed one 3-Day for the Cure event. In fact, I am even in a promotional video for the 3-Day for the Cure! Granted, I am in it for 0.27 milliseconds, but hey, I am in there! Breast cancer is a disease that has personally affected my family and I do everything I can to help support finding a cure for it. I secretly fear that one day I will be diagnosed, as I am in a genetic “high risk” category. However, I do the best I can to help keep my body strong and healthy by eating right and getting exercise so that I am able to handle anything that may or may not come in the future. I believe that all the research being done to find a cure is worthwhile and I believe that we will see a world without breast cancer. Every woman deserves a lifetime!

The Saints love tatas, too!


Dropping Temperatures and Fall Fun
October ushers in wonderful things like cool snaps, decreasing temperatures and fall festivals. While I realize that Autumn technically starts in September, it is during the month of October that I really feel like fall is upon us. Leaves start turning and falling off the trees and I can hear the crunch of them as I shuffle down the sidewalk. Oh, and pumpkin-flavored menu items start showing up on restaurant menus and in grocery stores. Even though I know it is super healthy, I am not a HUGE fan of pumpkin. I do, however, love me some roasted pumpkin seeds!

Halloween and Costumed Races
Really, do I need to say anymore? Aren’t we all just big kids inside? Who doesn’t love the costumes, the candy, and the spooky (cheesy) Halloween soundtracks!? C’mon, you know you love it when Monster Mash is played on the radio! Halloween is my second favorite holiday of the whole year and I literally start planning my costumes (yes, PLURAL) for the parties I will be attending and the races I will be running MONTHS in advance. In fact, I have a whole post dedicated to some of my favorite running costumes coming later this week, so be on the look out for that!

Race Volunteering
I have promised my husband no more races until after Baby Key arrives. While I know when to stop or slow down when running on my own, all of that common sense flies right out the window when I am in a race environment. My pack mentality completely takes over and my uber competitive monster rears its ugly head. So, to prevent myself from overdoing it, I am going to be volunteering at several local races so that I can stay active in my running community! Plus, it is super fun to support others and experience a race in a different way!

…and last but certainly NOT least…in fact, this is the MOST EXCITING thing this October brings…

Baby Key
Yep, it is highly likely that Baby Key will have an October birthday! YOWZA! Picture me with my eyeballs bugging out of their sockets because that is pretty much what I look like ALL THE TIME these days. While technically my due date is not until November 7th, my doctor has informed me that women who remain very active during pregnancy (read = women like ME) typically deliver one to two weeks early because their bodies are pretty much just “ready to go.” Trust me, this body is DEFINITELY ready to go! Let’s get this show on the road and let this mama-to-be get back to running…with the Baby Jogger, of course!

What does October bring to you? Do you have anything special or fun going on this month?

10 Responses to “Things October Brings”

  1. Concrete Runner October 3, 2011 at 1:12 PM #

    Just letting you know – very active pregnant chick over here, and still preggo at 39 weeks! 🙂 But, I hope you do go early. It’s HARD to wait!

  2. Kristyn G October 3, 2011 at 1:16 PM #

    I love the first cool snap that comes through every october. certainly puts me in the mood to pull out the fall decorations and start thinking about Thanksgiving and Christmas. this October is going to be super fun as it is starting with the laying of bricks on our new house and should wrap up with the guys starting the interior painting!! but nothing is as exciting as the anticipation of that first little one in the house! just make sure to enjoy this time left as just the two of you because it will never be just yall ever again 🙂

  3. Heather @ Side of Sneakers October 3, 2011 at 2:04 PM #

    I’ve never heard active women deliver earlier! I’m due 1/31, but I’ve been convincing myself it’ll be a February baby- maybe I don’t need to be so sure about that. 😉

    • katieRUNSthis October 3, 2011 at 2:42 PM #

      Maybe not! I guess we should be prepared either way since NOTHING is 100%! Besides, babies come when they are ready…not when the doctor says they will! 🙂

  4. Suzanne October 3, 2011 at 3:16 PM #

    These are so many of my favorite things in October too! We are big Breast Cancer Awareness supporters in our house. I swear I’m going to have to stay away from all the stores until the month is out-pink things and Halloween candy are my weakness right now! Fingers crossed that Baby Key will be an October baby!

  5. hauterunningmama October 3, 2011 at 5:23 PM #

    Ahhhh yyeeeaaaahhh!! I say you should have your bags packed because you just never know when baby will decide to make a grand entrance. So very exciting!

    I too love October. I am a big pumpkin fan and love incorporating it into different recipes.

    My kids are running a race in costume in 2 weeks and they are so excited!

    • katieRUNSthis October 3, 2011 at 5:35 PM #

      I know!! I am so excited/nervous/scared/happy/anxious….all at once!! 🙂

      Too cute! What are they going dressed as?

  6. Dawn October 3, 2011 at 6:38 PM #

    For my own sake, I hope your doctor is right about active women delivering 1-2 weeks early! I’m due 10/23, but I am ready now!

    October is a great month — here in the Pacific Northwest fall is the best time of year for running!

  7. Run with Jess October 3, 2011 at 10:24 PM #

    Aw, great ultrasound pix!! Oct is my bday too, also my fav month of the year!

  8. Jessica A (@cajunrunnerjess) October 4, 2011 at 6:47 AM #

    I love October too! My baby is not due until April so I have a long way to go! I hope your baby gets an October birth date!!

Leave a Reply

