My Running “Stuff” Drawer

2 Oct

I have always heard that near the end of their pregnancy that women start “nesting”…you know, cleaning things out, getting clothes and closets organized, doing all the last minute details before the baby arrives. My impression of nesting is that it is sort of like spring cleaning…on steroids. From what I have heard from my friends (and their husbands) is that when the nesting vibe hits you, husbands had better just stay out of the way.

These days, energy hits me in waves and throughout the day my level of energy can literally go up and down like a rollercoaster. One minute I feel like I have been hit by a semi and I can do nothing but lay down and clothes my eyes, and then half an hour later I am up bopping about my house as if it was just any other day. After the LSU game yesterday, I got another one of these bursts of energy. Since I am never sure of when the next one will come, I have to take advantage of them. You know what that means…off to the bedroom to clean out my running gear!

(I realize that some women would take this opportunity to clean out bathroom closets, kitchen cabinets, etc., but you can clearly see where my priorities are.)

I decided to start with my running “stuff” drawer. Think of it as the equivalent of the kitchen junk drawer…but just for my running/cycling/triathlon stuff. I dumped it out on my bed and got to work. It took me about 3.7 seconds before I realized that I had a lot of stuff…maybe too much stuff? Just for kicks, I decided to take inventory of what has been hiding in the three drawers of my nightstand. It’s a doozy! This is all stuff that I have amassed over the years, either by purchasing, picking up at race expos, or in race goodie bags. In no particular order, here is a list of what I found…

1 x ASICS arm warmers
1 x Zensah compression calf sleeves
1 x CEP Compression calf sleeves
1 x Running Skirts RunLove compression socks
1 x Tommie Copper compression calf sleeves
3 x Nike running gloves (No, not 3 pairs, just 3 gloves. Hmmm….)
1 x ToeSox Grip Gloves
1 x Tommie Copper compression ankle sleeves
2 x fleece ear warmers
2 x running headbands
2 x stay cool neckbands
3 x fleece winter running hats
2 x dri-wicking running visors
1 x dri-wicking running hat

3 x cowbells (Gotta have more cowbell!)
2 x headphones
1 x winter running gaiter
2 x mp3 player (Sony and iPod)
1 x Sony mp3 player charger
1 x Camelbak Chill Jacket Holder
1 x Garmin Forerunner 405
1 x Garmin Forerunner 405 charger
1 x Garmin Heart Rate Monitor
1 x Garmin Foot Pod
3 x race number/personal item belts
4 x running sunglasses
1 x KT Tape
2 x swim caps
1 x bike seat cover
1 x swimming goggles
1 x runDisney Princess Team in Training tiara (essential to running, of course!)
1 x TrekWomen bike pouch
1 x Succeed! SCaps
2 x vitamin/capsule holders (for long runs)

1 x Princeton Tec head lamp
1 x LAVA magazine
1 x DLO iPod/iPhone arm band
3 x DVDs (marathon photos, cycling tips)
1 x blinkie light for night running
1 x carrabiner
2 x race koozies
3 x race/awareness bracelets
1 x head sweatband
1 x wrist sweatband
1 x GO Sport ID
8 x GO Sport ID silicone bands
7 x GO Sport ID fabric bands

2 x Nuun tablets
4 x Clif Bloks
3 x Gu Brew
3 x Gu Brew tablets
2 x Gu Chomps
1 x Nutrilite Endurance Cubes
1 x Cytomax Performance Drink
4 x Nutrilite ROC2O Powder
2 x PowerBar gel
1 x Hammer gel
6 x Gu Energy Labs Roctane gel
17 x Gu Energy Labs gel
…and more stickers and decals than I even cared to count…

This is not normal, is it? Surely it can’t be. I mean, really…this is a problem, right? I am convinced it I expose myself, maybe I can get this thing under control. Oh, and this does not even scratch the surface on the number of water bottles I have. More on THAT can be found here. Is there any hope for me??

Do you have a running “stuff” drawer? What kinds of things do you keep in there?

17 Responses to “My Running “Stuff” Drawer”

  1. Christine (@FruitNSeason) October 2, 2011 at 1:36 PM #

    That is just fantastic! I want a running drawer with that much stuff! LOL Guess I gotta pay my dues first. 🙂 Right now my stuff (much less than yours, for now) is scattered in different places- hanging on hooks, in pouches in the over-the-door shoe hanger, etc. Must remedy that!

  2. Jina October 2, 2011 at 1:53 PM #

    That is an incredibly impressive stash! I want more running stuff, too!

  3. Suzanne October 2, 2011 at 2:33 PM #

    I love it! Having all that running stuff means that you’ve ran some amazing races, set some killer PRs, and made memories that will last a lifetime. I think it’s great!

  4. Jimi Dodge (@JimDog) October 2, 2011 at 3:53 PM #

    Wow. Nice. Nothing to be embarrassed about and no need to fix anything! I have a running drawer too, albeit MUCH much smaller than yours 🙂

  5. Lori (@girllearner) October 2, 2011 at 3:58 PM #

    I have a running “cart”…one drawer, a basket, a cabinet. Not as much stuff as yours but working on it! 🙂 I love my running cart. Just opening the drawer and seeing my race bibs, training plans, heart rate monitor, watches, gels, etc. makes me smile. I never thought I’d actually become a runner but looking at all the stuff makes me realize that, somewhere along the line, I became a runner.

  6. Precious Capreol (@pcapreol) October 2, 2011 at 4:01 PM #

    Wow – great stash! Can you let me know which compression sleeves you like best? I have Zensah and ran 6mi today and they fell down twice.. So I was looking up both CEP and Tommy Copper and I’m curious which you like best? Also, what’s the pro/cons to using sleeves vs. compression socks? I am running with the sleeves now to help me with my shin splints..

  7. tavalava October 2, 2011 at 4:05 PM #

    Oh. My. Gosh. I wish I could shop those drawers of yours! Definitely put a lot of that stuff on my shopping list. I recently stumbled across a Gu sample pack that I forgot I had gotten earlier this year.

  8. http://happyfeet26-2.blogspot.com/ October 2, 2011 at 4:08 PM #

    I’m impressed you can find all of your “running stuff.” I’m sure I would have a large pile too if I could locate all of it. lol !

  9. Jeanette H. October 2, 2011 at 4:23 PM #

    Wow you have a lot of running stuff! I don’t have that collection yet but I have accumulated a lot of running clothes.
    I am curious what you think about the Garmin foot pod?

  10. Lauren/merrymishaps October 2, 2011 at 4:27 PM #

    Embarrassed? Nah. I’m impressed you fit all that stuff into a nightstand, and that all your “stuff” is on one place. I surely have my fair amount of loot but it’s scattered throughout the house!

    Don’t get my husband started on my water-bottle problem! And be careful when opening the cabinet to the left of the microwave 🙂

  11. Gemma October 2, 2011 at 7:55 PM #

    Haha love it!

  12. Tanci Foster October 3, 2011 at 2:24 PM #

    I don’t have a drawer, but I have collected a good handful of those re-useable shopping bags. Though there is 4 in my family that run (3-5krs and 1 1miler)..just started keeping a scrapbook of our race bibs, with the location, time, date, and placings…

  13. Susan October 3, 2011 at 3:17 PM #

    I’m collecting bumper stickers on my current car. My logic? You should have at least one car in your lifetime that you PLASTER in bumper stickers. This one came with one so I ran with it…. any of those stickers you don’t want? send ’em my way! 😉

    Girl, we all have that drawer. Only, mine lives in my car since all my runs start from my car somehow, someway.

  14. David H. October 3, 2011 at 8:30 PM #

    I have a special drawer and small place in the kitchen for all my stuff … and an unnecessarily large amount of closet space for all my clothes.

  15. Nicole October 4, 2011 at 1:24 PM #

    Wow- that is a lot of stuff!! I definitely don’t have a drawer like that- I am totally envious of you though!

  16. kat October 5, 2011 at 10:42 PM #

    Oh my gosh, the “GOTTA HAVE MORE COWBELL! I NEED MORE COWBELL!” reference was hysterical! Laughing hysterically now…

    I just stumbled upon your blog. Love it. Love your writing style. Love that you’re a soon to be mom and still a runner! I am aspiring to the same (working on the pregnancy part!)

    I have now accumulated a “running stuff cabinet” full of similar goodies from training for my first “ultra”, so you’re not alone!

    • katieRUNSthis October 6, 2011 at 8:47 AM #

      Hi there! I’m so glad you found me and I hope you like reading my blog as much as I enjoy writing it!

      I’m telling you…that “more cowbell” skit has got to be one of THE funniest things I have EVER seen on SNL. I mean, like EVER! 😀

      Best of luck to you in trying to expand your family! I am 35 weeks and 5 days today and I am still shuffling along. Definitely slow and awkward, but I wouldn’t have it any other way! 🙂

Leave a Reply

