Metal for My Medals: Accomplishments on Parade!

15 Sep

For the approximately next 8 weeks, while I am on this forced hiatus from any form of serious run training, I am doing all I can to keep myself motivated for my triumphant return. I really should not say “forced” as its not like anyone is holding a gun to my head, it is just that my head wants to run and my body…well, it just CAN’T right now. Soon enough though!

I deliberately use the word triumphant because I totally picture my first race post-baby being something like right out of a Rocky movie. You know, there will be weeks where I am secretly busting my butt putting in miles around my neighborhood, late nights of walking lunges down the sidewalk, so many rounds of plyometrics that I think my legs might pop right off my body…and then…at that first post-baby race…I will run hard and fast and impress all my friends and family. They will be left standing there, slack-jawed and amazed, saying, “How ever does she do it all?” Yep, that’s my plan. (Stay tuned to see how THAT pans out.) 🙂

Wait, where was I going with all of this… Ah, yes!

I have decided that as part of Operation: Awesome Mom Runs Hard, I need to keep myself as motivated as humanly possible. So far, I have done well with surrounding myself (both in the real world and online) with positive, encouraging running friends. I consider them to be the running versions of crack dealers…and I mean that in the nicest way possible. I need pushers!

The next step of the plan was to find cross-training alternatives as running became more difficult as the weeks went on. I ventured into a triathlon, yoga, and even an anti-gravity treadmill! Woot!

Next up? Take my race medals out of hiding, dust them off, and proudly display them. I need to SEE my accomplishments. I need to visualize myself as “the runner” everyday. I need to remember what toned legs and a strong core felt like. I need to imagine myself running hard with great form. I want to have that itch for it every time I see my medals hanging there.

Up to this point, all of my race medals have just been hanging on a coat hanger in the closet and it is time for a change! I have needed an excuse to break down and get a proper race medal display, so now is the time. Besides, I know I will be racking up more race bling as the years go on, so I might as well invest now.

I have been on the hunt for several months and seen a few different options, but I think I have found an option that I really like…

My favorite thing about Allied Medal Displays is that you can get one totally custom! I really, really, REALLY want one that says “katieRUNSthis”…how perfect would that be? I have to admit, right now it might look kind of sparse since I only have about 8 or so medals to put on it, but that would just motivate me to get out there and get racing again!

I had always thought I would want a post-style display, but the slide-on displays seem to be more and more common. And the more I think about it, the more it seems to make sense. I would not want the fabric or ribbons to get all rumpled up on a post or hook. (Yes, I do care about these things.) 🙂

The only catch is the investment. I know $60 does not “sound” like a huge deal to most people, but with a baby on the way, $60 is…60 WHOLE DOLLARS. Hmmm…maybe I can convince Santa to come early this year…*coughlistenuphusbandcough*

How do YOU display your race medals? Do you like looking at them and do you look at them often? Do they help motivate you?

9 Responses to “Metal for My Medals: Accomplishments on Parade!”

  1. Kevin September 15, 2011 at 11:40 AM #

    Eesh, im like you. My medals are just hanging on door knobs in my closet or in a box. I gave my kid the most recent medal I won and he wore it for a day. Then, next time I saw him, the medal was at the bottom of his toy box. Gah!

  2. ERIC September 15, 2011 at 11:45 AM #

    Too anyone who does NOT want to hang them, and have pride in the medals… PLEASE have the donated to medals4mettle you can check us out at http://www.medals4mettle.org we give them to sick children and it really makes them feel better!!!!

  3. Naomi Newton-Fisher September 15, 2011 at 11:49 AM #

    I have all of my medals on display in our hallway – they’re not on a special medal rack, but loaded onto a set of 5 hooks a bit like this one:
    http://www.kaboodle.com/reviews/5-hook-cast-iron-wall-hanger

    I absolutely love having them there, as they are a constant reminder of what I’ve achieved, and a motivator on those days where I don’t want to head out of the door. I know some people think that it’s a bit ostentatious, but it’s not about showing off to anyone else, it’s just about reminding me that all the training is worth it, and although often I ignore them, sometimes I’ll be walking past and run my hand over them (like wind chimes) or look at them, particularly my marathon ones (although my 10km medals are there too) and remember the races and smile to myself.

    Crazy? Maybe, but it makes me happy.

  4. Maggie September 15, 2011 at 1:21 PM #

    Right now my medals are all in various boxes, because we just moved. Same with my bibs. I’ve been thinking about getting a huge cork board to display the bibs and medals, but those metal hangers are really cute. Plus I don’t know where I would put said cork board.

  5. David H. September 15, 2011 at 8:15 PM #

    Race bibs and medals remind me of looking through old pictures — great memories, but not something I want to look at all the time. What I’ve seen posted today is pretty cool and might be swaying me to put something on more permanent display.

  6. Heather September 15, 2011 at 9:46 PM #

    I have one from allied medal and one from sport hooks. Love them both! Sometimesvyiu can find discounts floating around. Try a Google search! I love seeing my medals everyday!

  7. Jen September 15, 2011 at 9:57 PM #

    I have one from Allied Medals that says “my race bling”. It was worth it bc I love staring at my 30 medals as a type away on my computer 🙂

  8. dubyawife September 18, 2011 at 10:12 AM #

    I was just telling Dubya yesterday that I need to find a way to display my race medals (only 2 thus far lol)

    I’m gonna look into this idea.

    I cant wait to see you out there running again and barking orders at me to run faster. 🙂 you are a runner, hot mama. And I have no doubts you’ll be smoking everyone in races shortly after Baby Key.

Leave a Reply

