Run Hard, Play Hard.

4 Sep

My husband finally convinced me to step away from the blog for just a little while this long weekend. While I have enjoyed spending time with my family tremendously, I couldn’t wait to share all the fun I have had over the last couple of days. So, instead of going into a long diatribe about everything, I’ll just make it quick…with a few photos thrown in for fun…

FRIDAY
Friday was a wash. However, we did start out our road trip with a little trip to Chick-Fil-A. I’m not a huge fan of fast food, but at that hour, it was the only thing where I could get a breakfast that did not involve something deep fried or covered in cheese. Plus, Chick-Fil-A makes me feel special. πŸ™‚

Multigrain Bagel = Breakfast of Champions!

Then, as I was reading Runner’s World, I found an ad that matched my t-shirt. πŸ™‚

The Louisiana Marathon...Jan. 15, 2012!

Our 10-hour drive from LA to SC turned into a 13-hour drive thanks to holiday traffic and sections of I-85 North being shut down north of Atlanta. When we finally made it, we were tired and hungry. It took me about 37 seconds after my last bite of dinner to be OUT for the evening.

SATURDAY
Today was our big day! I started out the morning with a breakfast of purple and gold…doing all I can to send out good ju-ju to my LSU Tigers for there big game that night!

After breakfast, Brent and I headed out for a 4-mile run around Furman University’s campus. This is was where we used to run every Saturday morning with our gang and it was nice to run the route again for old time sake. 75 degrees and not a cloud in the sky! BEAUTIFUL! I will say that I had totally forgotten how rough the hills and mountains can be on the ol’ legs!

Bell Tower at Furman University.

After that, we went to Buy Buy BabyΒ and purchased this little number. I know I am getting old when stuff like this excites me!

Chicco Cortina KeyFit 30 (Fuego)

After a very light lunch, we headed off to our baby shower! I knew there would be plenty of baked goods to send me into a sugar coma so I had to leave room for all that goodness. I mean, I HAD to, right?

Running Buddies - Saturday Morning Run Group!

I ate an unholy amount of baked goods. It was NOT good. This was the first time in my whole pregnancy that I allowed myself to do so. NEVER AGAIN. NEVER EVER AGAIN. I felt AWFUL.

Later that night, we watched the LSU game. The afternoon sugar coma tried with all its might to keep me from watching the entire game, but I persevered. Thank goodness I ate that purple and gold breakfast! Otherwise, this awesomeness might not have happened!

LSU 40, Oregon 27

SUNDAY
Yesterday COMPLETELY wore me out. All that garbage I ate yesterday kept me and Baby Key up most of the night. To compensate, I slept in until 10AM this morning. TEN O’ CLOCK IN THE MORNING. It is quite possible that I have not done that since college. Seriously! Since I am no longer allowed to run outdoors two days in a row (too hot and too hard on the body), I went for a quick walk around the neighborhood to at least get some exercise. Again, I underestimate these hills! WHEW!

All the family, immediate and extended, joined us for a lunch of home-cooked veggies, turkey, dressing, and all the fixings. Everyone sat and talked for several hours after lunch. I had almost forgotten how nice it is let myself not be on a schedule. In the middle of the afternoon we went to Buy Buy BabyΒ (again…I *love* this store) and picked up this gem for Baby Key. We can plug our iPhone into it! He is going LOVE drifting off to sleep to the lullaby versions of U2 and Guns N Roses. I am determined to make “Sweet Child Of Mine” the first song my sweet baby boy hears. πŸ™‚

4Moms Mamaroo. Its THE JAM.

So, here we are…Sunday evening and the house is quiet…but only for a few more minutes. It looks like we have family game night planned! I am a *GEEK* for board games! This weekend has gone by SO fast and tomorrow we will be making our (hopefully) 10-hour trip back to LA and back to real life.

I like vacation days. I think I need to find time to take more of them. πŸ˜‰ It’s important to remember that I can run and train hard, but that it is OKAY to play hard too!

On long weekends, what do YOU do? Do you use the extra time to fit in more training? Do you train the same as you would normally? Or do you take a total break and soak up time with your loved ones?

10 Responses to “Run Hard, Play Hard.”

  1. breakfasttobed September 4, 2011 at 6:39 PM #

    I probably train a bit harder, eat a bit worse! I saw that glider at BBB and wanted it, but we already had another one!

    • katieRUNSthis September 6, 2011 at 10:25 AM #

      I should have spent more training, I really should have. Being in the car that long for such a whirlwind trip just wears me out though! If you are ever in the market for another glider for any reason, get the Mamaroo…it is awesome!

  2. Megan September 4, 2011 at 6:53 PM #

    Girl, you look beautiful in that green shirt! I mean, you always do.. but you just make such a pretty pregnant person.

    • katieRUNSthis September 6, 2011 at 10:26 AM #

      Thank you so much. I really appreciate that. πŸ™‚ When I look at that picture I think…”Ugh, I look so bloated and gross.” You sweet words make me feel better about being *SO* pregnant! πŸ™‚

  3. Necia September 4, 2011 at 8:40 PM #

    You are a totally adorable pregnant woman. I truly cant say that about every pregnant woman. I love your stroller, but I thought for sure you would get a big ole jogging stroller. What gives :)?

    • katieRUNSthis September 6, 2011 at 10:28 AM #

      C’mon, girl…you KNOW I have already got the jogging stroller situation handled! πŸ™‚ In fact, we are getting a Baby Jogger! A friend of a friend didn’t need hers anymore and is just GIVING it to us! Can you believe that!? All we have to do is take it to a bike shop for a tune up!

  4. John D. Hamilton September 4, 2011 at 11:33 PM #

    Follow you on twitter & love your blog. Posted a link to Work Hard Play Hard on my Google+ stream. Good job!

    • katieRUNSthis September 6, 2011 at 10:48 AM #

      Thanks for following and thanks for the kind words on my blog! I’m glad you enjoy reading it!

  5. Ann September 5, 2011 at 4:00 PM #

    Looks like an awesome weekend! I’m glad you had safe travels!! πŸ™‚

    • katieRUNSthis September 6, 2011 at 10:50 AM #

      I DID have an awesome weekend! Too short though…as usual πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

