Excuses are for the weak.

30 Aug

Harsh? Maybe a little. True? 100%.

As far as physical goals are concerned, 2011 has been HUGE for me. I have run a marathon, run my third half marathon, placed in my age group a handful of times and 5ks and 10ks, and even completed my first sprint triathlon. It is also the year that I have peaked in my weight and, since starting running almost 7 years ago, have dropped down to my lowest mileage weeks ever. When I see what my body has become now, it scares me to think that I may never accomplish those things again.

The farther and farther along I get with this pregnancy, the easier and easier it gets to stay still and be immobile. It is just hard. Everything feels sort of achy and being active just is not as easy as it once was. I feel stiff and some days I feel like I am turning to stone. Literally, from one day to the next, what I am able to accomplish with my body can change…drastically. Thankfully though, at 30 weeks and 2 days, I can bend over and touch my toes. Small miracles! Back to my point…every pound I put on feels like an extra 10 pounds on my frame. I am now at the highest weight I have ever been in my whole life and it is scary…maybe even a little bit depressing. I look in the mirror and I sigh…imagining how easy it would be to just go home everyday, plop on the couch, and peel open a pint of Ben & Jerry’s Phish Food. (Oh, Ben & Jerry’s, how I love you.) After all, that’s what my brain wants to do. I’m not convinced that my body is ready to give up quite yet. There is still a shred of fight left in me.

THIS would be the easy route.


I am now at the point where I have to reach deep down and find the drive. It is a daily battle to push myself to do the little things…and I mean VERY little things…like take one more flight of stairs when I am feeling winded or walk across my job site instead of taking the golf cart. There are days when I just don’t feel like running. (Please don’t EVER remind me that I said that.) But I have to at least try. Eating “bad foods” gets so much easier…especially when everyone around tries to convince me that I am eating for two. “Here, have another fill-in-the-blank. You’re eating for two now!”

Pregnancy is NOT an excuse to give up on my body. It is not an excuse to sit around and turn into a lard-butt and be lazy. Just because doing so would be easy does not mean it is the right thing to do.

People overcome obstacles all the time. Whether your excuse is lack of drive, no time, weather, busy schedules, etc., figure out a way to work around it. There is always an alternative. If you want something bad enough, you will figure out how to make it work. Where there is a will, there is a way! Today, I am determined to find the will to keep on running…whether that means a half mile or a half marathon. I just have to keep trying. And quite honestly, these days, it really is becoming more of a mental game than a physical one. Today I am recommitting to cling to my mental toughness for dear life. I need it.

And when I feel like giving up, I’m going to remember these people. These are the ones who overcome battles every single day. My situation is temporary, but these people fight everyday, training like champions with smiles on their faces (most of the time). 🙂 And do you know why they do it? They do it because they want it bad enough…because giving up on their bodies is not an option. “Failure” is not in their vocabularies. These people have no room for excuses.



What excuses are YOU going to toss out the window today?

What excuse have you been holding onto that you are going to bury today?

What is keeping you from achieving YOUR goals?

10 Responses to “Excuses are for the weak.”

  1. Terry Toler August 30, 2011 at 8:19 AM #

    I woke up this morning tired & sore and worried about whether or not I will be ready Sunday night to do the 4 miles over the Crescent City Connection much less the 1/2 marathon in January. Blisters, painful shins, and the always fun AS & UC are bothering me….then I read this! Exactly what I needed this morning:)

  2. DubyaWife (@DubyaWife) August 30, 2011 at 9:07 AM #

    You I’ve been thinking about you a bunch…. not in a creepy stalker way (well, maybe) but more of in a concerned but motivational way.

    You’re an athlete. There’s no doubt of that. You have the mental and physical toughness that supersedes some football players. I envy it.

    The downfall of that is being in the situation you’re in right now.

    You are USED to pushing yourself further physically. USED to making goals and bulldozing them down… so having to put them to the sideline, or change them to something of a “lighter fare” probably seems like torture.

    But it’s not, Katie, it is a WHOLE new way of challenging yourself.

    Being healthy during pregnancy is so much more than the physical… there’s an emotional and mental balance that has to be found that is SO so so difficult. And very rewarding.

    I don’t wanna say the “I’ve been there” cause one pregnancy isn’t like any other, but what I can say is towards the end of MY months, I found that I got into the “i want comfort” zone. And that’s dangerous.

    Here in lies your challenge, hot mama. 🙂 Any weight losser will tell you finding the balance between healthy eating, physical activity, and emotional well-being is DIFFICULT. You find it, Katie. You find it and you stick to it and let that be your goal.

    🙂 And know I’m with you here for help, support, walking, lap swimming and as always running whenever, wherever you need it.

    Hang in there, hot mama.

  3. Adam Riggs-Zeigen (@AdamRZ) August 30, 2011 at 11:47 AM #

    Love this posting Katie. While I have never been nor will ever be pregnant :), we all have significant challenges to overcome and have to constantly make the choice between the easy path and the right path.

    It’s ironic too that as a startup co-founder (Rock My Run), I often think about challenged athletes and what they are overcoming in pursuit of their goals. It’s a reminder that our greatest challenge is not physical, but mental and emotional.

    What’s uplifting is the knowledge that WE control our destiny. Our will, not our circumstance determine our outcome.

    Keep kicking ass, you’re an inspiration.

  4. knegaard August 30, 2011 at 2:46 PM #

    Great post! Just what I needed to read. Thanks for the inspiration; really puts things into perspective. You go girl!

  5. Sarah @ Run Sqrl, Run! August 30, 2011 at 7:28 PM #

    Thanks for writing this! It’s just what I needed to read after a long stressful day at work to remind myself that skipping the gym is not what my body wants or needs. 🙂

  6. AJ August 30, 2011 at 8:56 PM #

    Don’t sweat (hah) losing some of (or even all, if that happens) your usual activity level, mobility, and drive. You are GROWING A PERSON INSIDE OF YOUR BODY. 🙂 While I agree that pregnancy is not an excuse to eat what you want all the time and lie around for 9 months, I think that being unable, feeling unable, or choosing to sit it out sometimes when you’re pregnant doesn’t always equate with making excuses. I think what I’m trying to say is that you shouldn’t be so hard on yourself, especially in the home stretch. 🙂

    Bodies do change with pregnancy and childbirth but every body is different. Just take things as they come and you will be fine! I’ve dropped almost 50 pounds in the last year (my son is almost a year old) and am running better and more consistently than I ever have. That’s not really saying much, but it’s true. 🙂

  7. Concrete Runner August 30, 2011 at 9:10 PM #

    I agree that it is easy to come up with excuses while pregnant, but I constantly remind myself that I can’t physically do what I was able to do at this time last year (when I was training for Chicago). But, that doesn’t mean I’m not committed to my health. I would give anything to be able to go out and run 5 miles, but my body can’t handle that. However, it CAN handle a 2 mile walk/run and I’m OK with that. Cut yourself some slack, girl! You are in the process of doing one of the hardest things on the planet – growing a baby!

  8. Ann August 30, 2011 at 9:39 PM #

    This blog is amazing!! I’m a new follower from #FitBlog tonight and I am SO EXCITED to have found your blog!

  9. clarissa September 10, 2011 at 8:56 PM #

    thank you Katie. I very much needed to gain the perspective you offered and now I am gonna go get my gear in order to do an early morning run (it may not be far or fast but it will be).

    • katieRUNSthis September 12, 2011 at 9:01 AM #

      Good for you! You’ll never regret a work out! I promise!

Leave a Reply

