Running is for Lovers. It’s a FACT.

9 Aug

This has to be true, right? After all, how do you think I went from being a runner to a being a pregnant runner? 🙂 I kid, I kid…a little…

Really though, how had I not heard this before? I mean, I know that when I am able to run/exercise/work out often, I find myself to be “in the mood” more often (TMI?), but I did not know there was scientific research to back this up. I though maybe I just had some quirky turn-ons. 🙂

“A study from Cornell University in the US concluded that male runners have the sexual prowess of men two to five years younger, while females can delay the menopause by a similar amount of time. Meanwhile, research carried out at Harvard University found men over 50 who run at least three hours a week have a 30% lower risk of impotence than those who do little or no exercise.” – Runner’s World “Complete Guide to Running”

When you think about this analytically, this really makes so much sense. From a physical standpoint, in general, runners tend to be fitter, healthier, have improved stamina, and have more endurance. Emotionally, runners tend to be happier, more confident, have lower stress levels, and have better self-images. These overall physical and emotional effects make runners more desirable to others. This, in turn, can make a person more eager to have sex and perform better when doing so.

Surprisingly, did you know that the converse could also be true? Researchers are currently exploring claims that a more active sex life can actually make you a better runner. Dr. Ted Fenske, a cardiologist, is currently conducting research to see if women perorm better or have an athletic advantage in a race from having sex the night before. Distance runner and threee-time Olympian Lynn Jennings seems to agree with the correlation. She has stated before that “sex the night before solidifies my core feeling of happiness.” For women, it has been found that the effect of sex on running is largely psychological.

With both running and sex, it is important to also note that you can actually overdo it. (Sorry, guys!) Doing 3 to 4 running sessions per week are sufficient for achieving your “desired results.” Overtraining with running (or any sport) can lead to decreased energy and overall fatigue…thus, the libido suffers. This leads to a direct loss in sexual appetite (YIKES! Who wants that!?), so keep that in mind. As runners, we have the tendency to be a little compulsive on occasion; it is important to remember that sometimes you CAN have too much of a good thing.

Whether you buy into the research or not, it definitely presents something interesting to think about. Without giving away too many personal details (Sorry, husband!), I know this research reflects this runner pretty accurately. 😉

What do you think of the correlation between running and sexual prowess? Based on your experience, do you feel like it is accurate?

4 Responses to “Running is for Lovers. It’s a FACT.”

  1. Adrienne August 9, 2011 at 2:39 PM #

    Too funny! A friend and I just had this conversation .. that somehow, longer distances put me in the mood for trouble .. Glad it’s not just me!

  2. deepsouthrunner August 10, 2011 at 9:14 AM #

    Love it!

  3. Samantha August 11, 2011 at 4:00 AM #

    Well, my husband is ALWAYS “in the mood” as they say and he despises running. Maybe he’s an outlier??

  4. AthenaW August 14, 2011 at 4:53 PM #

    My soon to be hubby swears that running has helped me tone and tighten my body up…inside and out if you catch my drift ;-), so his libido has gone up quite a bit since I’ve started running, lol. He’s starte running more now too, so now I’m looking forward to seeing what happens, lol!

Leave a Reply

