Today’s Awesome Factor = 8…and a half.

8 Aug

Normally, I like to keep my “awesome factor” posts in the 5-star range, but due to the latest happenings with my toes, this Monday morning got docked a few points. More to come on that in a moment…

Lots of fun stuff has been happening over the last few days, so I thought I would play catch-up today!

In case you missed my big announcement on Twitter last night, I have decided to enter the fit2Bmom Spring 2012 Model Search. I know I am not 5’ 10” with a face and body like Heidi Klum (when she was baby bumpin’ or after), but I am a real mama-to-be who thinks I might be a good candidate for this contest. The contest required a video entry so here is my submission. Let me know what you think! (On another note, could that video still be ANY worse?? Sheesh.)

At my race on Saturday, I snagged the cutest Brooks Running koozie. I know it’s not a big deal, but I like fun stuff like this. And, if nothing else, it’s making me smile on this Monday morning. Run happy!

I also have some other awesome race swag headed my way. The Louisiana Marathon has a special going on that if you sign up with the code “SPIBELT” you get a free SPIbelt race belt with The Louisiana Marathon logo on it! YES! I have wanted to try out SPIbelt for a long time and now I get to try it for FREE! I have always feared that these race belts would not stay put on my waist, but we’ll see. Very excited about this!

And lastly, I believe I have broken a toe…or two. This is why my Monday is not rocking an official Awesome Factor rating of 10 or higher. Last night, while overzealously putting my laundry away (read = feverishly putting my laundry away because I thought my dinner cooking on the stove was about to start burning), I stubbed the ever-lovin’-MESS out of my toes. I have never ever EVER stubbed my toes this badly. They immediately turned red and started swelling a little. Thinking I would be fine, I went to bed later that night and tried not to worry about it.

This morning, however, was a different story. The two smallest toes on my left foot are now black/purple and DEFINITELY swollen. Luckily, my job has a full service medical center on site. I went to see the nurse this morning and she is pretty positive they are broken. I did not get X-rays done because even if they are broken, unless the toes are deformed (which they are not), there isn’t much they can do about them anyway. So, she just taped them up nice and straight and sent me on my way with some supplies. Superb.

Oh, and the best part…based on how bruised one of the nails is, she expects me to lose it. SUCK. If I am going to lose a toenail, I want it to be from “earning it” from my running or training…not from doing something stupid. :/

I fear this foot issue will put a cramp in my running this week and at this point in my pregnancy, I really *REALLY* can’t afford to have anything sideline me. I am so thankful for every day I get to run and I am not ready to sit out just yet. Until my toes are back at 100%, I still plan on walking. This girl has to do something to break a sweat.

How are things going in YOUR world today? What do you think of my fit2Bmom video? Do you think I can win? Have you ever broken your toes (or anything else)?

8 Responses to “Today’s Awesome Factor = 8…and a half.”

  1. deepsouthrunner August 8, 2011 at 9:29 AM #

    If I hadn’t already signed up for the Louisiana Marathon, I would have done so to get that free SpiBelt! I do already have a Spi Belt but I like free stuff. My SpiBelt has been good and bad…sometimes it doesn’t bounce and sometimes it annoys me my whole run. I think you just have to find the perfect adjustment.

  2. IamIrene (@itrytotri) August 8, 2011 at 9:47 AM #

    I love this! I hope you get it! I think you are definitely the embodiment of what a fitmom2be is and I am looking forward to how you incorporate you fit lifestyle into being a brand new mommy.

  3. Kate @ NaturaStride August 8, 2011 at 11:27 AM #

    Aw man! That stinks about your toes – how long will they take to heal? Does it hurt to walk on them? And losing toenails is the worst. I’ve lost a few and they take forever to look normal again (sorry I’m not much help). Sending positive thoughts your way!
    Best of luck on the contest!!!
    And I also recently got that same Brooks koozie after attending a running clinic last month and was so excited too! It’s super cute.

  4. Ironman By Thirty August 8, 2011 at 3:32 PM #

    I broke my pinky toe back in February. Ok, well, I am 99% sure I broke it. I never went to the doctor because I knew all they would do is tell me to rest and to tape my toes together. I ended up not being able to run for about 3 weeks. I attempted a few runs during that time and even (stupidly) did a 5k with my wife.

    After 3 weeks, I started running again. The toe felt weird when I ran, but didn’t necessarily hurt. After a half mile or so, the feeling would go away which made me thing it just needed to warm up a bit.

    I even felt a linger sensation in the toe for a good 3-4 months afterwards which I attribute to breaking up whatever scar tissue had built up around the toe. Thankfully, now, 6 months later, I don’t notice it at all.

    Hope you heal up quickly!

  5. Long Legs on the Loose August 9, 2011 at 3:43 PM #

    If they don’t pick you…they are insane!

  6. Dawn August 10, 2011 at 1:18 PM #

    Katie! I LOVE your video. You are adorable and I think you would be the perfect choice! I will be anxiously awaiting their decision.

    • katieRUNSthis August 10, 2011 at 1:21 PM #

      Thank you! They are supposed to decided today but, so far, they haven’t announced anything! I am keeping my fingers crossed!! 🙂

  7. rollerkoesterrun August 11, 2011 at 8:16 AM #

    I think it is freakin’ awesome that you entered that contest! Your confidence and pregnancy-glow really shine through in your video submission- GOOD LUCK!

Leave a Reply

