Up Up and Away 3.2k!

6 Aug

This morning I got to run under the hot air balloons at the Pennington Balloon Championships! They were so beautitul! It was only a 3.2k (2mi) race, which worked out perfectly for me. I am having more and more trouble on the longer distance runs, but at 27 weeks, I am still able to get through at least 2 – 3 miles without stopping. I’m pretty excited about that! According to my Garmin, I did 1.99mi in 21:47! In August heat + Louisiana humidity, I am a-okay with that time. After I got home, I felt my calves and shins start to tighten up a bit, so I spent some time with my human rolling pin. I will definitely be rocking some compression calf sleeves this afternoon.

Here are a couple of photos of the beautiful balloons we got to run under as the sun was coming up!


We plan on going back to the festival tonight to watch the balloon glow and fireworks display! Should be fun!

27 weeks today!


This afternoon I am working on a fun little project for fit2Bmom. I am keeping it hush-hush for now, but as soon as I am done with it, I will be sure to share!

How are YOU spending your Saturday? Did you get in a long run? Did you do a fun race this morning too?

8 Responses to “Up Up and Away 3.2k!”

  1. Jayme @ Runner-n-Spiceme August 6, 2011 at 10:53 AM #

    My long run will come tomorrow! Might go out for a shorter one this afternoon though!

    Glad you had a good time at your 3.2km race! I love shorter distance organized event like that = fun! However, I’e yet to run under hot air balloons!

  2. Lani Yearicks (@armytbonegirl) August 6, 2011 at 10:54 AM #

    I went for a 2.4 mile run this morning!! I had LOTS of walk breaks, but I’m still counting it as running. When you’re almost 34 weeks pregnant, if you want to call it a run, you can. 🙂

    • katieRUNSthis August 6, 2011 at 11:00 AM #

      Girl, that ROCKS! Walk breaks are GOOD for running. I don’t know why so many people think they aren’t. I am so proud of you keeping up with your miles like that. I hope I’m still moving at 34 weeks!! Keeping my fingers crossed BIG TIME! Yay for running mamas-to-be!

      And yes, YOU RAN!

  3. Jessica August 6, 2011 at 12:21 PM #

    The pictures are beautiful. I had to event on my facebook but I never planned for it. Maybe I’ll get to run it next year.
    Happy 27 weeks! I think I am just 5 weeks right now. 🙂

  4. Megan August 6, 2011 at 3:21 PM #

    Way to go!! I wish I could have gone. This August heat + humidity is brutal. I have 8 miles on my schedule, but I am thinking I may do four, then run inside for a quick sip of water, then run 4 more.

  5. Tara Burner August 6, 2011 at 3:36 PM #

    I didn’t get in any run because my son called to say his girlfriend was in labor and they had the baby at 6:08 this morning! sooo that’s where my morning & afternoon were…hospital seeing first grandbaby & spending time w/them….now taking my daughter to Hillsong concert in middle of storm here so no running at all today and I’m good w/that since everything else is wonderful 🙂

  6. Jamie August 6, 2011 at 9:07 PM #

    Great job on that race! I have 4 miles on my schedule tomorrow and I’m not sure about the heat here! Tomorrow evening should be a great time!

  7. Karen :0) August 6, 2011 at 9:45 PM #

    How awesome!!!! Looks like a fun race! :0) I didn’t know we had hot air balloons in LA! LOL!

Leave a Reply

