Groups Doing Good: LA 49>1 and Claim Your Journey

3 Aug

Today, I’m going to keep it close to home and talk about what is going on in my own community. I am inspired daily by all of the positive energy in my city and I wanted to highlight a couple of the groups that are creating it and keeping it going.

There is certainly a “fitness revolution” of sorts happening in Louisiana and I could not be more thrilled! We need this revolution…desperately.

Did you know that Louisiana ranks 49th in health and fitness? This is embarrassing and we need to do something about it NOW. Thankfully, there are several groups stepping up to help combat these issues.

The first is the LA 49>1 Pledge. This pledge encourages people to stay on the “Highway to Healthy.” The program outlines the risks associated with continuing on our same path: obesity, increased health risks, inactive communities, increased childhood obesity, etc. It reminds us that, as a community, if we are strong enough to overcome and survive hurricanes, floods, and oil spills, we can also make paving the way to healthier families a priority. We just have to make the commitment and do it.

Today, I’m taking the pledge…

I also pledge that I will apply absurd amounts of peer pressure to my family, friends, neighbors, coworkers, etc. to get them to jump on the bandwagon with me. 🙂

Another major force driving Louisianans to get moving is Claim Your Journey.

Claim Your Journey is a digital hub for runners all over our state to connect, find out about races, share stories, talk about gear, etc. Founder Brandon Williams says his passion for running and encouraging other in our state to do so is because he knows we need to make a change and “running is one of the easiest way to go about doing so.” He’s right, you know. All it takes to get on the road to making drastic changes in your life is to lace up your shoes and hit the pavement. Claim Your Journey has been instrumental in uniting runners and helping us keep each other motivated to achieve our goals (whether that’s mileage, pounds lost, races competed in, etc.). Last night, there was a wonderful segment on the local news about Claim Your Journey. Check it out here! (I would have embedded the video but I couldn’t find a link that would allow me to do so. If I can find it later, I will actually post the video!)

These two groups are just helping Louisiana get out of the 49th place funk and I am extremely grateful. As someone who values fitness and health, knowing that I live in the 49th unhealthiest state saddens…and embarrasses me.

But things are changing…and I am hopeful! Let’s keep it going, Louisiana!

If you are a fellow Louisianan, how do you feel about our 49th place status? What are you doing to help us move up in the rankings?

If you are not a fellow Louisianan, what is being done in your community/city/state to encourage physical activity and healthy lifestyles?

6 Responses to “Groups Doing Good: LA 49>1 and Claim Your Journey”

  1. Megan August 3, 2011 at 11:50 AM #

    It totally IS embarrassing! I wish I was good at convincing/harassing family members to get active!

    Yay for Claim Your Journey! And I need to check out that pledge.

    • katieRUNSthis August 3, 2011 at 11:51 AM #

      Isn’t it? But, I am confident that as the fit community grows, we will encourage others and lead by example. We just have to keep it going! Definitely check out the LA49>1 facebook page!

  2. deepsouthrunner August 3, 2011 at 12:51 PM #

    That ranking is terrible! I really wish healthy living was more of a priority for the majority of our state…while I love our culture in Louisiana of good food and good times, there needs to be a balance – too much of a good thing is not good!

  3. Jamie August 3, 2011 at 2:11 PM #

    Wow! Impressive what LA is doing to promote health in their state 🙂 My SIL is moving to Baton Rouge in October and I’ll send her the links so she can be a part of all this 🙂

    Also…..I know lots of ways to “hide” vegetables in your foods. Spaghetti sauce and meatloaf are the easiest. Just shred things like carrots, zucchini, radishes, etc. really fine and mix them in. My husband doesn’t even notice! Smoothies are great too!

  4. Theresa Overby August 3, 2011 at 2:24 PM #

    Great post, Katie! Too bad we can’t take away people’s couches and televisions for one month to show them how much better they’d feel living a more active lifestyle!

    Props to LA 49->1 and Claim Your Journey for their efforts!

  5. Sidd August 4, 2011 at 8:09 PM #

    Get ’em B !!!

Leave a Reply

