7 Links – The Craze That is Sweeping the Blogosphere!

28 Jul

In the last few weeks, the “7 Links” post has been making its rounds in Blogland. I have enjoyed reading others’ posts and was secretly hoping I would get picked someone to continue on this virtual chain letter. To my surprise, I got picked…TWICE (Take THAT everyone in high school who said I would never be popular! In yo’ face!). Thank you to the ladies over at Running With Sass and Bloggin’ ‘n’ Joggin! I feel like my little blog is such a bebe (I don’t have the years worth of posts to draw from like many others), but it will be fun to go back and look at a few posts that were special to me. So, without further ado, let’s hit it!

Most Beautiful Post: Team Blue = Future Ironman!
This one was easy. My “Most Beautiful” post was written the day we found out we were going to be parents to a beautiful baby boy. I would have been thrilled beyond words to be blessed with a baby girl, but I was secretly (okay, not so secretly) hoping to join Team Blue. There is no hiding the fact that one of my dreams for him is to be an Ironman Kona competitor. A mama can dream!

That's my boy at 19 weeks 4 days! LOVE.


Most Popular Post: Fastinistas, Stunners, Whatever You Want to Call Them – Just Call Them Athletes Too
Coincidentally, this post just happened to be from earlier this week. I wrote a response to some negative comments on an article found in Runner’s World magazine. Surprisingly, A LOT of people read it and commented on it. It made me feel good to see that there really is so much positive energy in the running community.

Courtesy of runnersworld.com


Most Controversial Post: Groups Doing Good: Black Girls RUN!
Okay, so this post doesn’t really qualify as “controversial” but it is one that I will say I was hesitant to even write. I wanted to highlight a group I found out about called Black Girls RUN! In writing the post, I wanted to make sure that I didn’t come off as offensive because I really do believe in and support their mission. In fact, there are plenty of awesome running black girls in my town that I would love to see start a group! (By the way, in case you haven’t noticed, I am not, in fact, a black girl.) 🙂

Most Helpful Post: A Few Words for the New Runner
I think my “Most Helpful” post would be “A Few Words for the New Runner.” In my weekly running groups, we see new runners almost every week. They literally show up and say, “I have no idea where I start with this whole running thing.” I remind them that they have actually taken the first step (no pun intended) by just showing up! This post got really positive feedback and seemed to help a few people I know get motivated.

Post That’s Success Surprised Me: Don’t judge a runner by his waistline.
This is another one that is easy to pick. Shortly after I first started my blog, I went out and ran a booze race (read = barathon). And, no, this baby bumpin’ runner didn’t drink along the way, I just ran. Anyway, I heard some nasty comments made about a fellow runner who happened to have a few extra pounds on him. It made me mad, so naturally, I blogged about it. 🙂 It turns out, there were a lot of people that could relate to it.

Clydesdales aren't just horses, folks! 🙂


Post That Did Not Get the Attention it Deserved: If It Isn’t Neon, It Shouldn’t Be On
Ha! I can’t help but pick If It Isn’t Neon, It Shouldn’t Be On. Really, it was one of my favorite and most fun posts to write and I suppose that others did not find the humor in it that I did. C’est la vie! My running buddies do know that I love me some BRIGHT stuff, so if it comes in neon, I WILL be buying it. I have no willpower. NONE.AT.ALL.

Have you ever seen anything more beautiful?? 🙂


Post You are Most Proud Of
I am going to cheat on this one, because this post has not actually been written yet. (I know, such a cop out, right?) This Saturday will be my first venture into the world of triathlon. I have done many duathlons (see photos on katieRANthis) but have only recently started swimming. I am super nervous…mainly because, at 6 ½ months pregnant, I fear I will be the very last finisher. I refuse to let that stop me from competing though! This Saturday afternoon I plan on writing a recap of my experience. I can guarantee you that it will be one of my proudest moments to date! Be sure to come back and check it out!


T-2 days until the Rocketchix Triathlon. YIKES!


And now it is time to Pay It Forward! Here is who I would like to see a 7 Links Post from…
Kevin from 5ks And Cabernets
BJ from Running BJ
Toni and Ashley from Black Girls RUN!
Steph from Steph Runs for Wine
Janae from Hungry Runner Girl
Adrienne from Eat Run Live AZ


I hope you enjoy their blogs as much as I do! Check them out!

5 Responses to “7 Links – The Craze That is Sweeping the Blogosphere!”

  1. Amanda @FancyOatmeal July 28, 2011 at 11:48 AM #

    I love these posts – it helps those of us who are newer to reading your blog to know the full extent of your awesomeness. I’m now going to read your “A few words for the new runner” blog.

  2. Megan July 28, 2011 at 9:19 PM #

    I love your blog. I believe Jessica and I are well on our way to a local Louisiana blogger meetup! Don’t you feel jealous when you see those bloggers do that?

    • katieRUNSthis July 28, 2011 at 9:25 PM #

      Thanks! Have you checked out the http://www.louisianabloggersnetwork.com? There are lots of bloggers in Louisiana and in Baton Rouge! We should definitely arrange a social outing soon! They had one not too long ago (maybe a month?) but I think it is time for another one! I’ll tweet them and see what’s up and if they have anything planned!

  3. Cherie July 28, 2011 at 10:51 PM #

    I should totally read the “controversial” black girls run post, but I’m actually supposed to be sleeping right now, so I’ll come back to it! As a black girl that runs, I think I have to or something, lol. 🙂 But I just checked out your “neon clothes” one and I agree! I heart neon. Maybe because I’m nostalgic for 1984 or just because it’s totally awesome! I just got a pink neon top today and plan on getting some neon pink Zensah sleeves. I say, “All hail to the neon clothing!” 🙂

  4. kren2700 July 30, 2011 at 10:40 PM #

    Great job, Katie! Love all your links! I’m checking out a few of them now! Neon…love it!! :0) Again, awesome job on the Tri today! Way to kick some major booty!!! :0)

Leave a Reply

