Product Review: Attune Foods Uncle Sam Cereal

22 Jul


When training for a race or multi-sport event, most athletes get excited about get together their training plans. The other half of a good training plan is a good nutritional plan. In order to train effectively, you have to provide wholesome fuel to your engine. You can not expect your body to pump out amazing fartleks or training bricks if you are starting your day with bacon, egg, and cheese biscuits or jelly doughnuts. (Well, maybe some of you can, but this girl definitely can not.) Plus, starting my day with a healthy breakfast helps keep me on track with eating healthy all day.

When I first got the package, I immediately opened it and ate a few pieces dry. I am not normally the type of person that loves “all-natual” type cereals (c’mon, I was raised on Frosted Flakes and Corn Pops!). However, I was pleasantly surprised with this! As I ate a little bit of it, my husband watched me…fully expecting me to spit it out. 🙂 I was like, “Hey! This is…GOOD! Try this!” He ate some too and also enjoyed it.

The next morning I decided to fix a bowl for breakfast. At first I was a little hesitant at the ¾ cup (55g) serving size, as it did not seem like very much. I measured that amount out though and it was a lot! The cereal is dense so you really get more “food” in your ¾ cup amount than some other puffed up cereals. I added ¾ cup (6oz) of skim milk and a small side of blueberries. Upon tasting it, it did seem a little too unsweet for my taste. I added one packet of Splenda and it was perfect. It tasted delicious! What’s even better? It actually kept me FULL!

3/4 cup (55g). That's a lot of cereal!


Being pregnant, I try and eat a healthy “meal” (oversized snack) at least every three hours. Most bowls of cereal are totally gone for me and leaving me hungry after about an hour or hour and a half. This really stuck with me and made me feel full. I really liked that a lot.

Yesterday, I decided to make another bowl for breakfast. Wanting to try something different, I went with slightly less than the serving size…about 2/3 cup (41g). I wanted to see if a smaller amount would keep me full as long as before. Instead of skim milk, I prepared it with ½ cup (4oz) of almond milk. The natural slightly sweeter taste of the almond milk worked a lot better. It eliminated the need for the Splenda altogether! Yay! I found that this amount of the cereal kept me full just as long as before. Thank you, extra fiber and protein!

2/3 cup (41g) + 1/2 cup (4oz) almond milk. Perfect!

A healthy breakfast that actually keeps me full for 3 hours for under 300 calories? Yes, please!

Obviously, if you are training and need more calories, you could always up the serving size and throw in some bananas. For now though, this pregnant lady is just trying to gain healthy weight and stay energized for her workouts.

And you know what the real kicker is about this cereal? There are only four (yes, FOUR) ingredients! HEYO! We all know that the fewer the ingredients, the better and I was SHOCKED to see that there were only four ingredients in it! That means there is real FOOD in this food. I love that!

Overall, two big thumbs up on this cereal. I will certainly be adding it to my list of things to stock up on when I hit up Whole Foods every couple of weeks! You can also buy it at Trader Joe’s (which we don’t have here…BOO!) and Wal-Mart (though it takes an act of Congress to get me to venture there).

If you would like to know more about this cereal or about the company, in general, be sure and check out their website. They are also active in other realms of social media (right up my alley!) so you can also catch them on Twitter and facebook. Be on the look out for their #attune chats on Twitter in the mornings; you can ask questions about the products or find out what’s new!

Eat up, kids, it’s YUMMY!

One Response to “Product Review: Attune Foods Uncle Sam Cereal”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Rip’s Big Bowl - Claim Your Journey - July 26, 2011

    […] of RBB…so this week my plan was to buy all the ingredients (which includes Katie’s Uncle Sam’s!) and make it myself.  But as I was getting walnuts and raisins on the bulk aisle I noticed it was […]

Leave a Reply

