Celebrating (small) victories!

14 Jul

I have never really taken the time to think about how import an it is to celebrate victories (great AND small) until very recently. Often, I just took it for granted that I was able to wake up, throw on my running clothes, and go outside for a run.

Today I am 23 weeks and 4 days pregnant…and I am STILL running! HEYO!

Last week I was experiencing such extreme pain in my right ankle that I thought my pregnant running days were over. I thought for sure that this was my body’s way of telling me that it no longer approved of this “running thing” any longer. Being hard-headed and determined not to just give up, I reluctantly gave myself a few days off. It turns out that a combination of rest, compression, and a little Tylenol were just what my body needed. (Normally I use Motrin or Aleve for pain relief, but they are not on my “approved medications” list.)

This morning, before our 24 week baby doctor appointment, I went out for a run. I got to sleep in an extra hour and 15 minutes this morning (until 6:15AM!!) and I was feeling on my game! I actually woke up and my first thought was, “Woohoo! Let’s get going!” I haven’t felt that in what seems like ages and I was eager to take advantage of it! I got outside, calibrated my Garmin, and off I went…for a whole 2 miles without stopping!! Are you kidding me!? I was so excited! Granted, it took me 24:58 minutes to knock that out, but we just won’t focus on that. πŸ™‚

Pregnant Runner + Barathon T-shirt = Awesomeness

Only a matter of months ago, two miles was merely a warm-up. Today, is comprised the bulk of my work out. How quickly things change! But, what is different about today is my ATTITUDE. Until now, I was getting disappointed with my ever-slowing pace…secretly fearing that there was no possible way that I’ll ever be “fast” again.

And, maybe I won’t…and maybe I will. Only time and patience with my body will tell. Either way, I will still have my love of the run.

Today I am going to be thankful and grateful. I am going to celebrate all of my victories (big or small). I really am so fortunate to still feel good enough to get outside and pound the pavement. I am thankful and grateful that my muscles and joints are still strong and that, so far, I can still give it all I have got…whatever that means on any particular day.

I never really intended on this turning into a “Thankful Thursday” post, but it appears that is the route it has taken. I am okay with that, because, apparently, this sweaty mama-to-be needed the reminder. πŸ™‚

What victories are YOU celebrating today? What are you thankful for on this Thursday?

6 Responses to “Celebrating (small) victories!”

  1. Michelle July 14, 2011 at 12:49 PM #

    Woot! 23.571428 days pregnant and you are still running? I think that qualifies you as absolutely awesome!

    Today I’m thankful that I have a great group of friends who are going to serenade me good-bye tomorrow. And there will be booze and cake, thankful for that too! πŸ™‚

    • katieRUNSthis July 14, 2011 at 5:13 PM #

      Thanks! Slow and steady…well, at least *finishes* the race, right? Yes, that’s what I’m going with these days!

      Booze and cake sounds like a fab send-off! Best of luck to you!!!

  2. Jeanette July 14, 2011 at 9:15 PM #

    I went to the gym at 5am today! That was a first for me!

  3. Tiffany July 14, 2011 at 9:51 PM #

    You are truly an inspiration! Now, I’m not so paranoid about gaining ALL of my weight back whenever we add on to our family (soon hopefully).

  4. hauterunningmama July 19, 2011 at 12:29 PM #

    Way to go!! I love when I see mamas out there running! I was not able to run while pregnant so in lieu I walked my hiney off. Keep on going πŸ™‚ That wee one of yours will be running next to you before you know it!!

    • katieRUNSthis July 19, 2011 at 12:32 PM #

      Hi there! Thanks for coming by and thanks for the kind words! It is fun finding other running mamas! It gives me hope that I WILL be able to hit it hard again after the baby arrives! I can’t wait for Baby Key to run with me…even better, I can’t wait until he is running faster than me! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

