I am a race medal gold digger.

13 Jul

I will admit it, you CAN buy my love.

Yesterday, the Rock N Roll Series unveiled their new Heavy Medal race medal. You qualify to receive it by doing 10 Rock N Roll events (half or full marathons) in one series year. The new Rock Idol 10 medal is pretty awesome and is one that I would TOTALLY love to have hanging in my collection.

Photo courtesy of facebook.com/HeavyMedal.

I don’t know how this got me thinking about it, but I wondered to myself, “Would I ever run a completely sucky race if there was the promise of a ridiculously awesome medal at the end?” And by “sucky”, I mean completely unscenic, lame aid stations, hilly, double loop, in the rain/snow/desert, etc.

My answer? YES. My loyalty to a race can easily be secured with a heavy, fancy, shiny race medal.

Curious to know if other runners were as big of sell-outs as I am (and I mean that in the nicest way possible :)), I took to my Twitter (I love that my mom calls it THE Twitter). It turns out, I am NOT the only one! Of all the people that answered, 33% said a sucky route is NOT worth all the fabulous race bling in the world. That leaves me with the other 66% of people who would absolutely be coaxed into a less-than-stellar race/event with the promise of a rocking medal or other race swag. Woot! I’m not the only race medal grubber in the world!

I totally admire the people who answered no. I really do. That means they are truly out there for the love of the run. I can really appreciate that. While I do run “for the love of the run”, a little shiny incentive placed around my neck, accompanied with a pat on the back and a “Job well done!” never hurt anyone (especially me!) either.

2011 Rock n Roll Mardi Gras Marathon


And in other news…
I have decided to start putting myself on a weekly mileage goal of 20 miles. At 23.5 weeks big and pregnant, I feel like a realistic plan is:

Monday: Varsity Sports Running Group – 3.5 miles
Tuesday: Happy’s Running Club – 3.1 miles
Wednesday: Mid-City EZ Riders (Cross-Train on the Bike) – 15 miles
Thursday: Varsity Sports Running Group – 4 miles
Friday: Running in my neighborhood (with my Mace) – 3.5 miles
Saturday: Varsity Sports Running Group/Race – 6 miles
Sunday: Rest and stretch (P90X Stretch DVD? Maybe ride my bike?)

This mileage is only an approximation and to keep me on track with hitting my goal each week. Once upon a time (just last fall), I covered 20 miles in two or three days, but I think 20 miles per week is a reasonable and attainable goal for me. I do not plan on imposing time goals for myself while pregnant; I only want to keep my body used to the distance and “feeling” of running. This mileage includes warm-up and cool-down and I will walk any time I feel like I need to. But, for now, this is the plan.

Okay, I’m back to day dreaming about that Rock Idol 10 Heavy Medal. I may need to get a second job or take out a second mortgage to be able to pay for all those entry fees and traveling costs, but it WILL be mine! One day!

Are you a gold digger like me? Would you run a totally sucky race if there was an awesome prize waiting for you at the end?

17 Responses to “I am a race medal gold digger.”

  1. Jordan Trump July 13, 2011 at 9:33 AM #

    I run for the love of running, but sometimes pain and suffering are a part of that! I run the Bix 7 every year and that race is a HILLY 7 miles. Basically the first half mile is uphill!
    http://www.qctimes.com/app/special/bix/map/
    You actually got me wondering yesterday, I THINK they used to give out medals for this race but last year there were none! I was VERY disappointed, especially for a race that costs $32-$42! Well, I will be running it anyways again this year, for the 8th time. I got almost every year with my dad and some friends, so it’s relatively inexpensive for me (I only pay my race fee), and tons of fun! I’m going to have to have a talk with them about those finisher’s medals though!

    • katieRUNSthis July 14, 2011 at 5:01 PM #

      Wait, they used to give out medals but now they don’t? Oh, uh uh! You better get on that! I think if you train for a hilly, hard race, you DESERVE a medal! 🙂

  2. Megan July 13, 2011 at 9:50 AM #

    I LOVE medals! I don’t care what they look like, whatever. I just love medals. I told my friend that since she and I are in the same age group now, I have no chance of winning a medal, so I’m gonna have to just start doing races that give medals to finishers!

    And also can I just say that you are awesome for continuing to run like a badass while being pregnant? I hope and pray that when I am ready to have a baby I will have clearance from the doctor to keep running.

    • katieRUNSthis July 14, 2011 at 5:03 PM #

      Girl, me too. I know that seems so silly…especially when they give them to EVERY finisher, but for some reason, they are so important to me. I think it is because it gives people who know I run, but don’t actually run with me, something tangible to see. Like, see? I really AM running my butt off all the time?

      Thanks! I don’t really *feel* like a badass these days, but I’m doing the best I can! I’m have no doubt you will be the same way!

  3. Susan July 13, 2011 at 9:56 AM #

    best race medal I’ve seen out there is for Nike Women’s… go check it out! I wear mine EVERYday. 😉

    • katieRUNSthis July 14, 2011 at 5:04 PM #

      Agreed! I have seen the Tiffany necklace…AND don’t you get it from a fireman in a tuxedo?? Hello!? That is awesome! I would wear it everyday too! That race is on my bucket list!

  4. Rebecca Jo July 13, 2011 at 10:15 AM #

    I would wear that medal EVERYWHERE… I’d be like Flav-a-flav!!!!

  5. Jennjustruns July 13, 2011 at 10:22 AM #

    Heck yeah! I love shiny things! 🙂 BTW, you just ROCK! By the time I was 1/2 way through my pregnancies, all I could handle was walking!

    • katieRUNSthis July 14, 2011 at 5:05 PM #

      I do too! Does that make me simple? Yeah, probably so. 🙂 I don’t care, I love them!

  6. running on faith July 13, 2011 at 12:14 PM #

    Good for you! 20 miles/week at 23 weeks pregnant is awesome! I had completely stopped running at this point in my pregnancy so you are doing so great! It will definitely help you get back in shape post-baby. Anyway, is there a VS group run on Saturday? I keep checking the schedule but nothing is listed. If so, hope to see you out there on Saturday.

    • katieRUNSthis July 14, 2011 at 5:07 PM #

      Steph,
      Yes! There is a group run by Varsity Sports on Saturdays. They usually put it up pretty last minute but the workout for this Saturday is up today. I already saw it. Check out their running calendar. There is a 4mi, 5mi, and 9mi option. I will probably go out for the 4mi or 5mi option on Saturday…and also to hand out #RunLA t-shirts! They are going to ROCK!

  7. Michelle July 13, 2011 at 12:40 PM #

    Personally I consider all of the race swag, not just the medal. Do they give away a tech tee? Do they give away other items (usable water bottles, hats, hoodies, etc.)? I ran a trail run where I got a fantastic long sleeve tech shirt and a Camelback water bottle, I was quite happy and I use the bottle every day.
    A friend of mine just finished her first 100 miler and I swear she did it just for the buckle. She wears it daily.

    • katieRUNSthis July 14, 2011 at 5:08 PM #

      Totally agree! I love other race swag too! Tech tees for a half or full marathon are a must. Otherwise, I think they come of as just cheap. C’mon, you pay all that money and they can’t spring for a couple more bucks on a tech tee? You got a Camelbak water bottle? SCORE! I admire the people who do it for personal satisfaction, but I love me some swag!

  8. embenton July 13, 2011 at 5:50 PM #

    I think medals are a nice touch, but I wouldn’t be heartbroken about not getting one. When I was in NYC, I knew a handful of runner buddies who wouldn’t do one NYRR half over another because the first didn’t include medals. I guess I prefer the really hard-earned medals, like my first marathon one. When I attempted my first full, it was foiled by severe weather, so I only finished 20 miles before race officials shut it down. I still got my medal, but I don’t feel like I 100% “deserve” it!

    • katieRUNSthis July 14, 2011 at 5:10 PM #

      Good for you for “loving the challenge”! I really do admire that. I suppose that makes me a sell-out, but after all that training, I like a good hefty neck full o’ bling! And don’t think for a second that you don’t *deserve* that medal. If you endured 20 of 26 miles in severe weather, you totally freaking deserve that medal! Be proud of it!!

  9. keyalus July 14, 2011 at 12:46 PM #

    I love medals but I wouldn’t subject myself to misery for a cool medal (a 100 miler belt buckle though…hmmm).

    I am an admitted T-Shirt whore though. I run a particular 5K that I hate every year just because they give women’s cut Nike or Adidas T-Shirts. If a race is thoughtful enough to give out tech T-Shirts cut to fit a woman I am there!

Leave a Reply

