2011 San Fermin en Nueva Orleans

11 Jul

This past Saturday I got to run with the bulls! Corriendo Por Dos! Ole!

(23 weeks!)


Okay, maybe not *real* bulls, but don’t let the NOLA Big Easy Rollergirls (and all the other roller derby hotties from around the Gulf) fool you…once they put on their horned helmets and pick up their whiffle ball bats, they are forces to be reckoned with. And let me tell you…the whack of plastic on your butt when you are running and not expecting it is quite a surprise! Those Rollerbulls are sneaky, I tell you!

Brent, Jules, Jonathan, Stephen, and I got down to Ernst Café right around 7:00AM. I’m glad we got there when we did because within 10 minutes or so, people started coming out of the woodwork. Jonathan (our chauffeur extraordinaire) managed to work some magic and parallel park an SUV into a space that looked only big enough for a MINI. Big ups on that, JP1! (On a side note, Jonathan and Stephen are in this most awesome band in New Orleans called The Breton Sound. You should check them out!)

El Capitan del Encierro?


The Encierro (bull run) started at 8:00AM with a processional by this guy…

I am not sure of the back story on the statue, but I’ll try and find out. The St. Andrew’s Day band marched the statue to the stage and everyone lined up! We were ready to run!


Here are some photos from the route. I would have had more, but I was trying not to get “gored” by the Rollerbulls!





While at the festival, we also ran into my brother, sister-in-law, and friends, Ryan and Lynda. Ryan plays in a band called The Bucktown All-Stars. You should check them out too! They weren’t running, but there were out in full support!

My two favorite guys...my hubs and my bro.



Ryan and me.


My awesome sister-in-law!

After the run, we stayed to listen a band called Vivaz! They were one of the 2011 Big Easy Award nominees for Best Latin Band. We danced, everyone drank (except the pregnant lady), and good times were had by all!

If you want to find out more about this event, check out the article I wrote for the New Orleans Time-Picayune online edition!

Won’t you join us next year? Por que no?

What did YOU run this weekend?

4 Responses to “2011 San Fermin en Nueva Orleans”

  1. Michelle July 11, 2011 at 9:50 AM #

    That sounds like so much fun! Glad you had a great weekend.

  2. Kevin July 11, 2011 at 10:36 AM #

    My 14-miler this Saturday wasn’t nearly as festive!

  3. Megan July 11, 2011 at 11:53 AM #

    Aww! I wish I would have been able to go! It looks so fun!!

  4. B (i run like a girl) July 17, 2011 at 12:17 AM #

    Ha! I just heard about this last week from a hash group that I joined on the Gulf Coast. It sounds like fun, and like complete chaos! (Maybe I’ll have to sign up next year.) 😉

Leave a Reply

