My child is officially ON THE MOVE.

29 Jun

I thought seeing the ultrasound was just about the coolest thing ever…and then he MOVED…and I FELT it.

When we first saw Baby Key moving around on the ultrasound, it was reassuring because the technician said everything was progressing perfectly and normally. I could see him moving but I could not feel it yet. That all changed last night. After I got home from Happy’s Running Club, Brent and I grabbed a quick bite to eat, I took a shower, and then we headed off to bed. Right after I laid down, I felt a nudge…from the inside! I immediately thought, “What was THAT!?” And then I realized, it was just Baby Key saying, “Yo, mom! What’s up?” I started giggling and immediately told Brent. We laid there for at least another hour feeling the kicks and marveling about how awesome it all was.

Was it my rockin’ run at Happy’s? Was it the good mood I was in from seeing all my #RunLA fam? Have I just been eating my Wheaties? Who knows. All I do know is that this child is on the move! As soon as I woke up this morning, he was at it again!

Am I growing a little track star? Is he already doing speed work in there? Is he running laps or dreaming of his first 5k? Maybe he’ll be wearing a gold medal in the 2032 Olympics for sprints and relays? A mama can dream! Or maybe he’ll be a famous soccer player? His daddy sure wouldn’t mind that!

These should make @RunBimma proud. 🙂


I feel so blessed in so many ways these days. I have this amazing, supportive husband, I have this awesome little man who is getting stronger everyday, and I have all of super motivating new running buddies.

My husband + my #RunLA fam = the best cheering squad EVER.

I’m really not sure what I would do without them. They understand when I am having a bad day and they freely dole out the high fives on a good day. And I have to say, post-run sweaty hugs from running buddies are the best. It excites me to know that after Baby Key arrives he will have all these active, healthy role models to look up to. Plus, it will be kind of fun bringing the BabyJogger out to the Happy’s Running and Varsity Sports groups. Baby Key is going to be spoiled from all the attention, I just know it. 😉

12 Responses to “My child is officially ON THE MOVE.”

  1. Sheila (This_SIDs_Life) June 29, 2011 at 9:36 AM #

    Great stuff! My boys played speed bag with my innards.

    • katieRUNSthis June 29, 2011 at 9:37 AM #

      I am fully expecting that! 🙂 If he keeps this up, I’ll become a human punching bag!

  2. running on faith June 29, 2011 at 10:22 AM #

    So fun, feeling your baby move is the best feeling ever!! Just curious, do people bring jogging strollers to the Happys or Varsity Sports runs? I really want to come but with my husband’s work schedule, he with his work schedule it is hard for him to get home in time for me to leave and watch Little Miss while I head out to meet the groups for a run. But, maybe I can bring her for an easy run @ Happy’s in the stroller? Baby Key and Little Miss could be friends 🙂

    • katieRUNSthis June 29, 2011 at 10:26 AM #

      YES! People DEFINITELY come out with strollers, dogs, small kids, etc.! You and Little Miss should totally come join us!! There are several single and double strollers at both the Happy’s runs and the Varsity Sports runs. We would love to see you! 🙂

  3. running on faith June 29, 2011 at 10:52 AM #

    eek! sorry about the typos in my comment! with olivia still sick we have not been sleeping much lately around here. But, if she is feeling better by Tuesday, I want to try and come and see how it goes! I will try and touch base with you guys so I can try and meet up!

  4. Valerie Reed June 29, 2011 at 12:22 PM #

    Isn’t that the best feeling…the kicks and squirms and wiggles. Another little runner in the making!!

    • katieRUNSthis June 29, 2011 at 12:26 PM #

      It really is! It makes me feel safer knowing he is growing and moving around in there…sort of like my own little window to him! Its awesome!

  5. DubyaWife June 29, 2011 at 12:23 PM #

    YAY!!!!! How exciting! Just wait a couple of months until your whole belly moves around and it looks like you have an alien in there. 😉

    Glad I’m a part of your cheering team. Run run run Mama! (And you too little Baby Key!)

    • katieRUNSthis June 29, 2011 at 12:28 PM #

      I know, I know! Now THAT is going to be weird…like when you can actually SEE an elbow or knee poking out at you! CAH-RAZY!

      Thanks for joining the #RunLA fam! Every team member is crucial! 🙂

  6. Amanda - RunToTheFinish June 29, 2011 at 12:27 PM #

    yeahh i am so glad things are going well and you have these amazing people around. I love the shoes!!

  7. Susan June 29, 2011 at 1:22 PM #

    Congrats on the new one!! I’m a fellow Baton Rouge blogger!

    So nice to meet you!

    • katieRUNSthis June 29, 2011 at 1:33 PM #

      HI THERE! So glad the you have come by! How did you stumble my way? I love knowing where people come from! I’ll be sure to drop by your blog and send you some love too! Come back soon!

Leave a Reply

