If it isn’t neon, it shouldn’t be on.

23 Jun

If you were following my Tweets today (and if you’re not following me, you should…just sayin’), you’ll know that I spent most of my day in training for work. At the end of the session, there was this “awesome” safety training rap video. Oh yes, you read that right. It had to have been STRAIGHT out of 1984.

While watching it my mind started to wander about all the cool things about the ‘80s. And then my mind jumped over to my FAVORITE thing about the ‘80s…NEON. When it comes to running clothes, if it isn’t neon, it shouldn’t be on. Yeah, I said it. That’s my motto and I’m sticking to it. No one is going to tell me neon isn’t cool. No one.

Here is just a sample of my neon running wardrobe. Its pretty spectacular!

Caution: Colors are brighter than they appear!

I firmly believe that dressing the part can aid in success…sort of how you can feel totally prepared for a work meeting in a new dress or a freshly pressed suit. For me, neon makes me feel fast (like lightning!) and when running a race, fast is always good.
Another reason I wear bright or neon running gear is because it makes me feel like I have to perform…like people might be watching. Think of it this way, if you show up to a race in head-to-toe neon yellow (which I have been known to do), you better not be coming in last. If you do, you will just look dumb. When you have the nerve to show up to an event rocking this look, you better be ready to crank out your best.

Last but not least, neon colors just make me happy. If I am going out to a sunny race, my neon makes me feel on my game and ready. If I am going out to a rainy race, my neon makes me feel like I am my own personal running sunshine.

Here are some new things that are on my wish list…

Brooks Nightlife Infiniti 1/2 Zip

Saucony Women's ProGrid Kinvara 2

CEP Running Compression Socks (Pink)

Call it tacky (lots of people do…you won’t hurt my feelings) or whatever you want, but my love of neon is here to stay. It works for me.

Is there something that you wear that makes you feel “on your game?” Do other people generally like it or do you get flack for it?

6 Responses to “If it isn’t neon, it shouldn’t be on.”

  1. Karen June 23, 2011 at 3:30 PM #

    Your neon ROCKS! Don’t stop wearing it!

  2. yaagtri June 23, 2011 at 3:42 PM #

    hmm ……80’s child by chance 😉

  3. Kevin June 23, 2011 at 4:04 PM #

    Very funny… i saw that tweet (tweetdeck) and wanted to respond with laughter but was in middle of work conference call. Alas, i dont have any neon, though i do have a pair of black running shorts with neon green stripes on them. Guess I should wear them more during morning runs.

  4. Kate @ NaturaStride June 24, 2011 at 2:14 PM #

    Excellent. I couldn’t agree more. I always try to wear bright orange when racing. Try to stick out! My husband always wears black or grey when he races which drives me crazy as a spectator cause I can never find him! 🙂
    Have a fun weekend!

Leave a Reply

