Accepting Limits

14 Jun

I have dead batteries.

Yesterday I broke my run streak. Here I sit, hanging my head in shame at only making it 13 days. Not exactly the 21 days I had hoped for.

Yesterday started at 5:00AM. Feet hit the floor, showered, dressed, made-up and in the car by 6:00AM. At work by 7:00AM. Work until 4:00PM. Home at 5:00PM. Changed clothes, ate a quick bite of dinner with my husband and then baby class at Woman’s Hospital from 6:00PM – 9:00PM. By the time I got home, I was EXHAUSTED. Not a second of my day was free. I know that “no time” is not an excuse when it comes to exercise, but I just can’t put any more hours in the day. No run. Streak broken.

This morning I had swim class at 5:00AM. I barely got through the warm-up and realized that I just could not get my act together. I was tired and my legs felt like lead. Because my legs felt wonky, I couldn’t get my breathing in sync. Because I couldn’t get my breathing in sync, I started to panic in the water and got more exhausted. You see where this is going, yes? Tired, hungry, and frustrated, I left and went home.

I just have to realize that right now, I have limits. Whether that limit is time or my physical condition, I have limits. I can push, push, push on them all I want, but I’m not going to win. Not this time. As much as I would like to think that I am, I am not invincible and this Energizer bunny’s batteries do run out.

Planning for a baby (registering, shopping, classes, discussing financial plans, discussing work plans, etc.) takes A LOT of time and energy. And this is just the “warm-up” for when he or she arrives. I just have to accept that I can’t put in 2-3 hour workouts like I used to.

And as far as my body goes, I HAVE to start listening. I knew when I got up this morning that I was not feeling swim class. But I tried anyway. Hey, I tried. I’m bummed about it, but what can I do?

Today I’ve been eating better and drinking all the water this body will handle in preparation for tonight’s Happy’s Running Group. If my usual sub-30 5k is more of a super-40 2-miler today, then so be it. I’m trying. (On the bright side, we’ll have three new peeps coming tonight! Woot! Can’t wait to meet @JenZenator, @DubyaWife, and @Bambi_P!)

Today, I am coming to terms with my limits. Sometimes, we are at a point in our lives where we are just, honest to God, giving it all we’ve got.  And I really am these days but sometimes I feel like its not enough.  I know that I am stubborn as hell, but I have to start taking it down a notch. Some days are just going to be rest days…and that is just going to be okay.

What limits (time, injury, pregnancy, fear, etc.) have you ever had and how did you deal with them?

6 Responses to “Accepting Limits”

  1. Katie McFarland June 14, 2011 at 2:59 PM #

    Just so you know, you’re alone in having to learn to listen to your body even when it’s trying to tell you something you don’t want to hear. Pregnancy was the first time in my life when I realized that it’s no longer about me and when my body says take a break, it’s your responsiblity to do so on behalf of that little person. Does it suck? Yep, but it’s only temporary. It gets better. I promise. I actually posted a few weeks ago about just that. If you want some motivation check it out.

    http://www.momslittlerunningbuddy.com/2011/05/assessment-of-unintended-effects.html

    In the meantime, slow down a little and listen. Good luck!

  2. Karen June 14, 2011 at 3:38 PM #

    I wouldn’t look at it as limits. There are just some days when your body (or life) tells you not to do something right now. It doesn’t mean that you hit a limit just that you’re opening the wrong door right now. There may be another much better door staring right at you that you are supposed to open instead. I know that sounds so philosophical, but as soon as you start seeing limits you start to believe you can’t do things.

    Being pregnant does mean that you have to change a little because your body is different right now. I don’t see pregnancy as limiting though. It’s an amazing (and quite challenging) time, but there are many people out there that would kill to be pregnant. And men can never experience what it’s life to bring a new life into this world.

    Once the little one is here there will be other changes and times you just want to cry, but you’ll figure it out. The changes are just that- changes. They aren’t limits or limitations. You’ll be a great mom and a great running mom!

  3. Bari June 14, 2011 at 4:34 PM #

    Listening to your body is one of the best gifts you can give yourself. Don’t feel defeated by that.

    I’m a bit jealous of your running group. My run this morning was pretty lonely. I’d love to join a group!

  4. Jamie Gary June 15, 2011 at 7:10 AM #

    Accepting limits is hard, but necessary. When I started pushing myself harder 2 years ago and took running as more than a hobby, my improvements and results were incredible for someone who didn’t run over a 5k until he was over 31 years old. The only reason I could do the extra effort was that I went from 50 clients to 3 when I broke off on my own. Now, I’m back to that spot where I work ridiculous hours and travel too much to have the sleep and mentality to push my runs to where I need them. I’ve had to struggle on 2 runs this past weekend just because all I could think about was why I was running when I have an obligation to give 100% to others. I turned around early because it was too much.

    With all that said, the easy things to accept are the family responsibilities. I’m a single father for half the week every week. Obviously I can’t just leave my child alone while I run or can’t run while homework and dinner needs to be done. Rather, its working till 1 or 2 in the morning so that I don’t interrupt the time that I can spend with her. I just accept that I must do what I can do when I don’t have her.

    You just have to accept that life throws more responsibilities than you may ask for. You balance the best you can and put in the best effort you can when given the opportunity.

    Is it hard to accept limits? Hell yeah. I wish I could be on the cover of RW. But not at the expense of learning from what life has given me up to this point.

    You will be an excellent mother and wife whether or not you can do 2-3 workouts in a day. At the end of the day, that will bring you joy and peace more than anything.

  5. Rebecca June 15, 2011 at 8:13 AM #

    Every time I finish reading “Running Times” I get this idea that a 100 mile week should be my goal. But then as I start increasing my mileage, my body starts to break down. I have definitely accepted my limits, because when I don’t I end up injured or sick. I just try to enjoy the good days and go as hard as I can and forget about piling on extra workouts.
    Quality over quantity is a hard lesson. You’re doing great!

  6. keyalus June 15, 2011 at 2:03 PM #

    Oh the days of 2 workouts a day! One rare occasions I can pull 2 a days now but that usually involves me working out during lunch or something.

    We all have limits and every day is not a rockstar workout day. That is more than OK. The cool thing about limits is learning to work around them and still thrive. You’ll soon realize that you probably don’t need to work as hard as you think you do.

Leave a Reply

