Product Love Affair: Johnson’s Foot Soap

6 Jun

Everyone who runs knows that most runners have funky ogre-like feet. The callouses. The blisters. The lost toe nails. It just is what it is. I could literally stand to get a pedicure probably twice a week. However, at $35 a pop, spending $70 a week for softer feet just is not feasible.

But, never fear! I always make time for Salon de Katie! It’s the swankest place in town and it is always open. And the added bonus is…I don’t even have to leave my house!

Once upon a time, my husband loaded trucks for UPS. This was a tough job that required him to spend many hours on his feet in heavy steel-toe work boots. (Steel toe boots can also quickly give you a case of ogre-feet.) He started using Johnson’s Foot Soap to relieve his tired, achy feet.

When we started dating, I was always complaining about how tired my feet were after training runs. When he told me about Johnson’s Foot Soap and what it did, I knew I had to get some ASAP! Look, I don’t know if it’s the borax, the iodide, or if its little magic elves that hop in the water and make my feet feel better, but all I do know is that I’m a Johnson’s Foot Soap lover for life. It makes your skin so much softer and really takes away the aches that set in on long training runs.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not giving up on my spa pedicures forever, but I definitely get them much less often now that I can do my foot soaps at home!

For my foot soap baths, I used this awesome tub that I got from Ikea. It was only $14.99 and I use it for EVERYTHING! We have several of them.

Ikea BOHOLMEN Rinsing tub

Each box contains several packets of foot soap. Just empty a packet into the tub and add hot water. Make sure to stir it up well to get it all sudsy!

Suds!

Then, stick your feet in and enjoy! Personally, I like the water extra hot.

Lettin' the magic happen!

You can get Johnson’s Foot Soap at just about any pharmacy. I usually get mine at CVS or Whole Foods. CVS and Walgreen’s also make store brand versions of foot soaps. While these products are similar, I do not find they work quite as well as the real deal. This stuff is great for runners or really anyone who spends a lot of time on their feet!

Enjoy!

5 Responses to “Product Love Affair: Johnson’s Foot Soap”

  1. KatieWisdm June 6, 2011 at 8:13 PM #

    LOVE product recs! will definitely keep an eye out for this!!!

  2. katie June 7, 2011 at 1:42 PM #

    I’m pretty sure i need little magic elves in my water.

  3. Twisted Runner June 10, 2011 at 6:52 AM #

    I’ll have to look for this product, thanks!

  4. Emily October 21, 2011 at 8:26 PM #

    Totally trying this! Thanks for the recommendation.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Johnson Foot Soap - July 29, 2011

    […] Product Love Affair: Johnson's Foot Soap « This was a tough job that required him to spend many hours on his feet in heavy steel-toe work boots. (Steel toe boots can also quickly give you a case of ogre-feet.) He started using Johnson's Foot Soap to relieve his […]

Leave a Reply

