Rant. Heat + Pregnancy Stinks.

3 Jun

DISCLAIMER: While today’s post does have to do with running, it also has to do with baby bumpin’ and the not so joyous things that come along with it. So if you are a dude that doesn’t want to hear about all this stuff, feel free to change the channel…now.

Today, I’m just going to get real with it and rant a little. Please bear with me.

Everything about running is hard now. I’ve heard so many women that are able to run their entire pregnancies, and at 4 ½ months along, I feel like I should be able to be out there, running along as usual.

It is painfully hot outside. Do you see this? I mean, do you SEE this? 103-freaking-degrees?? And it’s not even full-on summer yet. **sigh**

You have GOT to be kidding me...

Secondly, I swear that every 1 pound I am gaining feels like 10 pounds. I have never been this weight in my life and now I know why…because it is hard. I can feel it in my knees and in my ankles. Hell, I can feel it just getting myself off the couch. (And I know I am not by any means overweight or anything crazy like that, but I’m in a whole new decade now on the scale – a weight I’ve never seen before – and I’m having a hard time dealing with it.)

Lastly, my boobs are OUT.OF.CONTROL. I was not exactly flat as a board to start off with and being pregnant has only exacerbated my “condition.” I started out at a 34D and things have only gone downhill (uphill??) from there. They hurt. They are heavy. And they get in the way. Every sports bra is either too tight to where I can’t breathe or gives me blisters. (Oh yeah, just add THAT to the list. No, thank you.)

All these impediments make me not WANT to run. Yes, I said it. These days I just don’t feel like running. (Insert gasps and sounds of utter shock here. I know, right??)

In my head, I really, really want to. I really do. I want to be outside, sweating, and pushing myself until I nearly throw up. I know that sounds awful, but I love that feeling of pushing myself HARD. I love the next day when my legs are all sore and I can feel that the muscles in my core and back have been worked. Being pregnant, I just can’t do that. I just can’t push myself that far. I have worked REALLY hard over the last two years to get in (what I felt like) was pretty good shape and this was going to be my year. Alas, next year will be my year.

I am trying really, really hard to change my attitude and think more positively. I even started a run streak for National Running Day to help keep me motivated. In two days, I’ve only managed to go 4.25 miles. IN TWO DAYS. Ugh. These days, I feel like I almost need to line up a running buddy for everyday of the week, just to keep me going.

And, on another note, when I got pregnant, most of the women I know where like, “Oh, you’re going to LOVE being pregnant!” or “I wish I was still pregnant! I miss it!” Hello? Are these women smoking crack? Right now, there is nothing that I am “loving” about being pregnant. Does that make me a bad momma-to-be? I hope not, because I am just being honest. Don’t get me wrong, I would not give our little Nugget back for all the gold in the whole wide world, but I’m just not taking to all these “womanly changes” that come along with him/her. Heartburn? Constant runny nose? Swollen EVERYTHING? Uh uh, you can have it.

I’m sorry I’m being all complain-y today. Its just one of those days.

Any advice on getting out of my funk from you other baby bumpin’ running mamas-to-be or from moms who have been there?

10 Responses to “Rant. Heat + Pregnancy Stinks.”

  1. Amber June 3, 2011 at 12:08 PM #

    Well, I’m with you. We went running the other day and I did 3/4 of a mile because it was 9:30 at night and still in the high 80s with a billion% humidity. And I don’t know what is wrong with those women. I’ve had an easy pregnancy so far, and I still can’t wait to have my body back and be the one in charge of it. Love the baby will love him/her more when they are on the “outside”. Love ya!

    • katieRUNSthis June 3, 2011 at 12:13 PM #

      Amberlicious! Thanks for coming by! I am with you…ONE.HUNDRED.PERCENT.

  2. Katherine June 3, 2011 at 12:11 PM #

    Mama-to-be, you are doing GREAT. I can’t imagine how hard it is to keep moving and staying fit given your obstacles, PLUS the heat, but you continue to be a great role model for pregnant women. Anything you do is beneficial to your health and the health of your child, and I’m sure that keeps you going. My dad once told me that swimming one mile is roughly the equivalent of running three. There’s got to be a conversion for exercising while prego, right? Hang in there!

    • katieRUNSthis June 3, 2011 at 12:14 PM #

      Say what? Swimming 1 mile ~ Running 3 miles?? Hallelujah! Even if your dad just made that up, I’m sticking with that. 🙂 Thank you for your sweet words!

  3. keyalus June 3, 2011 at 12:27 PM #

    I don’t know who those women that enjoy being pregnant are either because I did not enjoy it at all – and I had an “easy” pregnancy. Being absolutely huge, sleepness nights, constant trips to the bathroom, the inability to get comfortable…just ugh!

    I had to stop running at 5 months because it hurt my back. I didn’t mourn it too much because I like other things in addition to running. So I did step aerobics and walked the routes I usually ran. I also did interval workouts (Cardio Coach) on the elliptical (good intensity & low impact). I did CrossFit and then CrossFit Moms workouts once the regular stuff got too uncomfortable. Being active felt good even if I wasn’t running so much.

    So even if you are a die hard runner – expand your options! There are so many other types of exercise out there and you can still get a good sweaty workout and stay fit during pregnancy.

    And BTW – even us non-pregnant runners are suffering mightily in this heat. God I hate summer running!

  4. Karen June 3, 2011 at 12:31 PM #

    Every pregnancy is different so just hang in there and do the best you can. I wasn’t running when I was pregnant and somehow didn’t gain much weight with either baby, but it is still tough. By the end of each pregnancy I was exhausted.

    Just do the best you can and try not to stress about it. Once you see that little baby for the first time it will all be worth it!

  5. running on faith June 3, 2011 at 1:15 PM #

    oh..so sorry you are having a bad day but if it makes you feel any better i think the fact that you are trying to stay healthy when you are pregnant is awesome because it is so hard, especially in this summer heat! let your body rest when you need to. Being pregnant is super challenging, especially for us folks who like to be healthy, active and are not too keen of feeling bloated and like we have no control over our body! You feel huge, tired, have swollen feet, and will soon be waddling during the last few weeks of your pregnancy but all this activity that you are doing, even if it is only a mile run a day or taking a bike ride will help and you will return to your pre-baby shape much quicker!!

    someday we just have bad days/weeks but keep it up and do the best you can knowing that this time will pass! and before you know it you will be getting a daily dose of exercise chasing your toddler around the house 🙂 And honestly, I think I am a better athlete after having kids, so you have lots to look forward to running wise post-baby!

  6. Neese June 3, 2011 at 1:19 PM #

    You said “Nugget”! I love you and miss you and can hear you “complaining” about all this stuff. Your honesty is awesome. And I’m sorry you are dealing with the s$&@ parts of preg. time flies and you’ll be looking back on this soon…as you run on those tip toes of yours merrily down the street in an extra small running outfit (about ready to puke of course from a killer run and a PR and age grp award!) 🙂

  7. Kristie June 3, 2011 at 3:38 PM #

    I was laughing reading your post, thinking if you only knew it doesn’t get easier when your “nugget” is on the outside. After 3 kids, I now have occasional leaky bladder, saggy boobs that needs super support sports bras, no time, sick kids that get me sick more often. Ok I should stop because I’m probably depressing you. All that being said, I wouldn’t have had 3 if it wasn’t all worth it. Do what you can do and don’t worry about the rest. Swimming is great in that heat! I played tennis through my pregnancy and fell twice. At the time I could only think about staying in shape. Now I look back and think I was insane.

  8. Sarah (A Runner's Heart) June 3, 2011 at 7:43 PM #

    2 weeks of pregnancy left for me here! (Sorry to gloat, but I’m soooo ready!) And I have to say…It doesn’t get easier…Sorry 😦 I am so ready to have this baby out of me! Because of this lovely heat, I have resorted to walking in the mall (I still sweat like a beast though lol) and then just “walking” and swimming in the pool. I know I need some kind of exercise, plus I am trying to walk this baby out of me! lol The pool has been my lifesaver though! I am constantly hot and the water just feels soooo wonderful! Plus it helps with my aching back and hips. So, I’m with all of the other people who commented, go with another activity! And I definitely recommend the pool! 🙂 Good Luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

