It is nice to be NICE.

2 Jun

When I was in elementary school, I had this favorite substitute teacher, named Mrs. Cozy. She was the most quintessential “grandma.” Her body was soft and round and she had that look about her that made you think that she probably gave the best hugs and made the best chocolate chip cookies EVER. Mrs. Cozy. She was my favorite. One of the things I remember most about her was her saying, “It is nice to be nice.”

Cartoon Mrs. Cozy 🙂

She popped in my head recently and it got me thinking about the nice things others have done for me.

At my first duathlon (bear in mind I had signed up with NO knowledge of what I was really in for), as I was setting up my duffle bag transition area, I realized that the directions said I was supposed to have my number on a race belt. Race belt!? What the heck was that!? The lady next to me overheard my out-loud mini freak-out and said, “No problem, I have an extra one. You can just have it.” It was as if the clouds parted and the sun shined down. I smiled from ear to ear and gave her a great big, “THANK YOU!

A couple of years ago, two days after I got my bike, I took a NASTY spill on the Swamp Rabbit Trail. I mean, NASTY. (Apparently I completely forgot which hand brake controlled the front and which controlled the rear.) People came from both directions to help pull me up out of the ditch and remove the sticks and leaves from my helmet. One even offered to call 911 or my husband for me. I was shaken, and embarrassed, but otherwise okay.


And last night, when I really (I mean, REALLY) did not want to get out in the Louisiana heat, my sweet husband reminded me that it was National Running Day and that I really did want to get outside and run…even just a couple of miles. I really needed that encouragement (and the hoist off the couch).

I suppose that sometimes I am just so used to people being rude to each other or even just complacent all the time. It is a shame that when people actually do NICE things that I get surprised.

I wanted to know some of the nice things my fellow runners have done for other runners/cyclists/athletes, so I took to my Twitter. Here are some of the responses. They made me smile and helped remind me just how many GOOD people there are out there.

@JimDog – Not another runner, but last weekend while on my run I stopped to help a lady with her bike (chain came off). #runchat
(Before I knew how to fix my own bike chain, I loved people like you. Thank you for helping her!)

@KarenJanos – Just encouraging other newbie #runners to not quit especially when they feel they look like idiots.
(Sometimes we underestimate just how far an encouraging word can go!)

@fairelescourses – Gotten out of the way!
(Jeremy, you are too funny! But it’s true, sometimes I have felt most helpful too just by being aware and knowing when to move aside!)

@sbarrouquere – I can’t think of one big thing other than I try to be encouraging, courteous etc #runchat #RunLA
(A pat on the back speaks volumes!)

@RasberiRunner – I picked up a glove that a guy dropped ahead of me. It took me some 5 minutes to catch up and give it back! #runchat
(This is AWESOME! I’m not sure I could run that fast!)

@mkosterich – I always offer other runners my water or gels if they are without nutrition. And I offer a walk break to those struggling.
(That is so nice and VERY generous of you. I usually carry just enough for myself.)

@tpwatergirl – I was 6 months prego in the transition area before the NOLA 70.3 and a girls bike chain was stuck. I fixed her bike for her!
(Holy cow! I hope she appreciated it!)

@RunningRealtor1 – I’ve bought her an entrance into a local favorite 🙂
(Wow! It is one thing to offer a high five, but to break out your checkbook too? That rocks!)

@jamiecgary – Stopped in half marathon to give some guy potassium & water who was cramping in last 2 miles. Could have smashed PR.
(That was so kind that you put aside your PR to help another runner. That was very considerate of you.)

All of these things remind me that it really doesn’t take all that much effort to go the “extra mile” for a fellow runner.

What have you done that was above and beyond for a fellow runner or cyclist?

15 Responses to “It is nice to be NICE.”

  1. Katie McFarland June 2, 2011 at 12:40 PM #

    I let a runner who was having an Asthma attack borrow my inhaler which I carry everywhere with me. Now we look out for each other on the trail.

    • katieRUNSthis June 2, 2011 at 12:43 PM #

      Oh wow! That is super nice of you. I didn’t really realize I had asthma (cold weather induced) until the first winter after I started running. I did this one race where I just could.not.breathe. I literally thought I was on the verge of hyperventilating. I got dizzy and it was AWFUL. It is great that you were there for him/her and that y’all continue to have each others backs when running.

  2. Karen June 2, 2011 at 12:42 PM #

    You made me smile! I love hearing about kind things people do for others. It’s amazing how just hearing about someone’s kindness brightens my day.

    • katieRUNSthis June 2, 2011 at 12:44 PM #

      Me too. And I needed it today. Someone I work with was being a jerkface and I just needed the reminder that not everyone is so sucky. 🙂

  3. eattoruntoeat June 2, 2011 at 12:59 PM #

    I’m always helping coworkers and friends with training, nutrition and injuries. Some of my friends started running, because they saw me do it. One of the best things that have come out of me running.

  4. Katherine June 2, 2011 at 1:15 PM #

    My mom refuses to buy herself new or nice running clothes, and I tend to buy a LOT of the stuff. When something is old/too small for me/not my favorite piece of clothing anymore, I’ll send it to her and she is always ecstatic about new additions to her workout wardrobe. I also gave her my old iPod Touch for Christmas when my company got us the newest ones as a gift. I taught her how to use the Nike+ app, which she loves.

  5. Katherine June 2, 2011 at 1:17 PM #

    I should also mention that I do buy her new stuff from time to time and have given her a technical T from Ironman 70.3. 🙂 It’s not ALWAYS used!

  6. Jess @ Blonde Ponytail June 2, 2011 at 4:38 PM #

    What a great way to link your readers and tweeps!

    Those pictures scare me katie! Phew, glad that was 2 years ago!

  7. Jimi June 2, 2011 at 6:22 PM #

    Duh! I tweeted back with my most recent memory from last weekend (I’m @JimDog) but I totally forgot about a time I helped another runner. A few years ago I found some keys to an Audi. The nearest parking lot only had one Audi. So I left a note and kept the keys. When they called I drove back to give them their keys. They (both ladies) were very happy. Apparently the keys had fallen out of the drivers MP3/wallet holder thingy.

  8. Jewelzz June 2, 2011 at 7:34 PM #

    I always encourage slower paced runner who is embarrassed that’s she’s always the last one to finish. And several times have run with her so she doesn’t feel alone or embarrassed.

  9. Stephen June 2, 2011 at 7:55 PM #

    I have been on the other end of a runner being nice. At some point around mile 11 during the Pikes Peak Ascent, I was almost out of water/sports drink. And I didn’t know how long before the next aid station. Another runner noticed I was almost out, and shared his sports drink with me. It really gave me a boost, and helped me make it to the next aid station to refill.

  10. Michelle June 2, 2011 at 8:20 PM #

    Oh goodness, you threw me in there? I’m blushing, thanks! I’m a pace group leader for a running company (I get the slow pack) and I always try to give constant (and probably annoying) motivation. The last thing I want is for someone else to make the mistakes I did when I was a newb, always hydrate and make sure to consume calories every four or five miles.
    There was a woman at a 5k who told me I could do it, stop being so down on myself and just finish on a high note. She is now one of my close friends and I’m so thankful for her constant motivation.

  11. Jeff June 3, 2011 at 12:30 PM #

    I’d rather talk about when runners have been nice to me. A couple of weeks ago, a runner going in the opposite direction noticed something fall from my pocket on the lakes. I had my music blasting and didn’t hear him calling me. He chased me down to give me my car key!! A lifesaver since it was the only copy left!

    • katieRUNSthis June 3, 2011 at 12:35 PM #

      Oh wow! That WAS nice of him. Talk about being mad if it had fallen out and you only noticed when you got back to the car! I’ve seen so many random keys around the lakes and I only imagine how many ticked off runners have done that same thing. And once its gone, there’s NO finding it out there.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly Notables - June 6, 2011

    […] over at Katie Runs This had a post I just adored called “It’s Nice to be Nice.” She talks about being good to your fellow athletes and things people have done. Since I’m as […]

Leave a Reply

