National Running Day and Hurricane Season are here!

1 Jun

I don’t know if I got a good night’s sleep, if the funk that had taken hold of my nasal cavities is finally going away, if these new prenatal vitamins are sitting better on my stomach (the old ones made me nauseous), or if I really am getting that second trimester energy I’ve been reading about, but HELLO WORLD…this little mama is up and moving and HAPPY today!

Today is National Running Day!

For someone like me, that means today comes right after Christmas and Halloween (respectively)! Okay, so maybe I would put my birthday right before it, but either way, it’s definitely up there!

I have decided to celebrate National Running Day by starting a run streak. (A run streak is where you see how many days in a row you can run without missing a day.) I have never done one before since I have always heard that running everyday without breaks can be bad for you. But, since I am running so slowly these days, I think I will be okay. The only rule I am setting for myself is that for it to “count” the run has to be a minimum of one mile. I am excited to get started tonight! I have even got one of my #RunLA peeps (@thisJeff) on board too! Won’t you join us? (If you decide to, leave me a comment to let me know! You know you want to…)

If you are looking for other creative ways to celebrate, be sure and check out 10 Ways to Celebrate National Running Day for more ideas!

In more “Debbie Downer” type news…it is also the first day of hurricane season. Boo. The NOAA promises an above average season in activity, so I guess its time to start getting the supplies ready. As we have seen from hurricanes in the past **coughKATRINAcough** it is super important not to take these things too lightly or to underestimate the power of Mother Nature. Please keep in mind that I am not just talking to the Gulf Coasters out there! This includes everyone all along the Atlantic as well. Please be prepared.

Here are some good sites for tracking hurricanes or getting ideas on the types of supplies you and your family might need to stock up on:
http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/
http://www.ready.gov/america/beinformed/hurricanes.html
http://www.usatoday.com/weather/whurprep.htm
http://www.weather.com/activities/homeandgarden/home/hometips/severeweather/hurricane_prepare.html
http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/HAW2/pdf/EVACBOOK3.pdf
http://www.miamigov.com/fire/DEM/pages/EmergencyManagement/Hurricane/Survival%20Kit.pdf

1) Do you plan on celebrating National Running Day? If so, how?
2) Do you live in an area where hurricanes are an issue? If so, how do you get ready?

5 Responses to “National Running Day and Hurricane Season are here!”

  1. Karen June 1, 2011 at 11:04 AM #

    I’m celebrating Running Day by going to my first “coached” running group. Can’t wait to get some tips and to run my butt off!

  2. Bambi June 1, 2011 at 11:19 AM #

    Happy Hurricane Season! I should really start checking to see what I need to buy.

    Good luck on the run streak! Maybe next year when I’m better at running I can do this with you. 🙂

  3. Ashley June 2, 2011 at 5:37 PM #

    I’m not starting a running streak but I am starting a movement challenge. 100 days of 30 minutes of some type of exercise!

    • katieRUNSthis June 2, 2011 at 5:47 PM #

      Awesome! That is a good plan to start too! Either way, the goal is to get in MOTION! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. National Running Day 2012 « katieRUNSthis - June 6, 2012

    […] my 2011 National Running Day post, click here. (So much has happened since […]

Leave a Reply

