Being sick sucks.

30 May

I miss my routine.

I have been absent from my blog for almost a week and I HATE it.  I haven’t run in three whole days and I am feeling antsy.  No blogging + no running = anxiety.  Running has been a sanity saver over the last few years, and in the short time I’ve had this blog, it too has helped me get thoughts and ideas out in the open.

Last week I was in Nashville, TN for work.  I won’t go into it much, but let’s just say that it wasn’t exactly a blast.  A mechanical reliability convention surrounded by 400 engineers isn’t exactly a PAR-TAY.  I spent nearly all day last Thursday desperately trying to get to Atlanta (flights were being cancelled left and right), and after spending 13 hours in the airport/on an airplane, I finally got there.  Brent was a welcome site for my sore, tired eyes.  🙂  We then hopped in the car and drove the two more hours on to Greenville, SC.  

I’m not sure if it was the traveling in general, the sicky, germy airport people (I forgot my Airborne at home!), the change in temperature/elevation/humidity (Louisiana –> Tennessee –> South Carolina), general allergies, or Baby Key reminding me of his/her presence, but I spent all weekend sick as a dog.  Apparently there are a whole host of fun things that come along with pregnancy…increased allergy sensitivity, nasal congestion, postnasal drip, heartburn, backaches, etc.  And, being pregnant, you know what I can take to make me feel better?  Next to nothing.  😦  Benadryl was about the only thing on my “approved medications” list, and while I didn’t want to spend most of my weekend drowsy, I took it anyway.  Between feeling medicine heady and sluggish, and the slight fever I had, I thought it best not to push it with the running this weekend.  I really missed not getting to go for at least ONE run on the Swamp Rabbit Trail.  Maybe next time…

Today we are headed back to Louisiana and I’m ready to get back on our usual routine…our house, our bed, our doggy, running with my #RunLA peeps, swimming with my swim class, etc.  I’m a creature of habit and I like it.  I’m feeling better today and this 10-hour drive back home forces me to rest for a little bit longer.  Maybe if I’m feeling up to it, I’ll at least get a little walk in tonight to move my legs around.

We’ll see…

Happy Memorial Day, friends!

2 Responses to “Being sick sucks.”

  1. JennJustRuns June 1, 2011 at 9:28 AM #

    Awful! I remember being sick and pregnant….no fun at all. I battled allergies and a nasty sinus infection for two weeks and it seriously put a dent in my running mojo. Been fighting to get it back ever since.

    • katieRUNSthis June 1, 2011 at 9:33 AM #

      It has been AWFUL. The only thing I can really take is Benadryl, but Benadryl doesn’t really work all that well on me. Oh well, I’ve just been resting like crazy. Something must have worked because I am FINALLY starting to feel better today! Woo hoo! My sister-in-law said she was nasaly and sick the WHOLE time with both my niece and nephew. No, thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

