Running Bucket List, Part I

17 May

Oh, the bucket list.  Every runner has one.  When you are just starting out, the list consists of 5k’s and fun runs, then 8k and 10k races, then half marathons, and then marathons.  And if you’re really hardcore, you take it to the next level, the ultramarathon!

I’m still in the half marathon/marathon stage so that’s mostly what’s on my list.  I’m not sure an ultramarathon will ever be in my future…not sure if I’m woman enough for that.  🙂

For now, here’s what’s topping my list.  I could name a few dozen, but here are a few of my top favorites. Disclaimer: I am NOT signed up for these, these are just races I plan to do…one day.

Athens Marathon (26.2mi)
November 13, 2011
Athens, Greece

The Athens Marathon tops my list because this is basically where it all began.  In 490 BC, Phaedippides ran the twenty-four miles from Marathon to Athens announcing the victory of the Greek soldiers over the invading Persian Army.  This defeat allowed the first democracy to be established and preserved the classical Greek way of life.  Um, COOL!

Boston Marathon (26.2mi)
April 16, 2012
Boston, MA

I think it’s pretty obvious why this on is on the list.  This race is like the Mecca of all marathons.  Trust me, it comes in a CLOSE second.  At the pace I run now, I need to shave a whole HOUR off my marathon time.  Piece of cake, right? **groan** But hey, on the bright side, if I maintain the pace I’m at, by the time I’m 60, I’ll qualify! Woot!

Disney Princess Half Marathon (13.1mi)
February 26, 2012
Lake Buena Vista, FL

Okay, I’ll admit it, I just want to be a princess for a day.  But at $140 registration fee (which does NOT include entry to the park, parking, a tiara, wand, OR my very own Disney princess), I might have to wait on this one a while.

Pikes Peak Marathon (26.2mi)
August 21, 2011
Colorado Springs, CO

Really, why would someone think running 13.1 miles UP Pikes Peak (above 12,000 feet!) and then 13.1 miles DOWN Pike’s Peak would be a good idea??  For the challenge!  I’m not sure how I’d ever train for the thinner air and change in altitude in the Louisiana heat, but I bet I could enlist some of my #RunLA Tweeps to help me figure it out.  Besides, the website describes that on the way down, the rocks are “waiting to send you crashing to the ground mangling flesh and only temporarily masking the pain of blood-filled blisters.” Who could resist THAT sweet talk?

Blue Ridge Relay (208mi relay)
September 9-10, 2011
Fleetwood, NC

The biggest appeal of this event is the scenery.  When I lived in South Carolina, I had the privilege of driving a part of the Blue Ridge Parkway.  The scenery is unbelievable. I can only imagine how perfect the weather would be for running at that time of year. To run through the mountains and see all the colors of the autumn leaves, well that sounds just about perfect to me!

There are only about 50 more races/runs on my running bucket list.  I’ll post a few more next time. Have a list of “must do” runs helps keep me motivated. It keeps me striving for the next big thing!

What race/event sits at the top of your bucket list?  What race/event would make you feel like you have “arrived” as a runner/cyclist/triathlete?

13 Responses to “Running Bucket List, Part I”

  1. Karen May 17, 2011 at 10:55 AM #

    I want to run Boston, the Rome marathon and I think the Blue Ridge relay sounds WAY cool!

  2. eattoruntoeat May 17, 2011 at 11:40 AM #

    I want to run Athens or London. And I really want to run the Nike Women’s marathon in San Fran!

    • katieRUNSthis May 17, 2011 at 11:52 AM #

      Oh, yes, London! I need to put that one on my list! And yes, the Nike Women’s Marathon in SF is on my list…just a bit farther down. Its so hard to get registered for that!!

  3. Michelle May 17, 2011 at 11:47 AM #

    I would love to run Athens and it is a secret desire of mine to run the Antarctica marathon. A marathon on each continent would be a dream come true.

  4. Kali May 17, 2011 at 9:02 PM #

    Boston is on mine as well. But my ultimate, must-do race in my lifetime is Badwater.

  5. The Running Mike May 17, 2011 at 9:43 PM #

    Nice List! I have two multi-day events including the “Goofy run” at Disney (probably something I’ll do when my nephews are a little older) and the “Bermuda Triangle” because it looks fun.
    Great Wall Marathon in China and the Mt Lemmon marathon in Arizona.

    For triathlon, Alcatraz would be awesome but is very expensive. I think Ironman Australia looks pretty amazing as well.

  6. Stephen May 17, 2011 at 10:21 PM #

    I have done the Pikes Peak Ascent. But I want to try Pikes Peak Marathon. I know the mantra for PPM is ‘if the bone doesn’t show, you must go’. As for helping you train, I could offer some advice. I am running the Marine Corp Marathon which is my list. NYC marathon is another which I hope to get in the next 3 years.

  7. ashley May 17, 2011 at 10:48 PM #

    i can only imagine it would be super cool to do the athens one! go back to the beginning of it all!

  8. Jay May 18, 2011 at 8:24 AM #

    Great list! No.1 on my list is the NYC Marathon. I love NY and the race is always around my birthday. What a way to celebrate, no!

    I want to run Disney, but other races topping my list is the Portland and San Francisco marathons. Lastly – and more likely for me to complete first – the Derby Festival Classic in Louisville, Ky. The thoughts of running through Churchill Downs just excites me to no end.

  9. Jay May 18, 2011 at 8:27 AM #

    Oh … I’d love to do Boston, but I’d need to shave 1-2 minutes off my average mile and then maintain that pace until age 80 🙂 LOL

  10. Courtenay May 20, 2011 at 1:01 PM #

    I’d LOVE to do the Disney Princess Half too. But gotta put that on hold until the funds come in.

    I’m hoping to do Grandma’s Marathon at some point and I’m looking forward to the Chicago Half Marathon in 2012.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bucket List Triage: Get Started or Get It Off The List | The Everyday Language Learner - May 28, 2012

    […] image credit /* Please Tell Your Friends and Help EDLL Spread the Word. […]

  2. #944 Finally doing something you’ve always wanted to do | 1000 Awesome Friends - June 28, 2012

    […] from here. Share this:EmailFacebookTwitterLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. This entry was posted in […]

Leave a Reply

