Day 1: Operation Dairy-Free

10 May

Today I have decided to start a journey into being dairy-free.  My decision to go dairy-free is based on nothing more than personal choice.  I am not lactose intolerant and I have not developed any medical condition that is insisting that I do so.  I do love me some meat though, so don’t go getting all crazy and thinking I’m giving up the occasional steak.

I have several runner and triathlete friends who have gone dairy-free (including my IronMan brother).  All of them have had great results in getting leaner naturally and feeling a lot better athletically.

Being the science geek, I’ve decided to experiment with my body to see how it works for me.  After all, that’s what I did when I started running.  I tried out different foods, energy bars, electrolyte drink mixes to find out what worked and what didn’t work.  I know that experimenting with my nutrition during pregnancy might strike some people as a bad idea, but if I know my body better than anyone else and if I feel like anything at all is out of whack, I’ll go back to doing what I’ve been doing.  But for now, game on!

I’m excited! (I think.)  Since I know it will be more important to focus on things I CAN eat instead of things I CAN’T eat, I’m going to make this one long list of things I’ll miss just so that I can get it out there and not think about them again.  Here goes…

  • Ice Cream/Fro-Yo
  • Mexican Restaurant Queso
  • Sour Cream
  • Eggs
  • Cheese of all flavors and varieties
  • Yogurt
  • Cheez Its
  • Graham Crackers

(Please note that I reserve the right to add to this list at any time and for any reason.) 🙂

Okay, so the list wasn’t as long and terrible as I had imagined. And I know that these days there are some awesome non-dairy food substitutions…I just have to find what tastes good to me.

So far, my food choices today have been in-line…peanut butter/honey/apple breakfast sandwich on an English muffin, 3oz of ham, and a Clif Kid Organic ZBar Chocolate Chip.  I’m about to eat some popcorn, which I’m pretty sure is allowed too.  At least I hope so. If not, I’m screwed.

Have you ever tried eliminating things from your diet? How did it work out effect your running, cycling, etc.?  What non-dairy “must try” foods to you suggest?

12 Responses to “Day 1: Operation Dairy-Free”

  1. Carrie May 10, 2011 at 3:27 PM #

    Good luck to you! I go dairy free for the full week before a race and always feel better by race day. Don’t know if I could do it all the time though…

    • katieRUNSthis May 10, 2011 at 3:29 PM #

      Really? I have never heard of doing it just before a race. That’s interesting though. How does it make you feel? What are some of your favorite non-dairy snack foods?

  2. ForrestGump49er May 10, 2011 at 3:49 PM #

    Wow, dairy-free is insane! Race day morning, I either eat banana+coffee with plenty of milk or choco donuts with whole milk!

  3. Neese May 10, 2011 at 5:40 PM #

    Graham Crackers are dairy!?

  4. Karen May 12, 2011 at 8:03 AM #

    Wow! This sounds like a cool experiment. You have to keep posting about how it goes.

  5. Jesse N. May 16, 2011 at 9:00 AM #

    Tofutti Cuties are amazing! You’ve got to try them. They are like ice cream sandwiches, but dairy-free.

    The only thing I really miss since going to a plant-based diet is cheese. There are no really good vegan substitutes for cheese out there.

    I’m curious to hear how you feel after having been off the dairy for awhile.

  6. becomingrooks September 20, 2011 at 12:37 PM #

    I’m slowly going dairy-free, mostly because my GI is rejecting it more and more. I still seem to be okay with yogurt/froyo and some cheeses, but ice cream and milk are out. I’m curious as to why no eggs, though?

  7. Lindsey deBlieux September 20, 2011 at 1:06 PM #

    Can I ask why you are making such a big diet decision while expecting?

  8. Maggie September 20, 2011 at 1:15 PM #

    I’ve never gotten this checked out by a professional, but I think I’m lactose intolerant, to a degree. All I know is cow’s milk and I do not agree. I can eat other dairy (cheese, yogurt, ice cream, etc) but not cow’s milk. I love me so cheese though, so I’m glad I can stomach that.

    Anyway, I now love Soy Milk – original flavor (but I also like unsweetened). Especially in coffee. Seriously. I do not miss cow’s milk at all. I think coffee tastes way better with soy milk.

    Trader Joe’s Non-Dairy Frozen Dessert made with coconut milk (aka “ice cream”) – DELICIOUS. Especially if you like coconut. Will not make you sad about not having regular ice cream. I’ve had the chocolate and it is YUMMMMMMMM.

    Tofutti’s Better than Cream Cheese is pretty decent. Tofutti also makes Mintz’s Blintzes (I can usually find them at Trader Joe’s) and they are pretty good. I was pretty addicted to them for breakfast for quite awhile.

    Also, if you can find a raw vegan restaurant nearby, check it out. We used to live near one, and it was delicious. And amazing what they could recreate without using any animal products or cooking anything. Their “cheese” was like a macadamia nut paste. They also offered food preparation classes (I guess “cooking classes” would be inaccurate) but they were pricey so I never signed up.

  9. Lindsey deBlieux September 20, 2011 at 1:41 PM #

    You know what’s really weird? You apparently posted this in May, but it just popped up today in my RSS feed for your blog…. Odd…

    • katieRUNSthis September 20, 2011 at 1:50 PM #

      Isn’t that weird? I changed a tag on it (to include it in the “running fuel” category) and that may have done it. I have gotten several comments today on it, so that must be what it is. 🙂 Operation: Dairy Free lasted only about a week. I like my milk. 🙂 BUT, I am going to be going dairy-free when Baby Key arrives and I start breastfeeding…but that was at the suggestion of my doctor and hospital. Apparently, lactose can make for fussy, gassy babies. 🙂

  10. Ann September 21, 2011 at 8:11 PM #

    Good luck, Katie! I’m excited to hear how it goes and how it affects your running!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

