Swim class is back ON!

9 May

Okay, I know. I’m a drama queen. I swear I’m usually not, but last week, when I thought my chance at getting good decent at swimming before Rocketchix was shot, I had a total “moment”.

But, at the very last minute, I got a call from Woman’s Fitness Center saying they were starting a new class today!! Swim training is officially back ON! The new swim course will be 4 weeks instead of 8 weeks and everyone at the gym said that the swim coach, Anne Shawhan, ain’t no joke. I was a little nervous about it, but I decided to press on anyway!

My classes will be on Mondays and Thursdays, from 5:30AM to 7:00AM. I’ll have to alter my work schedule a little to make it happen, but I’ve been given the green light by my boss! Woot!

(This is me at 5:30AM. Be kind. I know I look like terrible, but whatevs. I was excited to get my swim on!)

Didn't you know that baby bumpin' in a lifeguard red swimsuit is the coolest?

I fully intended on being the worst and slowest swimmer in the class, but I was surprised to learn that I was a little bit (and I mean a VERY little bit) better than I expected! And if nothing else, I wasn’t so discouraged that I didn’t want to do it again. This is a really big hurdle to conquer for me. I don’t like continuing to do things that I feel I’m not good at, but I know this is something I have to learn to do well at Rocketchix.

Today we learned the very basics about kicking, rotating the body side to side during the freestyle, and breathing. The first half of the class was mostly assessing our skill level and what each of us needed to work on. I know I need to work on everything, so I just have to remember to be patient with myself. I didn’t train for a marathon overnight, and I won’t learn to swim in one day either.

We don’t meet again until Thursday, but I plan on going to swim again at some point before then to work on my kicking with the kickboard. Coach Anne said some of us (me) were still kicking like a runner/cyclist (at the knee with a flexed foot) instead of like a swimmer (at the hip then the knee with a pointed foot), so I really want to work on that and improve. I’d also like to work more on my breathing. I need A LOT of help in that area. I just need to trust that I’m not going to drown and to remember not to hold my breath until I feel like I’m about to die.

So, lots to work on, and LOTS to remember…but I’m still motivated! I’m determined to be patient with myself and learn all that Coach Anne has to teach me!

6 Responses to “Swim class is back ON!”

  1. Colette May 9, 2011 at 3:04 PM #

    Go, Katie! That’s awesome!

    • katieRUNSthis May 9, 2011 at 3:07 PM #

      Thanks, lady!! You are doing awesome yourself! I can’t wait to hear about your Warrior Dash!

  2. running on faith May 9, 2011 at 7:44 PM #

    so glad your swim classes are back on and your first class went well! How is the Women’s Center for Wellness? I want to join the women’s center but a gym membership is not quite in the budget right now!!

    • katieRUNSthis May 10, 2011 at 3:20 PM #

      I really love Women’s Fitness Center. Don’t get me wrong, its pricey, but it is REALLY nice. It is really big and they have just about everything you could ever want there. My mom used to be a member there, but I never have been. For now, I’m just going because of the class (which gives me access to the whole gym for the duration of the class).

  3. Jenny @ Fitness Health and Food May 10, 2011 at 8:21 AM #

    swimming class sounds like a great idea! 🙂 and so wonderful that your working your needs to improve skills, have fun!

    • katieRUNSthis May 10, 2011 at 3:21 PM #

      It feels so good to switch things up from running and cycling. I have wanted to learn proper swimming technique for so long and I’m glad I’m finally taking the plunge! (Every pun intended.) 🙂

Leave a Reply

