Happy Mother’s Day!

8 May

I’m going to be honest, I’ve never really gotten into Mother’s Day but I think my perspective is changing now that I’m a momma-to-be. Go figure, right?

Yesterday, I took my mom to the Head 2 Toe Expo sponsored by Woman’s Hospital, inRegister, and 225 Magazine. It was really, really fun and I think my mom had a great time. At first, I wasn’t really all THAT excited about the expo, but I knew it would mean a lot to her for us to spend time together. We tried flavored coffees, ate fancy scones and pastries, and ooooohed and aaaaahed over jewelry, clothes, and shoes until we were about to burst! It was fantastic! We even got a chance to make one of these cool little flipbooks based off a 30 second video that we filmed. It printed right away and was really fun. It would be a really fantastic idea and I will definitely be filing that away for future kiddo birthday parties!

Last night, the Mister surprised me with an impromptu date night! We went downtown to enjoy the Baton Rouge Blues Festival. We got there right as Jimmy Vaughn was starting. Brent was super excited that we were able to catch him, as he is a big fan of Jimmy Vaughn. Plus, I got to see a guy dancing like this so good times were had by all.

Today, this momma-to-be moved SLOW. I got up early, but promptly moved to the couch where I bummed it for the next couple of hours. I get up early just about EVERY morning, but once a month or so, it catches up with me and I just have to relax. I had every intention of getting up and at ‘em, but then I found the 16 and Pregnant marathon on MTV and my good intentions went out the window. I was interested in this show before finding out about Baby Key, but now that he/she is on the way, I just can’t turn it off. I just can’t imagine going through all of what I’ve been going through and feeling at such a young age. It amazes me.

Around 11AM, I FINALLY peeled myself off the couch to go for a run. I was determined. Brent and I headed over to the LSU lakes for an easy 3 miles. All I can say is…IT WAS HOT. I started getting a little nauseous half-way through, but I made it to the end. Lessons learned…I need to hydrate better and not eat Twizzlers before running.

To top off what has been a great weekend, my brother, sister-in-law, and the kiddos came up from New Orleans to celebrate Mother’s Day at my mom’s house. We grilled out hamburgers and hot dogs, ate the most DELICIOUS cupcakes EVER (thank you Luxe Event Design and Cupcake Couture), played cornhole, and were treated to a short and sweet guitar concert by the Mister and my nephew.

Definitely NOT in a runner's diet.

After all this activity, is it any surprise that its 8:00PM and I’m ready to sleep?

Leave a Reply

