No swimming. Not any time soon, at least.

6 May

Today was supposed to be my first swim class to get me ready for the Rocketchix Triathlon in July.  Today was supposed to be the day I added that third leg, completing the trifecta, and starting my journey toward officially becoming a triathlete. No more duathlons for this girl!

Ugh.  Unfortunately, it was not to be.

When I signed up for the swim course, I was super excited because it was the PERFECT opportunity for me to get small group lessons (each lesson is 1.5 hours) AND have access to the pool on other days of the week for added practice for 8 weeks for only around $200.  Other gyms or aquatic clubs in my area cost at least that and then you have to pay for one-on-one lessons in addition to that price.  One-on-one lessons get pricey FAST and with Baby Key on the way, we just cannot afford it.  Plus, I am already stuck in a membership at another gym (that does NOT have a pool) and we can’t afford family memberships at two different gyms.  And sadly, Baton Rouge doesn’t have anywhere where you can swim on a pay-as-you-go basis.  All of the aquatic centers require some sort of membership or you have to go with a member…and none of my friends swim. 😦 But even if they did have a place where I could pay per visit, the point is, I still need instruction on technique.

When the lady called to tell me that my class was canceled, she did say that they were trying to start up another class on Monday and Thursday mornings from 5:30AM – 7:00AM.  Getting up early isn’t the problem.  The problem is that I have to be at work…an hour away…at 7:00AM. *sigh*

So, it seems I’m sort of stuck between a rock and a hard place.  I’m trying to BEG my current gym to let me out of my contract, but this gym in particular is known for not being that considerate about this sort of thing.

I’m trying really, really hard to not let this ruin my day.  I feel like the fact that I even got a little teary about it makes me a complete and total drama queen.  But I just wanted it THAT badly.  I’m sure to some people this may not be a big deal, but I was REALLY excited.  I have wanted to get in the pool and start tri-ing for a couple of years now and I thought that this would be my year.  But, it seems like I will have to put it off and wait…again.  I’m going to be honest, its really hard to not look at this as just one more setback. 😦

6 Responses to “No swimming. Not any time soon, at least.”

  1. Julie Guarducci May 6, 2011 at 11:06 AM #

    Get your doctor to say you’re unable to exercise and give that to the gym. Hopefully they’ll let you cancel instead of freeze the account.

  2. Chris - Daily Cadence May 6, 2011 at 11:58 AM #

    Do you have a local masters program you can join? This is typically cheaper than paying for a gym membership. I pay $120 every quarter. Take a look here…if you can get your $200 back this might be cheaper…
    http://www.crawfishaquatics.com/content/membership

    • katieRUNSthis May 6, 2011 at 12:09 PM #

      I’ve called about this. This group is for people who already know how to swim. I’m very much a beginner so I would still need lessons…which are expensive.

  3. Karen May 6, 2011 at 1:49 PM #

    Hang in there. Something will happen that will make you able to get the lessons you need. Strange things do happen all the time! Don’t give up.

  4. scarletwallflower May 6, 2011 at 8:34 PM #

    Katie, have you looked into the Y? I took lessons from them in January and it was super cheap. Even for non-members I don’t think it’s that expensive. There was just one other girl in the class so it was quite personal instruction. Chris then came out with me a few times to help with technique and the like since he used to be a lifeguard and instructor in his youth.
    ~Courtney

  5. steena May 9, 2011 at 7:05 AM #

    Aww, sorry to hear about your pool dilemma! If you’re looking to do a sprint tri, someone told me that they doggie paddled the swim part, sounds silly, but the person was just determined to do a tri!

Leave a Reply

