Groups Doing Good: Girls On The Run

26 Apr

Girls On The Run

Girls On The Run is a non-profit prevention program that encourages preteen girls to develop self-respect and healthy lifestyles through running. This outstanding group targets young ladies ages 8 through 13 and trains them for a 3.1mi (5k) running event. Through the running programs and other workouts, the group hopes to encourage positive emotional, social, mental, spiritual, and physical development.

I only WISH a group like this would have been around when I was in elementary/middle school. Learning healthy habits and developing a healthy lifestyle was something I forced myself to develop as an adult. And, I’ll be honest, it wasn’t always easy or fun. Encouraging young girls and helping them learn and practice healthy habits NOW will only serve to benefit them in the future by building confidence and positive self-images. In addition, providing a welcoming environment where ALL girls can feel safe and accepted is so needed these days. We all know how hard middle school can be, and Girls On The Run helps provide a place where these young ladies can try and learn new things and be supported by their peers.

As one who has participated in Girls On The Run 5k events in the past, let me just tell you this…seeing the smiles and sense of pride these girls have in themselves will melt your heart! We should all do more to help encourage our children in taking steps toward healthier (and happier!) lifestyles. I look forward to this fall when the new session gets going again so I can volunteer with my local council!

If you would like to find out how you can get involved with your local council of Girls On The Run, just click here!

For my Baton Rouge #RunLA friends, you have a Girls On The Run 5k event coming up soon! Girls On The Run of Greater Baton Rouge will be hosting their non-competitive 5k on May 7, 2011! Be sure to add it to your calendars and register soon! Let’s get out there and show these young ladies that we support and applaud their efforts!

And for my NOLA #RunLA friends, Girls On The Run NOLA will be starting up again this fall. In the meantime, be sure to visit their website to find out the details!

8 Responses to “Groups Doing Good: Girls On The Run”

  1. Karen April 26, 2011 at 4:04 PM #

    I had no idea this existed. My 6 year old daughter loves to run with me and I was thinking of trying to start something similar. We’ll have to see….

    • katieRUNSthis April 26, 2011 at 4:12 PM #

      It really is an awesome program! Since your daughter is a little young, maybe you could volunteer as a coach and she could go out and help you until she is old enough to participate? Just a thought! Definitely check them out!

  2. Stephanie April 26, 2011 at 7:30 PM #

    I saw your blog come up on the facebook news feed from Girls on the Run Baton Rouge. I need to look into volunteering as a coach as it sounds like a great program!

    Anyway, I love your blog!

    • katieRUNSthis April 26, 2011 at 7:32 PM #

      Hi Stephanie! So glad to have you stop by and say hello! I can’t wait to be a coach this fall! What a fun program! Be sure and come back soon!

  3. Jenny @ Fitness Health and Food April 26, 2011 at 10:43 PM #

    GOTR is such an amazing organization, I haven’t wanted to commit to a long term volunteering gig bec my husband is applying to jobs all over the country and we might have to move at a moments notice. I hope that I can find GOTR in our new town/city 🙂

  4. team June 19, 2012 at 10:35 PM #

    Hello very nice blog!! Guy .. Excellent .. Superb .
    . I’ll bookmark your site and take the feeds also? I am satisfied to find so many helpful information right here within the publish, we need work out extra strategies on this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. T-2 days to ultramarathon relay! « - February 9, 2012

    […] the least we can do. If you are unfamiliar with Girls On The Run, please visit their website (or my previous blog) to learn more about […]

  2. Dear Beautiful Girl On The Run… « katieRUNSthis - May 29, 2012

    […] morning, I saw this incredible letter posted on the facebook page of my local chapter of Girls on the Run. It really spoke to me about what it means to encourage other runners, but also, what it means to […]

Leave a Reply

