Running IS my happy hour!

22 Apr

Once upon a time, my day revolved around happy hour. It wasn’t too long ago (okay, well, it seems like it wasn’t too long ago) that at the stroke of 3:00PM, my girlfriends and I would start calling each other to see which bar or restaurant had the best happy hour specials. As expected, one drink turned into two, which turned into dinner, which turned into another drink or two. Like clockwork.

Then I realized how much time…and money…I was wasting doing this. My skin was starting to look bad and I didn’t feel good about myself. So, I had to get back on the wagon. It was time to start making exercise a part of my daily routine (again). 🙂

A funny thing happened though when I started declining happy hour invites from my girlfriends. All of the sudden, I was looked at as strange. Upon declining an invite, the general response was something like, “Oh, well if that’s what you’d rather do.” It was a little disappointing. Here I was trying to improve myself, and I was getting little to no support from my friends. I even invited them to join me…you know, so that we could all start making lifestyle improvements together. No dice. Before I knew it, I was out of the happy hour club.

At first I was a little upset. Then I realized that all things happen for a reason. I was changing my life (for what I feel is the better) and they didn’t want to come with me. So, we grew apart. I don’t feel the NEED to go out in hit happy hour anymore. But these days, I do feel the NEED to run. I say the trade off is good. In fact, I often feel like I traded up!

No more Jack and Diet Cokes for this girl. Bartender, I’ll take a Cytomax double in a short glass!

Running IS my happy hour! Feel free to meet me at the bar (for a run) anytime…

Happy running, y’all!

4 Responses to “Running IS my happy hour!”

  1. Katherine April 22, 2011 at 2:19 AM #

    First of all, your blog is fantastic (and looks beautiful to boot)! I’ve enjoyed reading more about you, and especially about how you became a runner. I’ve struggled with some of the same things you list above, and running or just being dedicated to fitness can really put a strain on relationships. Lately I’ve been more on the side of not caring, or skipping a run to do whatever, but you’ve inspired me to get my butt in gear once again. Looking forward to reading many more great posts from you!

  2. Courtney April 28, 2011 at 8:59 PM #

    I’ve just stumbled across your blog and have been reading around. I ❤ this post. None of my friends enjoy exercise and, because of this, it makes it hard to enjoy their company. I'd much rather do a fun workout or go for a run than go out to a club; unfortunately, I'm in the minority and that makes it tough. However, like you, I have to remind myself of how awesome I feel. 🙂

    • katieRUNSthis April 28, 2011 at 9:03 PM #

      Hi Courtney! Thanks for dropping by and I hope you come back often!

      Running socially has become really important to me. If you don’t mind my asking, where are you located? Are there any social running clubs in your town? Social running clubs are a great way to stay motivated and meet like-minded people! Happy running!

  3. Kevin April 29, 2011 at 10:02 PM #

    Funny.. I dont know how many times I’ve said that my morning runs are like happy hour, like the social club.

Leave a Reply

